4/14 PMPS 162 One Hour Until Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan G & Jimmy G

Member Since 2017
This is our 5th day on this crazy ride. I was available to get 2 tests in today - and he is reading 162, one hour until shot (1 unit). I am leaning towards no shoot. But, again, I'm new and know it's important to not skip a shot. Thoughts?
 
Sorry nobody got back to you earlier Susan!!

With the holidays, we're a little short on people around here sometimes

If the 162 was at +10, you still had 2 hours before PMPS time....their numbers can change a lot in those 2 hours!!

Next time, if you're unsure about shooting, stall, don't feed and post again for help....Make sure your subject line says something like "STALLING...NEED HELP!!" to get some eyes on your post

Retest in 20-30 minutes.....usually, if they're going up at that point without food, it's going to be OK to shoot.

Hopefully Jimmy won't be too high in the morning, but you want to hold this 1U dose for now no matter how high he is. Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, not how high the pre-shot is.
 
This is our 5th day on this crazy ride. I was available to get 2 tests in today - and he is reading 162, one hour until shot (1 unit). I am leaning towards no shoot. But, again, I'm new and know it's important to not skip a shot. Thoughts?
Hi Susan

Welcome to the board. I am new to this too but about two months wiser. I will share with you what helped me and some keys points.

it takes a little bit of time to settle into everything. Jimmy is doing great with his numbers. Raja was all in blacks and reds and nearly down to his hind legs, skin and bones when I started.

I learned that the more testing i did the more i knew my cat and his reactions to insulin and thus i could make better and safer and calmer choices. I was a wreck thinking I am giving too much or too less and so on.
What stopped me from testing too often was knowing i was hurting him but I also realized I wasnt doing it right. I hold a small keychain led behind his ear while pricking the right spots, warmed by my hand and the led stops the needle from going any further. Raja learned to be calm and supportive during this.

I would recommend testing as often as you can especially +11 or mid points or +2 and random ones. And of course of free days doing tests every hr or so. This gave me the overall picture on how he was doing and it made such a difference.

Jimmy needs more data. Let me now share my opinion on his dosage. Mind you when it came to my vet she was supportive but clueless about dosage. If i followed my vets dosage protocol Raja would not be where he is now. And I truly appreciate the support of this group for that.

First I would determine whether you can do a tight regulation or a slow regulation. This will all depend on your schedule and how often you can test. If you can test on weekends more and weekdays pre shot and post shot with some +11 s I would recommend TR. Otherwise Slow.

Looking at your limited data from TR stand point Jimmy hasnt earned an reduction yet and should probably go up to his last known good dosage of 2.
When going up to a last known good dosage you normally dont need to complete full dosage cycles. You go un on the next dosage. Lantus takes about 2 cyles or more to settle in. So even if you went to 2 now you would see the effect of it 2 cycles later. In between that Jimmy might bounce which is ok as long as we have more data.

If I were you and maybe as nervous as I was, I would go up to 1.5 and keep it for a few cycles knowing that most likely it has to go up. Once you start getting more data you will see how Jimmy is doing with 1.5 for six cycles. And then from there the next increment up is 1.75 and then 2. Unless Jimmy shows a number below 50 there isnt any reason to consider a reduction.

Once you have more data in you will feel confident in shooting and knowing that you kitty is safe and healing.

hope this helps.
 
Thanks. I decided NS. Did not test last night and his AMPS is 269. Gave him shot. Going away tomorrow night and bringing him with us
Hi Susan

Welcome to the board. I am new to this too but about two months wiser. I will share with you what helped me and some keys points.

it takes a little bit of time to settle into everything. Jimmy is doing great with his numbers. Raja was all in blacks and reds and nearly down to his hind legs, skin and bones when I started.

I learned that the more testing i did the more i knew my cat and his reactions to insulin and thus i could make better and safer and calmer choices. I was a wreck thinking I am giving too much or too less and so on.
What stopped me from testing too often was knowing i was hurting him but I also realized I wasnt doing it right. I hold a small keychain led behind his ear while pricking the right spots, warmed by my hand and the led stops the needle from going any further. Raja learned to be calm and supportive during this.

I would recommend testing as often as you can especially +11 or mid points or +2 and random ones. And of course of free days doing tests every hr or so. This gave me the overall picture on how he was doing and it made such a difference.

Jimmy needs more data. Let me now share my opinion on his dosage. Mind you when it came to my vet she was supportive but clueless about dosage. If i followed my vets dosage protocol Raja would not be where he is now. And I truly appreciate the support of this group for that.

First I would determine whether you can do a tight regulation or a slow regulation. This will all depend on your schedule and how often you can test. If you can test on weekends more and weekdays pre shot and post shot with some +11 s I would recommend TR. Otherwise Slow.

Looking at your limited data from TR stand point Jimmy hasnt earned an reduction yet and should probably go up to his last known good dosage of 2.
When going up to a last known good dosage you normally dont need to complete full dosage cycles. You go un on the next dosage. Lantus takes about 2 cyles or more to settle in. So even if you went to 2 now you would see the effect of it 2 cycles later. In between that Jimmy might bounce which is ok as long as we have more data.

If I were you and maybe as nervous as I was, I would go up to 1.5 and keep it for a few cycles knowing that most likely it has to go up. Once you start getting more data you will see how Jimmy is doing with 1.5 for six cycles. And then from there the next increment up is 1.75 and then 2. Unless Jimmy shows a number below 50 there isnt any reason to consider a reduction.

Once you have more data in you will feel confident in shooting and knowing that you kitty is safe and healing.

hope this helps.
Hi Susan

Welcome to the board. I am new to this too but about two months wiser. I will share with you what helped me and some keys points.

it takes a little bit of time to settle into everything. Jimmy is doing great with his numbers. Raja was all in blacks and reds and nearly down to his hind legs, skin and bones when I started.

I learned that the more testing i did the more i knew my cat and his reactions to insulin and thus i could make better and safer and calmer choices. I was a wreck thinking I am giving too much or too less and so on.
What stopped me from testing too often was knowing i was hurting him but I also realized I wasnt doing it right. I hold a small keychain led behind his ear while pricking the right spots, warmed by my hand and the led stops the needle from going any further. Raja learned to be calm and supportive during this.

I would recommend testing as often as you can especially +11 or mid points or +2 and random ones. And of course of free days doing tests every hr or so. This gave me the overall picture on how he was doing and it made such a difference.

Jimmy needs more data. Let me now share my opinion on his dosage. Mind you when it came to my vet she was supportive but clueless about dosage. If i followed my vets dosage protocol Raja would not be where he is now. And I truly appreciate the support of this group for that.

First I would determine whether you can do a tight regulation or a slow regulation. This will all depend on your schedule and how often you can test. If you can test on weekends more and weekdays pre shot and post shot with some +11 s I would recommend TR. Otherwise Slow.

Looking at your limited data from TR stand point Jimmy hasnt earned an reduction yet and should probably go up to his last known good dosage of 2.
When going up to a last known good dosage you normally dont need to complete full dosage cycles. You go un on the next dosage. Lantus takes about 2 cyles or more to settle in. So even if you went to 2 now you would see the effect of it 2 cycles later. In between that Jimmy might bounce which is ok as long as we have more data.

If I were you and maybe as nervous as I was, I would go up to 1.5 and keep it for a few cycles knowing that most likely it has to go up. Once you start getting more data you will see how Jimmy is doing with 1.5 for six cycles. And then from there the next increment up is 1.75 and then 2. Unless Jimmy shows a number below 50 there isnt any reason to consider a reduction.

Once you have more data in you will feel confident in shooting and knowing that you kitty is safe and healing.

hope this helps.

Was able to get a mid cycle test bit he did have some food within the two hrs of testing. He's ok with the testing doesn't meow or growl or anything really. Using the wee bit of Vaseline has really helped...before it was absorbing in to his black fur and it was hard to see. The process is getting quicker which is good. I am somewhat ok with his numbers so far. Thx.
 
Was able to get a mid cycle test bit he did have some food within the two hrs of testing.

That's fine...the only time we are concerned with them not eating is the 2 hours immediately before Pre-shot testing.....so from +10 to AMPS or PMPS, take the food up, but otherwise, you can feed normally.

Some cats do better if they get the majority of their food in before nadir (because the insulin is starting to wear off after nadir and adding carbs at that point could slam the brakes on any remaining action of the insulin) but some cats can eat all the way up to +10

It's one of those ECID things (Every Cat Is Different) so you'll have to experiment to see what works best for Jimmy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top