Niko's Mom
Member Since 2025
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-11-niko-pmps-343-pm-11-40-amps-135.299991/#post-3263650
So, Niko earned a dose reduction last PM. I just realized it was on the 5th cycle of his 1.50, so I'm hoping I wasn't too hasty and that it wasn't surplus depot... I guess we will find out.
Unfortunately his liver is still in school, trying to graduate.
Couple questions for you folks:
- We are going away for a day and a half on Easter weekend coming up. I have a great friend who we taught to test and inject coming to stay with Niko and give 3 of his shots. However, because Niko has been throwing up these limes, I am afraid of him having a low event with her. She knows what to do, I am leaving her a binder and all the hypo protocol instructions, but would I am thinking of doing a 'vacation dose'. Is a vacation dose usually .25 less than the typical dose? And once we come back, do we bump him back up or hold the dose?
- Another unrelated question. Before committing to this forum, I started out as part of the FB group FDSG. Can someone attest to what dosing protocol these folks are following? I have another CG who reached out to me about Niko because I switched communities and I tried to explain TR/SLGS to her, since her kitty was have a hard time with the doses. The moderators over at FDSG keep telling her to hold a dose for 10-14 days (!) even when her kitty is consistently showing pink and high yellow nadirs, and they are advising she only increase in drops (instead of .25 increments) or decrease completely because "too much insulin can look like too little insulin". I think that FB group has good resources like FMDB, but every time I tried to get dosing advice from them, they told me to go lower with Niko (it's what prompted us to reset at 1.00U a few months ago, which actually elevated his ketones).
HAPPY MONDAY EVERYONE!
Niko photobomb:
So, Niko earned a dose reduction last PM. I just realized it was on the 5th cycle of his 1.50, so I'm hoping I wasn't too hasty and that it wasn't surplus depot... I guess we will find out.
Couple questions for you folks:
- We are going away for a day and a half on Easter weekend coming up. I have a great friend who we taught to test and inject coming to stay with Niko and give 3 of his shots. However, because Niko has been throwing up these limes, I am afraid of him having a low event with her. She knows what to do, I am leaving her a binder and all the hypo protocol instructions, but would I am thinking of doing a 'vacation dose'. Is a vacation dose usually .25 less than the typical dose? And once we come back, do we bump him back up or hold the dose?
- Another unrelated question. Before committing to this forum, I started out as part of the FB group FDSG. Can someone attest to what dosing protocol these folks are following? I have another CG who reached out to me about Niko because I switched communities and I tried to explain TR/SLGS to her, since her kitty was have a hard time with the doses. The moderators over at FDSG keep telling her to hold a dose for 10-14 days (!) even when her kitty is consistently showing pink and high yellow nadirs, and they are advising she only increase in drops (instead of .25 increments) or decrease completely because "too much insulin can look like too little insulin". I think that FB group has good resources like FMDB, but every time I tried to get dosing advice from them, they told me to go lower with Niko (it's what prompted us to reset at 1.00U a few months ago, which actually elevated his ketones).
HAPPY MONDAY EVERYONE!
Niko photobomb:
