4/14Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +6 212 PMPS478

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
Gave a few treats and will test again soon...then give gravy if needed. Did not expect such a low number after the 148 AMPS.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34

I think I would give her a teaspoon of gravy now and test again in 20 minutes. This is early in the cycle, and you want her out of the 30s.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34

She DID hold the dose this morning....I had told her to hold the .75 since she'd been skipping around on dose lately

Julie had told her to increase but she hadn't read her post yet.

I was just going to comment that I disagreed on increasing since Nonnie had been having such wonky numbers and Phyllis had been changing dose a lot. I felt it was better to hold the same dose until we could really gauge what it was doing

Good thing you only went with the .75 Phyllis! Looks like Nonnie is going to get a reduction to .5 instead of an increase!!

Good catch on the 34!! Keep testing (and feeding) every 15-20 minutes until he's above 60 and then you can relax a little (but still keep testing for at least 2 hours after the last time you fed to make sure he stays up!)

Wow Nonnie!! Way to make a point!!
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34

Any Update?

Sorry for calling him a her :roll:

I think a lot of us are watching for an update. I hope he is up into the 60s. But, don't relax, he could come right back down again, so please keep testing.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34

THe Ultra One Touch meter read LO at +3.15 and 37 @ +3.5 I gave gravy both times and some treats and will test again soon. Was wondering what the LO means....Below 20???
Could not get any Karo in him....tried the gums....have more luck with large syringe but hopefully it will come up.
I actually tested the meter on myself to make sure the battery was ok, even tho it said it was. I was 85 which is probably right....I tend to run low,.

He's come up to 43 with just gravy and some treats....will keep checking.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37

LO is below 20 :shock: Please try to give him some Karo or other syrup and test again in 15 minutes and post the number.
We are worried.
If he doesn't come up, you may need to take him to a vet to get a glucose drip.

Please come up, Nonnie.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37 + 3.75 43

Okay, I see he is 43 now. Give more gravy or gravy with a drop of karo and test again in 15 to 20 minutes.
Like I said, he can come down again real quick once the gravy wears off. You will need to remain diligent. You are doing a good job. How is Nonnie acting?
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37

Lo can mean different things, but generally, it means in the 20's (or lower)

Just keep giving the High Carb gravy and retest every 15-20 minutes until he comes up at least into the 60's

43 is better, but keep it up!
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37 + 3.75 43

Was able to get abut 1.5 ml Karo in him so that should bring him up temporarily at least..Will test again in 20 minutes
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37

Chris & China said:
Lo can mean different things, but generally, it means in the 20's (or lower)

Just keep giving the High Carb gravy and retest every 15-20 minutes until he comes up at least into the 60's

43 is better, but keep it up!

On the One Touch LO means below 20:
All results
The meter will display four results at a time, in the order the tests were done, starting with
the most recent. For each test result, the meter will display the date and time of the test.
Results may also contain the following symbols:
HI if the result was above 600 mg/dL,
LO if the result was below 20 mg/dL,
* if a comment has been chosen for the result,
C if the result is from a control solution test,
– if the result is flagged BEFORE MEAL, and
+ if the result is flagged AFTER MEAL.
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37 + 3.75 43

Good!

Hopefully he'll come up soon....but Dyana is totally right...if he continues dropping or starts to act strange, you should get him to the vet as soon as possible.

Now that he's in the 40's, it's better, but you need to remain vigilant. It's still early in the cycle.

You're doing great Phyllis!!
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +3.5 37 + 3.75 43

OK....back to 77, so will hope to get one more above 60. Do I dare go to the HS for my volunteer shift for even an hour if I get one more good reading?
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO + 3.75 43 + 4.20 77

I'd want you to keep testing for at least 2 hours since the last time you gave food or Karo and make sure he stays up

Can you maybe go in a little later?
 
Re: 4/14 Nonnie AMPS 148 +3 34 +3.15 LO + 4.20 77 +5.5 122

Up to 122 now....feel I can relax a little....may run to HS for an hour and test when I get back...it's only 10 min away...my husband is back now to keep an eye on him. Thanks, all. And thanks to whoever took the 911 down. Or....may stay here just in case....don't like days like this as you all know from experience. I think somewhere I got my time off today, cause it doesn't really add up to real time....at any rate...looking for one more good number.
 
Re:4/14 Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +5.5 122 +6.5

Up to 212....probably going to have a fun day tomorrow. Can anyone advise on tonight's dose? I will post a PMPS but assuming it's still up, hold at 0.75? He will have to get it about 30 minutes early tonight as I have a class. Thanks
 
Re: 4/14Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +5 122 +6 212

He'll probably be way high at shot time, but with the dangerously low numbers Nonnie had today, and because an early shot acts like a dose increase, I would start the new dose of 0.50 units tonight.
 
Re: 4/14Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +5 122 +6 212

I'm not going to class so I can be right on schedule...he's more important right now. I'll do a PMPS and post before I shoot. I'll go with 0.5 unless someone can give me a good reason not to.
Thanks! BTW....what is R? I'm not going to do anything different...just curious.
 
Re: 4/14Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +5 122 +6 212

Whew, what a day you and Nonnie had! You did a great job bringing him up today, Phyllis! :-D

R stands for Humulin-R. It's a fast-acting insulin that some people use to help when their kitties are bouncing (in addition to the regular Lantus doses they're giving).

Have a great night, Phyllis. I hope Nonnie is done with the dramatic dives for the day!

Shelly
 
Re: 4/14Nonnie AMPS148 +3 34 +3.15 LO +4.20 77 +5 122 +6 212

Think I brought him up too high...478!! Not sure what tomorrow will bring, but I'm going with 0.5. Today was scary....thanks all~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top