4/15 Atlas AMPS 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Thank you all for the well wishes and to those of you have donated to Attie's Chip-In on the DCIN blog page.
The shelter that Attie came from has also been collecting funds to help pay for his care from the volunteers. Even though we can't prove a direct connection to the foster cat as he died from 'unkown causes,' the anecdotal evidence leads to only one place. My vet who has been pretty much trying to not point fingers, as most professionals would not do, finally admitted yesterday in conversation he would love to see the records on the foster cat from the other clinic.

Attie continues to show signs of improvement. We're into the 72 hour mark for this viral disease and almost all indications are he is doing great. I don't want to be too overly optomistic, but it is hard when he has found his energy last night to rattle his kennel door and demanded to go walk-about this morning before breakfast.

He comes running and purring to the food bowl, but still only takes a few bites and walks away. :? So he wants to eat, but just isn't quite yet.

Panleukopenia attacks two things. One is the bone marrow that creates the white blood cells that fight infection and the gastrointestinal tract where it destroys the lining. Animals are not normally force fed in these circumstances as food can contain harmful bacteria that can cross the exposed blood barrier. The intestinal tract needs sufficient time to heal (which it does quickly) and if I understand Dr. N correctly he thinks we caught this just as clinical signs were breaking. This should mean there was minimal damage and I believe Dr.N just wants to give Attie the time to do this on his own.

We're seeing the vet today...yes Dr. N is meeting us at the clinic today...and I will ask if there is a concern or if the IV's fluids and now SubQs Attie is getting contain the supportive nutrients he needs. He gets weighed in everyday and so far is maintaining his 14.5 lbs.
 
I'm so glad to hear that he's doing so well (all things considered).

Quarantine is such an important part of rescuing and fostering animals I hope some lessons have been learned at the shelter. We once had some well meaning people rescue some dogs from a puppy farm and foster them out to some people that already had dogs of their own before they had been quarantined. Turns out they had parvo...
 
This was the first condo I checked- I've been thinking about Atlas a lot. I'm so happy he's progressing and that he's doing so well. He's a fighter and a special cat. Thank you for keeping us posted. My little positive energy and prayer brigade is still going strong.
 
I am so glad to hear Attie is fighting the good fight. I loved hearing that he is getting his strength up.

I know you say they can't feed him. You may have to deal with FHL recovery after the fact but you are fighting the critical disease first. I would read up on this Beth when you get a minute. If you join the Feline Assisted Feeding site, I can link to the article on FHL. I would be prepared to ask your vet for two things - a prescription for ondansetron for nausea (I hear costco sells this affordably and thrivingpets.com is the cheapest), and a liver supplement which has been scientifically proven to help the liver recover (denosyl, marin or the combo denamarin). His liver will need some support after he is out of the hospital.

How long do you think he'll be in the hospital?

Sending you and Attie lots of hugs.
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
I am so glad to hear Attie is fighting the good fight. I loved hearing that he is getting his strength up.

I know you say they can't feed him. You may have to deal with FHL recovery after the fact but you are fighting the critical disease first. I would read up on this Beth when you get a minute. If you join the Feline Assisted Feeding site, I can link to the article on FHL. I would be prepared to ask your vet for two things - a prescription for ondansetron for nausea (I hear costco sells this affordably and thrivingpets.com is the cheapest), and a liver supplement which has been scientifically proven to help the liver recover (denosyl, marin or the combo denamarin). His liver will need some support after he is out of the hospital.

How long do you think he'll be in the hospital?

Sending you and Attie lots of hugs.


Karrie I did not say I can't feed him. I said he shouldn't be force fed at this time. Food and water is continually available to him and while he only nibbles at it right now we're giving him some time for the intestinal tract to heal. He is on injections of cernia right now and Dr. N says as long as his body is getting the critical nutrients it needs it shouldn't trigger FHL. We are only 72 hours into the clinical phase and all indications are that Attie is doing great.

And at this point, since on Thursday I was getting ready to order Attie put to sleep and Dr. N said, "No, not yet." I totally trust his skills, knowledge, and savvy on treating this disease. Granted, this is the first case in 20 years of panleukopenia seen in an adult cat...he has not lost a dog/puppy in the last 5 years using the tamiflu protocol. Attie might make a text book case ...

I am thinking more along the lines of asking about adding fortiflora to help rebuild the natural flora of the intestines...and since Attie sort wants to eat...we all know how well fortiflora encourages an appetite....
 
Good Morning Beth,
Checking in to see how your guy is doing and we are very glad that the signs are so hopeful. Attie, keep on healing! This whole episode is very scary. I was thinking about possibly skipping Rusty's booster vaccinations this summer, but in light of Attie's story, I have changed my mind!! I hope that Attie will be ready to eat a little more each day and that his recovery continues unabated.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Attie is certainly the fighter!

Is there any consideration being given to foods that are easy on the gut? I'm thinking of something like baby food.
 
Glad to hear the encouraging report on Attie; what a fighter and very lucky to have you as his Bean. Great with the Vet meeting you today at the clinic. More healing vines and prayers for Attie.
 
Morning Beth - I am so happy to read that Attie continues to fight the fight, and is getting better. This is good news. I like your vet - he seems to be there for yo guys, no matter what day or the time. Very supportive, and that is nice.

Goodluck, and Mannie and I send many healing vines. Be well Attie!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Attie is certainly the fighter!

Is there any consideration being given to foods that are easy on the gut? I'm thinking of something like baby food.

Panleukopenia destroys the lining of the intestine and creates ulcers in the lining. Couple that with the attack of the bone marrow white cells and essentially at this point being nothing to fight off a bacteria at this point in the disease. It is my impression it is better to not push the food issue. If the virus gets past the blood barrier in the intestine...Attie goes essentially septic/sepsis and dies as the virus invades other parts of the body.

So the food issue is a double edged sword.
 
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Good Morning Beth,
Checking in to see how your guy is doing and we are very glad that the signs are so hopeful. Attie, keep on healing! This whole episode is very scary. I was thinking about possibly skipping Rusty's booster vaccinations this summer, but in light of Attie's story, I have changed my mind!! I hope that Attie will be ready to eat a little more each day and that his recovery continues unabated.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty


Ella, keep in mind that there are new protocols for vaccines and some are no longer given yearly. And ask your vet about the new Feline UltraNasal Vaccines.

An example is the panleukopenia, if Attie had, had this properly administered in 2010 at the shelter...this would have never happened.
 
Hi Beth,

I'm so sorry this has happened to you and Attie. He sounds like he's doing well and is stronger though and that's good news. I hope he continues to recover quickly. Your doctor sounds great, meeting you on a Sunday.

Melanie & Racci
 
Well, we met the vet and he thinks Attie is over the crisis stage of this and that we are now moving into the recovery phase.

Attie got his SubQ's ...and it took the two of us to give them to him! ohmygod_smile I'll need restraints if I try to do this at home...

He got his cernia and baytril injections and it will take a few more of those before his immune system is strong enough to go to orals just yet.

Dr. Nappier says Attie is done with daily hospitalization, but he did give me his home number if anything comes up. Attie will continue to be seen daily by the Dr., but won't be staying the whole day.

We did get some fortiflora and that seems to have helped a little to get Attie's interest in food up. He is still not eating like a diabetic cat, but the Dr. says as long as he eats something...even a dozen or so kibble that's good. Well, I think Attie is eating a bit more than that, but still not quite enough. He says if we don't get real eating by Tuesday he will add an appetite stimulent.

A representative from the shelter stopped by this afternoon, but wouldn't come inside. We discussed the chain of events and how I see things. I requested they release the other clinics records on the foster cat to Dr. Nappier. As I explained to the representative Attie would have to be exposed to a sick cat and there has only been one here or in the course of my work. Plus I told them about the screw up on Attie's vaccines too. While I am not trying to blame them, as they only followed doctors orders in regards to the foster cat, it does aggravate me that the clinic did not realize what they were dealing with. One cat died and Atlas isn't too far out of the woods just yet either.

If we can get those records on the foster cat and Dr. Nappier can identify their malpractice, it may be worth trying to recover some of Attie's expenses. It is generous of DCIN to cover this, but that doesn't make it right. I am forever grateful to Venita for saying yes in this circumstance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top