? 4/14 time to shoot, new to Lantus, PMPS 165, help?

No, just checked, but didn't know I'd need higher. What range is HC again please? I'll buy some tomorrow as soon as it's safe to leave for a bit.
 
I usually consider HC to be over 16%

I usually kept several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers beef in the house because it was the highest carb
 
I usually consider HC to be over 16%

I usually kept several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers beef in the house because it was the highest carb
Alright I'll look tomorrow.

Gave her 1/4 tsp pumpkin. She was pleased. Also more 14%, and a sliver of the 4% pate because it mixes into the soupy water thing well. Gah I hate testing her this much.

ETA I know dry is bad but I also recall reading somewhere something about it sort of possibly hanging around in the system longer. So I have Purina DM dry emergency kibbles too.

And her belly is WAY too full now. If she gets lower, a bit of honey on kibble?? :\ *nervous*
 
Last edited:
No need to be scared, but we do understand how you feel...but you have me and Elise watching so we will do our best to help you out.

I know it seems scary, but 81 is a nice safe number
Thank you. I just don't want a repeat of anything as terrifying as the last hospital rush. She's actually super alert. Curling her little paws in front of her. I can tell her level of alert is food related though. And her belly really shouldn't be stuffed more!!!
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    97.1 KB · Views: 130
Oh and I meant to show you this....this is what we consider the "sweet spot" on the ear....it looks like you're poking up along the top.

Might make her a little less sore if you change where you're poking a bit more
sweet spot diagram.PNG
 
In theory so far what does this tell us about the 4u dose? Her rapid response has me confused!

It's too early to know yet...….she hasn't earned a reduction in dose yet if you're doing Tight Regulation (that's the dosing method I used with my China)

You do need to decide which dosing method you want to use at some point though. You do test enough to do TR, but there's also Start Low, Go Slow

TR gives the best chance at remission because we don't hold a dose longer than 3 days if it's not getting them where we want them.

SLGS holds the dose for 7 days (unless they earn a reduction) which can leave them in higher than we'd like for several more days....but we've had cats go into remission on SLGS too
 
It's too early to know yet...….she hasn't earned a reduction in dose yet if you're doing Tight Regulation (that's the dosing method I used with my China)

You do need to decide which dosing method you want to use at some point though. You do test enough to do TR, but there's also Start Low, Go Slow

TR gives the best chance at remission because we don't hold a dose longer than 3 days if it's not getting them where we want them.

SLGS holds the dose for 7 days (unless they earn a reduction) which can leave them in higher than we'd like for several more days....but we've had cats go into remission on SLGS too
With DKA in the picture, we need to not worry about SLGS. Once she’s more stable and at a good dose, then the method can be decided.
 
One consideration for dosing method is the recent DKA. You want to be able to get as much insulin into her as is safely possible, as you said, healthy first, then we think about next steps.
 
I will be BG testing again at 12:45 central US time. Got another pee to test now!

ETA: new ketone test, small-moderate??
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    31.1 KB · Views: 123
I guess every cat is different. Max never lost muscle but got way to fat as a diabetic. I couldn’t get him to move much.
 
I guess every cat is different. Max never lost muscle but got way to fat as a diabetic. I couldn’t get him to move much.
Alice was always petite and long. Most people think she is a year old even when healthy when she's over a decade. Her brother was the same build. Her wasting was a huge alarm towards her DX.
 
Hey Cassandra.....It's getting late for me since I have to be up early in the morning. Elise is experienced and I know she'll help you if you need it.

I've also asked @Bron and Sheba to keep an eye on you. She's in Australia so it's earlier in the day for her.

If I didn't know there were others I trust completely to watch for you, I'd stay online (and I'll probably still be here for your next test)

We agree not to leave anybody that shoots a lower number until they're comfortable unless we can find someone else with experience to take over
 
Hey Cassandra.....It's getting late for me since I have to be up early in the morning. Elise is experienced and I know she'll help you if you need it.

I've also asked @Bron and Sheba to keep an eye on you. She's in Australia so it's earlier in the day for her.

If I didn't know there were others I trust completely to watch for you, I'd stay online (and I'll probably still be here for your next test)

We agree not to leave anybody that shoots a lower number until they're comfortable unless we can find someone else with experience to take over

Alice says "Thank you!!!"
image.jpeg


Next test will post in 15 minutes. :)
 
Hi Cassandra I am online now and can be around for you. You are doing really well. Chris has been great as usual and lovely to seeElise as well!. And I think Alice is adorable. I agree with Chris, if you move down the ear a bit you should get just as much blood. When I was having to test a lot, I used both sides of both ears.
 
@Bron and Sheba thanks! :) tests on the +hour should be posted every 45 minute past the hour due to test/wait20/test/wait20/test/shoot earlier.... I am terrified of hypo. Soooo scared. Have not had a nap beyond maybe two hours max in days now. Thanks for being here.
 
Hi Bron. I’m going to head to bed now that you are here. Alice is surfing nicely. She’s just where you want her Casandra. As long as she’s eating you can steer her with food. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and even dropped under 50 plenty of times. I did print the yellow sticky on handling low numbers until I got used to the routine just in case nobody was around. It is scaryI know.
 
Hi Bron. I’m going to head to bed now that you are here. Alice is surfing nicely. She’s just where you want her Casandra. As long as she’s eating you can steer her with food. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and even dropped under 50 plenty of times. I did print the yellow sticky on handling low numbers until I got used to the routine just in case nobody was around. It is scaryI know.

Thanks for hanging around. I appreciate it. :) Sleep well!!!

She is eating, but that belly is SO full. She has easily had another two oz or so of the gravy 14% since I opened a new can earlier..... I'm probably letting her eat a little too much. I don't know. Better a little high than too low.
 
@Bron and Sheba thanks! :) tests on the +hour should be posted every 45 minute past the hour due to test/wait20/test/wait20/test/shoot earlier.... I am terrified of hypo. Soooo scared. Have not had a nap beyond maybe two hours max in days now. Thanks for being here.

You're doing great, and Alice is doing great and you have great people standing by... I'm no expert but you have all the tools you need to prevent hypo, an awesome support system, test strips, gravy food, and honey! lol ... even when my guy went down to 53 on his second day and I panicked, all it took was a little honey to quickly get him moving back up into a safer place giving him enough time for the gravy food to kick in.

I know how scary it is, but you're able to test frequently enough and you have enough tools on hand that you can handle it if she starts to go lower.

Take a deep breath , hang in there, you got this! :bighug:
 
You're doing great, and Alice is doing great and you have great people standing by... I'm no expert but you have all the tools you need to prevent hypo, an awesome support system, test strips, gravy food, and honey! lol ... even when my guy went down to 53 on his second day and I panicked, all it took was a little honey to quickly get him moving back up into a safer place giving him enough time for the gravy food to kick in.

I know how scary it is, but you're able to test frequently enough and you have enough tools on hand that you can handle it if she starts to go lower.

Take a deep breath , hang in there, you got this! :bighug:

Thank you. Your anecdote is comforting to hear. :)
 
Back
Top