4/14 Tiki - AMPS 344, PMPS 300 ODD Behavior Tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/14 Tiki - AMPS 344 Dosing Question

You can increase the dose after 6 cycles (3 days) so you can increase at any time.
Tight Rebluation Protocol sticky said:
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
FWIW, for many kitties that come back from the Falls, they end up needing a higher dose than what they were previously on.
 
Re: 4/14 Tiki - AMPS 344 Dosing Question

Thanks for the info. I am trying not to be impatient but it was like his body just laughed at me with the last increase, as if to say, "HA, that's ALL ya got???" haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley
 
Re: 4/14 Tiki - AMPS 344 Dosing Question

I imagine it is more frustrating after being in remission.... I'm starting to face that possibility too... as mine will throw me a slightly higher than acceptable number ever so often... trying to figure out if it's a particular food or truely slipping.
Tiki will find his dose... while you wait ...
 
Re: 4/14 Tiki - AMPS 344 Dosing Question

Another thing that makes it really hard is he seems to be perking up. When he first went back on insulin he was lethargic and kinda mopey and wasn't eating well at all. Now he seems to have kicked back into his old perky, mischievous self, licking the bowl clean and yet his numbers seem to go up up up. Perhaps I should look at all of this as one BIG bounce after a year in remission. I was obviously delusional to think one shot of insulin and his pancreas would have just gone, "Oh yeah, sorry I forgot ohmygod_smile " and all would have been back to normal. LOL A girl can dream...
 
Ok, really odd behavior tonight. He usually RUNS to be fed, patiently sits thru his poke, etc etc. Tonight I had to URGE him to be fed, had to TRAP him to be poked. And before I could put his food down and give him his shot he ran under the bed. He has NEVER EVER done this to me. ESPECIALLY at CHOW time. I was planning on upping him to 1.5 tonight but I can't get him out to give it to him.

So discouraged...
 
That's interesting how 3 or your last 4 PSs have been exactly 300.

Maybe he doesn't want the increase? I'm kind of just kidding with that response.

When was his last vet visit? I'm just wondering if something is going on with him and thus the need to go back on insulin.
 
Perhaps he is remembering the old routine... of poke poke poke...

Mine went thru phases of cooperation and none at all.... I always hated it when I'd find her under the bed first thing in the morning...
I created boxes just the right size to fill the middle area and head area so she couldn't get any further than I could reach her so if she hid, I could get her no matter what.

I'm not even sure how I'm going to get her to cooperate if we have to start up again since she's not hungry anymore like she was.
 
Well I finally got him by inching him out bit by bit with chicken treats. He let me poke him tonight but bolted under the bed as soon as it was over. Trying not to drag his a$$ out by yanking his arm from under the bed and only making a bad situation worse. I am so troubled by this. He has NEVER acted this way before.
 
I don't think the 300's feel all that great.... That was always when mine would go lay on the bath mat...instead of near me.

Has he had bloodwork and all the routine stuff looked at lately? teeth?
 
Yep, nothing unusual showed up at the vet visit a couple weeks back. And until tonight he was acting fine. He seemed eager to eat, just not to be near me in order to do it.
 
Can you try to get a ketone test? At least we can rule that out.

Any changes in litter box behavior?

Have you replaced the battery in your meter? Maybe there's something off with the meter.
 
maybe if you explore finding a better treat that really inspires cooperation with all the pokies....
mine doesn't mind the tests.... she deals with those... but syringes.... she has always made it know that I apparently don't have the magic touch...
growls the whole time....

and I'm currently having to give adequan shots ( needle is twice as big - and I feel like I"m drilling her with it)
 
Nothing odd as far as I can see except for him treating me like a serial killer tonight. But you're right. He never likes his shot either (I'd rather the needle over someone poking my ear). Usually he is gobbling his food down and not paying too much attention. But he always moves away from it when I shoot him. I wonder if somehow he smelled it on me tonight and flipped out. I try to prepare the syringe before the whole poking feeding thing so it warms up. I don't know. He's a damn cat. That's probably all of it in a nutshell.

As for his treats - he LOVES his chicken treats.
 
Hi Tonya & Tiki,

I was told to look at Tiki's SS to see how often you tested after your OTJ party - and now I see you are back from the falls. :sad: I hope Mr. P has a speedy recovery and that Tiki settles down and starts feeling better.
 
I was kinda bad once we went OTJ and probably didn't test as often as I should have. And sometimes I would put it off, afraid of what the reading would be. As fast as you were on and off the juice I would probably keep a close eye on it just in case the numbers start to creep back up on you. The sooner you catch it, the sooner you can beat them again. Congrats on such a quick turnaround!!!
 
I've been in my office all night working (no, it never ends) and the little man just poked his head in to say hello! Let me pet him and everything. Maybe I've been forgiven.... nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top