4/14 Trixie +2.5 70 +3 68 +3.5 72 +4 86 +4.5 82 +5 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41093

Good morning, LL! Trixie is back to her old self this morning. She trotted up the stairs to greet me for her first morning snuggle as soon as I got out of bed, and the usual routine followed smoothly, even with the addition of a few new meds. Getting the Bupe in her was a bit of a challenge, but most of it went in and just a little landed on my hand. And can I just give a shout to the person who invented Pill Pockets?!?! I admit I was skeptical, but I started using them a few weeks ago with my civvie, Mario's, BP medicine. Since I had success with him, I figured...sure, let's give it a whirl with Trixie's antibiotics. I used the Pill Pocket/antibiotic as her post-shot treat...smooth as glass!!

Thank you again, everyone, for helping us survive Dental Day! Your support made everything so much easier!!!

Amy
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie AMPS 147 +2 186

Looking real good Miss Trixie!!! Wow those white toofs are really shining!! Have a great day!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie AMPS 147 +2 186 +4 106 +6.25 96

Kissin' the greens :mrgreen: ! She is happily napping with her head resting on my civvie, Petey's, tush. Life is good for T-Cat today.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Here's what we've got:

+6.25 - 96
+9 - 81
+10 - 88
+11 - 88

We've still got a little time, but if she doesn't rise from this lovely 80s surf, I don't know if I should shoot, or maybe shoot a reduced dose. We've never shot anything below 110. Could this be post-dental anesthesia, or the antibiotics, or just luck?

Any thoughts or help would be greatly, greatly appreciated!!!

Amy
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

i'll let someone else answer that cuz i don't know the answer . . . but hey, what great numbers for Trixie this afternoon, Amy! woo-hoo. maybe she's going to have a nice response to that dental.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Amy--

1. Are you around to test frequently tonight and do you have all necessary supplies on hand (HC, Karo, strip, etc?)
2. How much time could you stall tonight so as not to throw you off track in the morning?
3. Refresh my memory... are you around weekdays? :)
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Yes, we're around tonight, and have lots of strips, some FF with gravy, karo, etc.

I'm around on some weekdays. Tomorrow I have to be at work by 10:00, which means I can test up to +4. My husband can probably come home at +5 or +6 if necessary.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Perfect. Get a +11.5 and a +11.75. I am inclined to have you shoot... better to deal with low numbers when you're around, kwim? If Trixie earns her decrease tonight, you'll feel better in the morning, and 88 is an okay number to shoot, and not terribly lower than the 110 you've shot before.

I'd like to see 2 rising numbers (or at least no falling numbers) before you do, though. So lets see what +11.5, +11.75 and +12 give you. If you see a rise on two of those, I'd go ahead and shoot (unless one of the wise ones comes on and suggests otherwise... then go with what they tell you!!). If you're still going lower, I'd stall. It's around 5:00 your time, so you can afford to shoot late in the morning if needed.

When stalling, you do not feed, and you test every 15 minutes. With two rising numbers, you go ahead and shoot. Sound like a good plan?
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

In general...how long should we stall for? If she stays level, would we not shoot? Or should we just cross that bridge when we get there?
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Let's see where the numbers go before deciding on when to shoot, ok? Christie has given you good info, but this could be related to the anesthesia, so I would be a bit cautious if the numbers are not rising.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

In general, you don't want to stall more than two hours. Basically, we want to make sure that Trixie isn't still headed downward when you shoot... because if she is in free fall on her own and then you give insulin, you could be struggling later in the cycle to ward off a hypo.

That's why we like to see some indication, even if not huge, that Trixie is rising, or at the very least, not still headed downward. Generally, you've got 2-3 hours before the Lantus kicks in, so merely stable is workable.

Because you're able to get a +11.5 and +11.75 in addition to a +12, those numbers will give us a good picture of what Miss Trix is up to... I don't envision you stalling too long. Remember, you can still give low carb treats when stalling!
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

+11.5 - 104. Will test again in at +11.75, just to be sure she's still rising.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

good deal!! very glad you were able to get the +11.... allows you to be much more knowledgeable going into tonight's cycle! I found that when Willie first started hitting low numbers, getting the +11 really helped me feel much more comfortable in my decision making. If it was low, I still had more opportunities to test before shot time, so I wasn't just guessing at +12.

Looks like the dental is making a difference! Fingers and paws crossed that it isn't just anesthesia. :)
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

I think at least for a while, we'll try and get that +11 a little more consistently, until the dental dust settles. Poor kitty has been poked and prodded more times in the past few days than in the past few months!
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

I would be cautious in this situation....this is more complicated than it seems. Please hold off shooting until we get a clearer picture.

One step at a time, ok? Let's see what the next number is.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

I know the feeling! Willie isn't exactly thrilled with me these days either, but he's been on such a run of low numbers, I have to be more cautious.

In case I'm pulled away... Even with the +11.75 you'll be getting, please post your +12 before you shoot. Given your situation, you may want to consider a reduced dose, so lets see if anyone else is around to chime at that point, okay?
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

I would continue to stall a little longer, I would really like to see a bit more of a rise. Let's see what the +12 is.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 - SHOULD WE SHOOT????

Amy, I've not dealt with shooting after anethesia, dentals, pain meds, etc. I would get a +12 and see if someone experienced pops in, okay?

(in other words, do what Laurie tells you!! Second time she's beat me to it!! :lol: :lol: :lol: )
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 +11.75 112 +12 109 SHOOT???

I would keep stalling, get a +12.25. I'm also thinking that when you do shoot, you will want to reduce the dose. How long can you stall without it making a mess of your schedule?
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 +11.75 112 +12 109 SHOOT???

I can stall for probably an hour...although the entire herd is getting a little cranky for food :lol: !

How much should we reduce? She's at F1.25 right now.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 +11.75 112 +12 109 SHOOT???

Either 0.75u or 1.0u...lets see if she is up at +12.25. I think that the pain from the teeth was causing higher numbers, and now that the dental is done, she's on bupe, and no pain, she needs less juice. Her numbers shouldn't be this low with the skipped shot yesterday. You will still need to monitor closely, and I would still like to see more rise....
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 +11.75 112 +12 109 SHOOT???

How about shooting 0.75u? She's surfing, but I don't like her being so low, so shoot a lower dose. Let's err on the side of safety. Get a +1 and +2, ok? You can feed the herd before they start gnawing on your leg!
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +11 88 +11.5 104 +11.75 112 +12 109 +12.25 1

You got it...thanks so much for all your help!

Feeding will commence, followed by 0.75, and +1.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +12.25/PMPS 115 +1 72

Also, her pain meds are due right about now...should we go ahead with that after her +1.5? She actually doesn't seem in pain, but I'm sure she's uncomfortable.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +12.25/PMPS 115 +1 72 +1.5 72 +2 73

Let's do the same thing again, a tsp of LC and gravy on top...test again in 30 minutes.

I don't think the bupe will make her drop, so if you want to give it now, that's fine.
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +12.25/PMPS 115 +1 72 +1.5 72 +2 73 +2.5 70

+2.5 - 70

I can't believe how fast a half hour whizzes by!

Same thing - LC with gravy?

It may be a bit premature, but any thoughts about tomorrow morning? I have to teach a class at 10:00, so there's no way I can bow out of work....
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +12.25/PMPS 115 +1 72 +1.5 72 +2 73 +2.5 70

Yes, same thing again...lather, rinse, repeat! Retest in 30.

I remember you mentioned about having to work tomorrow...we'll have to see how tonight goes before making a plan for tomorrow. Trixie is doing great so far tonight...I'm very glad you reduced the dose though!
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie +12.25/PMPS 115 +1 72 +1.5 72 +2 73 +2.5 70

I'm very glad, too. Thank you again for all your help!

+3 coming up in a bit!!
 
Re: 4/14 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 72 +1.5 72 +2 73 +2.5 70 +3 68

She's still surfing right there...lather, rinse, repeat. Is she still interested in eating? Not getting full?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top