4/15 Bowser AMPS 236

Bowser's Mom

Member Since 2021
I am confused by the 236 result (retested and got 240), as I have been getting high numbers consistently, with vet scheduled to place Libre. Should I give his dose of 2.5 this morning?
 
Yay we can see the SS now!

Have you fed since your first test? You could always test again (usually ~20 min from the first test) with out feeding to see if Bowser is naturally rising or falling.

On SLGS, you'll hold the dose for 7 days unless you see a number below 90 (on a human meter). Here's the link to the dosing method in case you want to look at it again - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

For shooting, perhaps Bowser is breaking a bounce (where he goes higher in reaction to a number he's not accustomed to). FWIW, it's hard for me personally to tell without a test at night. Let me see if Bhooma is on to advise - @Bandit's Mom are you around to help advise?
 
I did feed him his wet food. I tested again 40 minutes later and got 250, though I'm seeing I should have withheld food prior.
I will definitely review the SLGS methods again. I think I've been introducing too much info to my brain to quickly, but this forum has been a really great resource!
Thank you for your help.
 
The learning curve is very steep so you are not alone :bighug::bighug::bighug: every day something else will make more sense. If you do decide to shoot, you can shoot tonight 30 minutes from this morning's shot and work your way back to your preferred time (just try not to move a shot time backwards more than 30 minutes in 24 hours). As if you need more info :rolleyes:, but this post talks about moving shot time - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

Bowser sure is lucky to have you looking out for him :bighug:
 
Hi. While a lower amps than you are used to it is a very safe number to shoot if you have supplies and can monitor. Do you have middle carb food, 10-15% and high carb, over that or honey or karo, and lots of test strips in the event you need to test more?
 
I did decide to shoot, and I am now monitoring Bowser. So far, so good. I do have supplies in case he goes hypo.
I really wanted to be happy about a 236, as his numbers have been so high, but it just shocked me a bit.
I will update later, thank you again so much for the help.
 
Back
Top