4/14 Neo (AT) AMPS 607, +3 409 +5 490, PMPS 466

Status
Not open for further replies.

D Marchus

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Well, we had an unusually good run yesterday that ended with me opting to give a slightly reduced dose in the evening. This morning Neo's back on the moon. We see his vet in about an hour for a checkup and labs update. That's surely not going to bring the early numbers down today! They'll do a BG check then and after I'll give him a little break from the needles. Hopefully, he'll come back to earth later in the day!

(Update)
Had an odd disparity between Vet's AT2 meter and mine today (I always take mine in to double check how well we're in sync). They got 409 and mine got 459. That's much like the difference we used to get when I was using the Relion Micro. Did a control test when I got home and, though a little higher than the last control test, it was still within range. Still, a difference of 50!? In a situation like we were in last night when Neo's numbers were much lower than usual, that's kind of a big deal. Anyone else ever had a similar experience?

His clinical signs were all ok at his checkup. Waiting on the fructosamine test results which, I have no doubt, will show he's been cruising the high roads.
 
Last edited:
There's an allowable 20% difference between meters/tests. What you saw today is a little more than a 10% difference between your vet's meter and your AT2. I wouldn't be concerned.
 
Meters also tend to be further apart in higher numbers (that 20% is a larger amount) than in the low numbers where you really need it to be close.

I hope the vet visit went well otherwise. Sorry about the bounce, but it was great to see Neo spend quite a bit of time (for him) in blue yesterday. Did you go back to 3.5 units today? (spreadsheet missing that part). Actually the results from yesterday's curve would have you go up to 3.75 units tomorrow, unless he shows anything under 150 before then.
 
Did you go back to 3.5 units today? (spreadsheet missing that part). Actually the results from yesterday's curve would have you go up to 3.75 units tomorrow, unless he shows anything under 150 before then.

Oops...yes, 3.5 this morning. So far, 150 isn't looking very likely at all so, increase tomorrow looks likely. Nothing new at the vet. He's still looking ok to her despite the BG rollercoaster. :) Though, he did cry more during our visit than usual and continued crying once we got home. That's pretty unusual for him. Enough so that I did another test that I wasn't planning to do. No issues with it being too low at 490.
 
Looks like you can put the test kit away for now. Some cats go lower at the vet (my Neko did), so it's good to check.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top