4/15 Charlie AMPS 194, +2 175, +5 155, +10.5 227, PMPS 244

Charlie'sMom22

Active Member
upload_2025-4-15_12-20-52.jpeg

Yesterday's post


Good morning friends! It's finally been warm enough to open some windows here so Charlie can have his favorite seat in the house back:cat::cat::cat:

Thank you so much to everyone who helped me think through my options last night.

After a lot of debate I decided to hold the dose and switch to SLGS (is it possible to do a trial?) so that his nadirs aren't going low enough to have me on edge constantly, and so I can have more time to get comfortable with increases if/when we do them. I think it strikes a balance between him feeling good and me being able to rest and manage my stress levels. He's been cuddly, purring, and very playful all morning, which tells me that he's happy--at the end of the day that's what matters most to me.

I think this will also give me a moment to refocus my energy and gather data to fight my vet or find another way to get those tests done. Since her argument is that I made his dose too high arbitrarily and not due to insulin resistance, maybe presenting her with a buttload of proof that this "high" dose is, in fact, necessary will give me some leverage.

Ideally he would stay right around where he's been the last few cycles forever and ever lol (or go into remission, obvi). But if he starts going up quickly and/or needing regular increases, I'm thinking I'll switch back to TR to get him back under control quickly. Does that sound like a good plan?

Thank you again and sorry for the novel. Maybe someday this will help someone who is also struggling with indecision. :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-15_12-20-52.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-15_12-20-52.jpeg
    53.3 KB · Views: 71
Wondering if you want to use a lower reduction point like 80 rather than 90 when following SLGS. You are testing enough.

Trying to convince your vet might be an exercise in futility though! :banghead:
I was wondering that last night too. I was thinking to myself "what nadir range would I be comfortable with?" And my answer was: anything below 80 is too scary for me. Which rules out TR. So if I can lower the reduction for SLGS that would be great!

Edit: Yeah, the vet thing is rough. It's a huge weight on my chest right now. Options are very limited where I live otherwise I would tell her to kick rocks
 
It’s so nice to see you putting this much thought into the decision, and I agree, they’re more than just their numbers. So you have my support :)

I was thinking to myself "what nadir range would I be comfortable with?" And my answer was: anything below 80 is too scary for me.
It will be interesting to see if your comfort level with 80 changes over time. I feel like this is a pretty common phenomenon here.
 
Charlie has had a couple of lovely gentle cycles. Not even a yellow yesterday! Well done Jess, I know it takes guts to shoot those bigger doses :)
So great to hear Charlie has been cuddly and playful - he's so obviously feeling better in the lower numbers. Yay!
I know you will figure out what dosing strategy is best for you guys. Take as long as you need to think it through, feel your feelings, and balance your needs. And as you say you can always change things if you need to in the future.

I'm sorry you have so few options regarding getting a new vet. I think you said you were going to give your current vet one more chance? I hope you are able to have a frank and productive conversation with her about managing Charlie's care together going forward. You are very good at articulating your thoughts and explaining your decisions here, so hope you are able to do the same with her. That does require that she listens and is receptive, and that is beyond your control :confused::rolleyes::mad:
 
Last edited:
It’s so nice to see you putting this much thought into the decision, and I agree, they’re more than just their numbers. So you have my support :)


It will be interesting to see if your comfort level with 80 changes over time. I feel like this is a pretty common phenomenon here.


Thanks Tim :bighug:

I'm sure it will change over time--I think that time is exactly what I've been needing. I've always been a little slow to come around :joyful:
 
Charlie has had a couple of lovely gentle cycles. Not even a yellow yesterday! Well done Jess, I know it takes guts to shoot those bigger doses :)
So great to hear Charlie has been cuddly and playful - he's so obviously feeling better in the lower numbers. Yay!
I know you will figure out what dosing strategy is best for you guys. Take as long as you need to think it through, feel your feelings, and balance your needs. And as you say you can always change things if you need to in the future.

Thank you so much Helen. I already feel like a lot of pressure was relieved just making this decision today. Now I just have to work on not beating myself up over it. It does help to know I have the option to switch back in the future.

I'm sorry you have so few options regarding getting a new vet. I think you said you were going to give your current vet one more chance? I hope you are able to have a frank and productive conversation with her about managing Charlie's care together going forward. You are very good at articulating your thoughts and explaining your decisions here, so hope you are able to do the same with her. That does require that she listens and is receptive, and that is beyond your control :confused::rolleyes::mad:

Thanks for saying this, it really means a lot. Lately it's felt like I've been all over the place and rambling like a madman haha, so it's very reassuring to hear (read) you say that. And actually, you bring up a good point that her willingness to listen and be receptive is beyond my control. I struggle with that aspect a lot when dealing with interpersonal types of situations like this. I'll probably have repeat that in my head to hype myself up. Thank you for the reminder :bighug:
 
He's making a dang fool out of me already with that 155 nadir :facepalm:

Does this count as day 7 on SLGS even though I just made the switch this morning? I should probably increase by .25 tomorrow, right? Is he having a tiny bounce from the greens? Oy vey I'm all confused now lol. Gonna take a NAP :joyful:
 
Hi Jess, I hope you got a good nap! Charlie looks sooo happy in his sun patch.
Good luck with SLGS, do what works for you and Charlie. Things change over time so you can change your mind as you go along.

You’re doing such great work taking care of him!! I support you :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Jess, I hope you got a good nap! Charlie looks sooo happy in his sun patch.
Good luck with SLGS, do what works for you and Charlie. Things change over time so you can change your mind as you go along.

You’re doing such great work taking care of him!! I support you :bighug::cat::bighug:
Thank you Staci! He loves that spot, it's so cute in the spring/summer when I'm working out in the yard he sits there and watches me.

I wasn't able to fall asleep for a nap but it looks like he may be bouncing so I can hopefully get some good Z's tonight
 
With SLGS you would hold this dose, as you saw nadirs in the 90-149 range. Keep at this dose, unless you see the nadirs consistently fall out of range. Today is just a bounce. He'll get over it.
 
With SLGS you would hold this dose, as you saw nadirs in the 90-149 range. Keep at this dose, unless you see the nadirs consistently fall out of range. Today is just a bounce. He'll get over it.
Thank you. I was literally just thinking about that comment earlier and was like “what was I thinking when I typed that?? he’s had like 3 nadirs in the 90s.” Lol I dunno where my mind was :confused::joyful:
 
Back
Top