4/15 Cinco PMPS 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
4/14 Recap:
1.75 units bid
AMPS: 233
AM+3: 149
AM+6: 147
PMPS: 182
PM+5: 206

Yesterday's Condo

All quiet on the homefront here. We left the collar off last night while we were at bowling, and the bandage on Cinco's leg was intact, so I got brave and left the collar off again last night. Looks fine this am, and he ate almost all his first breakfast, so I think my suspicions about the collar making him eat less are confirmed. He was still very enthusiastic about the second breakfast - plowed through two helpings without stopping! :-D I'm planning to have a go at cleaning the leg this afternoon. I decided to try using the cat sack and tackling it myself. DH is working from home, so if I run into trouble I can always SOS him (except he spend 95% of his time on conference calls, so he may not hear me!). I'm not sure what to expect, as I've never sacked him. Both Sasha and Harvey become amazingly calm once it's fastened around their necks, but he's a totally different animal, so we'll see.

Sasha wasn't interested in her breakfast this morning - I think it's because of all the supplements in it! I managed to spoon feed her some, and she ate about a third of it on her own. I'm going up now to see if I can persuade her to eat the rest. I don't think it's a tummy upset thing - just too many smells at once. I may have to try dividing her breakfast into three servings, with a different supplement in each. If she would just start liking pill pockets again, I wouldn't have to put all this stuff in her fuds! :YMSIGH: :roll:

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Thoughts and prayers still with Rachel. Cheers to Boots and Jersey on their ongoing OTJ trials. Looking forward to cheering on Davidson as he starts his!
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216

I'm glad things are finally starting to go well without the cone....keep up the good work, Cinco!!! Good luck with sacking Cinco and getting that adhesive off his poor little leg. Sending appy vines to sweet little Sasha, too!!
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194

Thanks, Amy. The appy vines worked for Sasha. She cleaned up the rest of her breakfast with only a little prompting. Then she hopped up on the plant shelf where the dry food dispenser is and chowed down on that. No appetite or tummy issues now! :-D
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194

Hey pretty boy! I see BLUE! Good boy!

Tracy, try putting a little smear of vaseline on the adhesive and rubbing 2-3 times over an hour or so and see if it will wipe off with a paper towel. Most of my vet's adhesives come off that way altho' there is one that doesn't....

HUGS!! So glad the collar off is doing well!!
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194 Dose?

Thanks, Lyresa. I'm planning to try the butter tonight, followed by a washing with Dawn. I will keep vaseline in reserve in case this doesn't work. No such thing as too many tools.

Dose question: Cinco has had mostly blue nadirs on this dose, but I feel like we are stalled there. Should I consider this a failed reduction and go back to 2.0, or should I consider just fattening the dose since he's in blues and he had such a low green run on 2.0? Thanks.
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194 Dose ?

Hi Tricia,
Good news on the cone! I hope you can continue to avoid using it. Good luck with the adhesive from the patch/bandage. Lyresa's solution (vaseline) might work.
I don't know what to suggest for a dosecrease. I do almost everything by a drop at a time, but that is not what is usually recommended by the experts. In any event, I think I would wait until Cinco settles down after his oncologist appointment tomorrow. You don't need another variable thrown into the mix. Fingers and paws crossed for a good appointment.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194 Dose ?

I'm glad Cinco is not bothering his bandage so he can keep the cone off. Good luck getting the adhesive cleaned off. I think I would hold the dose too until after his appointment tomorrow. I hope Sasha continues to eat her fuds. It's hard when the ones who need the pills won't eat the pill pockets.
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194 Dose ?

Given that Cinco dropped into the 30s on 2.0u, I think it's a judgement call whether you go back to 2.0u or consider what Ella suggested and go for a dose that's between 1.75u and 2.0u. Like Ella, I increase and decrease in drops.
 
Re: 4/15 Cinco AMPS 268 +3 216 +6 194 Dose ?

Hi Tricia,

Sorry I can't help you with the dosing advice. How did the adhesive removal go?

Sending out lots of good oncologist vines for tomorrow. Let us know how it goes! :YMHUG:

Shelly
 
Thanks, Ella, Carla, Sienne and Shelly.

I think I will wait until after the appointment tomorrow to make a dose decision. I'm good with where he is right now - safe numbers, not too high. :-D

I tried the butter on Cinco's leg and it seemed to loosen the adhesive. I then washed it with Dawn, using a washcloth, and I believe I got most of it off. There might still be one tiny spot left on the back of his leg. I wasn't easy, even with him in the sack, as he kept pulling his leg back in and I didn't want to hurt him. Then, of course, the leg was slippery! :lol: But I pretty much got the job done. After I rinsed it all off and dried it, I sprayed it with some stuff I got when Sasha had a hot spot and put a fresh bandage on. Then I let him out of the sack and gave him some bonito flakes and freeze dried salmon, which he inhaled. I let him out of the bathroom and he walked calmly away, pausing every so often to shake that leg (whether to dry it or get the bandage off, I'm not sure). Since then he seems to be fine. He ate every bite of dinner, plus seconds and is now sprawled on the family room sofa, which I love. He is much more social lately, not spending all his time sleeping in his hidey hole, so I think that means he feels better. :-D

Please keep the prayers and vetty vines coming for tomorrow. Also calming vines for Cinco, as he is not a good traveller and it's about 45 minutes each way to UCD. Rescue Remedy and Feliway spray don't seem to help calm him, either. He usually pees in the carrier, so I'm setting out extra pee pads now! ;-)

Hope everyone has a lovely, blue-green night!
 
Sending many, many vines for Cinco and you for tomorrow. Woohoo that he doesn't need the cone, that must be soooo annoying. And great job on cleaning the leg. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top