4/14 Purrdy AMPS 196 +2.5 148 +6.5 117 PMPS 184

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Last condo 4/12

Yesterday:
AMPS 140 +3 124 +5 90 :D +6 94 :D
PMPS 122 +2 99 :D +4 101

Purrdy had a vetty visit today, no reason for it except that they wouldn't write a lantus prescription without seeing him (and have insisted that they need to see him every 6 months - they say that it's a legal requirement but I'm not so sure!) , and then of course they decided they should do full bloods for him as well. She saw a different vet than she usually does who told her that the blue numbers are good and safe but that the green numbers are dangerous and she shouldn't try to go there :rolleyes: I will send the link for the TR protocol from the QLD University in an attempt to educate... One of the other vets there is keen on green already :D The vet she saw today also suggested that the fur strip missing down his back could be from food allergies as she though his skin was a bit pink too. To me that would seem like an odd allergy response :confused: maybe she was just preparing to push the crappy vet food! His physio was thrilled with the return of his back leg muscles and how well he is in that respect.

We saw some return of green yesterday but just the upper ones - trigger finger is starting to itch!

Yesterday Vyktor had an unprecedented third day in a row with poop :woot: this morning he peed standing up so it all went straight over the side of the tray and onto the floor :rolleyes:

I trimmed Meg's nails yesterday which is usually quite the ordeal for both of us (with me getting the worst end of the deal - I've never made her bleed!) but she was relatively compliant and didn't spit the dummy with me afterwards. It amazes me that after 5.5 years with me (more than half her life) her trust is still growing!
 
I think most vets don't like a low nadir. Maybe because most people don't test and they want to keep the cats safe. I know my vet likes a nadir around 7 and thinks 5 is low. I don't tell him how low Sheba goes. He would freak out I am sure. :eek:
But of course keeping the cats higher ensures they will remain on insulin and not go into remission which is sad. :(I have not heard of the vet having to see the cat to write a prescription for insulin. That is a new one on me.
Sheba does that thing too where she stands and pees straight out the back. I have bought a covered LB which means she pees up the wall of the LB. Not very lady like.:cat: She doesn't always do it, just sometimes.
I have never thought about having to trim a rabbits nails...I suppose one would. Are the nails thick and hard?
Hope all is well in WA
 
Yesterday Vyktor had an unprecedented third day in a row with poop :woot: this morning he peed standing up so it all went straight over the side of the tray and onto the floor :rolleyes:

I guess you can't win this all, LOL!

Wow, my vet will only to the tests I specifically ask for. And if I refuse other tests that don't usually push it. Although that is the one doctor that I see most often, but when I have seen other doctors they just want to cramp their information down my throat and don't want to listen to a thing I have to say. Which is why I specifically ask for the one doctor all the time. When I took Sammy to the vet yesterday she was quite surprised that I had started insulin again. She didn't think that the numbers were high enough to warrant it, but then I told her that I just want to prevent them from continuing to rise. She didn't press the issue after that. Hopefully you are able to educate the other vets in the office.
 
It's good to see some green for Purrdy, despite what the one vet says. I think it all depends on which vet you get. The vet I usually take Furball to, thinks Furball is doing great and doesn't feel the need for me to bring her in every 6 months. I take her at least once a year. One time I got another vet and she said they needed to see her more than once a year. She doens't realize how much I test and that I know what's going on with Furball's numbers. I ask for the first vet now when I take her in.

Furball learned to pee standing up by watching a boy kitty that I had that always stood up in the lb. It is very frustrating and unladylike. I had to make sure all the lbs have lids.

spit the dummy
I had to look this up. I'm glad Meg was so well behaved.
 
They also make high-back litterboxes. When Rusty came to live with us Phoebe told us that he needed a high, large litterbox to avoid accidents. So we got him a hi-back. But his other litterbox is a normal size, and he also has a small litterbox for the car. He is meticulous in all three of his litterboxes. Apparently it was one of Phoebe's other cats who was the culprit!:)

I think most vets are used to their AT meters and don't mentally register the numbers on the human meters.

Now, Purrdy, come back down to green, please.

How nice that Meg is trusting you more and more!

Have a great day/evening, Serryn,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Nice day for Purrdy- but watch out Purrdy, I sense that sister bean is getting trigger happy! :cool: Good to hear his back leg muscles are getting stronger- and interesting what the vet says about the missing fur strip though? I can't think of any allergic condition aligning itself like that...

Yeah for Vyktor pooping! I cannot imagine trying to trim a rabbit's nails, let alone Tiger's nails- I always have the vet tech's do it.:eek::eek:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top