4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101, PMPS (+24)~480, +2-367

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
PMPS~278
+6~291
+12~156
+13~101
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11846

I found Latte meatloafing after her shot for a while last night. This is not something I have seen since the first year of her kidney failure. Once all her tummy meds settled in she was able to lay a bit more comfortably. I smooshed in under the piano with her for quite a while. At one point she snuggled her head into my face and purred as I gave her ear rubs and was able to kiss the top of her head over and over. It took everything I had to hold back my tears. She eventually moved into another position and we fell asleep together for a bit...until she peed herself.

She did not eat anymore than a few tsp at a time of babyfood, when I offered it. I dont know when she ate the kibble yesterda. So other than the 1/3 jar of baby food she has probably not eaten anything else for almost 24 hrs.

She was having a hard time getting up from laying positions last night and fell over a few times. I gave her bupe around midnight and checked on her a few times overnight. She spent the night laying next to her waterbowl.

This a.m. she has dropping numbers from a combo of no food and losing the bounce. She is not interested in food, other than a few tsp of baby food I have tried. She wants to stay under the piano. I cant give insulin with peace of mind in this situation. I will also be taking her to the vet this a.m. She is a dropper from vet stress, so I cant take the risk. Especially since I will have to go to work right after.

I think a lot of times I am being selfish with her existence. Last night it hit me like a ton of bricks that she has been too much of a sweetheart over the years to force her to go on like this...peeing herself, unable to stand w/o falling over half the time, wanting to "hide", not able to eat, etc. Yet she is purring up a storm and has such bright eyes. She seems to really like having me in or near her space.

Today is about tests and a heart to heart talk with the vet. Increasing pred may be an option I have to take. One thing I know is I cannot properly care for her in this condition next week with my work schedule. There is only one night I can get out of w/o losing one or more of my jobs.

I am having a hard time finding a place of peace in my heart. I need to find that before I can make any decision. I pray I find it soon, for her sake.

Thanks for listening. I may not be able to update until pm shot because I will be working up until that time after bringing her home from the vet.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

Carolyn....I will be thinking of you both today.... :YMHUG: sending lots of love and hugs to you as you go through this with her.
(((((((Carolyn & Latte)))))))
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

(((((Carolyn))))) I am in tears reading your condo this morning. I am soo sorry you are going through this. I pray that you find peace in your heart soon for your sake and Latte's.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

(((((Carolyn))))) I'm praying you find the peace you need to make this hard decision. There are some decision we should not have to make, but sometimes we are the only ones that can. Sending you and Latte peace, love and comfort.
Ele
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

((((((Carolyn)))))) This is such a hard time. Latte is showing you how much she loves you with her purrs and bright eyes. She knows you will make the right decision for her, whatever that is.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

Carolyn,
Thinking of you and know this is a difficult time. You have always made choices based on what is best for Latte. No matter what you decide, I have no doubt you will do what is best for her.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

"I am having a hard time finding a place of peace in my heart. I need to find that before I can make any decision. I pray I find it soon, for her sake."

I promise you, you will know.

Noisy and I went to his oncologist to see how he was fairing with the chemo. She came in and looked at me, I knew what news she was bringing. I asked to be alone. I called Joan and Madison and JoJo. I laid on the floor with him. I couldn't decide for hours, I asked him to tell me what he wanted. Then all of a sudden I was sure I needed to take him home. The whole drive home I was second guessing myself, thinking why am I doing this to him?

I realized that I did the right thing waiting three days. Noisy and I had a glorious three days together, I never left his side, holding his paws, he holding my hand, laying with him, like you described with Latte last night, loving him so deeply every second. Noisy died at home with the help of a very caring vet who slipped into and out of our house quietly.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

((((Carolyn)))) I am praying for your peace of mind. I'm so sorry you are facing this decision, the hardest we are ever asked to make for our fur babies.
You will know when the time is right.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

(((Carolyn))) I cried reading your condo today, how heavy your heart & mind must be. I agree, when the time is right - you will know. Bless both your hearts, the pain of it all. You are Latte's angel & I know she is in the best hands. Prayers are with you & I hope peace comes to you soon - one way or the other :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

((Carolyn))
Sending you lots of hugs.
You have shown Latte such love and devotion for 18 years.
You will know.
She is purring with you and wants your comfort.
Praying for both of you.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101

Dear Carolyn, It is so hard trying to make that decision. All I can tell you--from our experience with our beloved Alice--is that Latte will let you know when it is time to say farewell. I hope and pray that it will be soon. You both are in our hearts and our prayers.

Ella
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101, PMPS (+24)~480

As you can probably guess this number has me a little freaked out.

Latte had an extra dose of pred at the vet this a.m. (5mg), a missed shot because she had not eaten for possibly 24 hrs with no signs she was planning to eat, was @ 101 @ pmps+13, and often has a drop from vet stress. Her drop from 290 @pmps+6 to 101 was also likely a large drop from +11-+13, so quite possibly she has a bounce going on as well. Oh lets throw in the fact that she has eaten over 1/3 cup of kibble since the vet this a.m. :YMSIGH:

What a mess, eh? :?

The vet did a half u/a, C&S, kidney panel, blood pressure check, and full exam. She also got a full manicure free of charge, because I am unable to do her back legs without getting bitten. She was extra scared at the vet today. Usually she is kind of cocky and grumpy, but fairly cooperative. Today she just wanted to stay in my arms and hide her head.

So we wait until tomorrow to see if any of the tests we did might reveal a simple solution or at least an explanation. As hard as it was, I opted for the extra pred at the last minute because he said if I want to change my mind and not give it tomorrow, that would be fine. Or if I just wanted to give it for a few days, and go back to once/day, that would be safe too. Im thinking one more day and see how she is doing. His goal is to get her to eat better and not need the cerenia every day to control the vomiting. If I had any thought I may have chosen to give the pred, I absolutely would have given her *some* insulin this a.m. Im feeling pretty terrible about it. I will hold off on giving her 2nd dose of pred until +2ish, when the insulin has a chance to maybe bring her numbers down below 300?!?! Might just be wishful thinking.

Blood pressure was 165/110, if I remember correctly. he said normally they would treat this with medicine as its just above the 'high'. Considering how obviously stressed she was (he had never seen her like this), and that he could only get a reading from her tail (often inaccurate) he thought we should just let it be for the today.

he did not feel she had any obvious pain in her abdomen, after 2 exams (pre and post urinating). He did not think it was a pancreatitis flare. He was releaved she felt better once her bladder was empty, as it was so large and she was so tense, he thought there may be a growth (tumor).

He encouraged me to consider using tramadol, but cautioned me that her side effects might be simillar or worse than the bupe. The plan was to order some adequan this weekend and get started on it next week. Im hoping this vet visit didnt wipe us out too badly and can still do this. I will have a better idea tomorrow when I see my pay check. Somehow I think I can make it work.

Weight was the same as 1.5 wks ago - 9.8lbs (VERY tubby for her). He insisted it was 'meat' and not just water retention, as I suspect.


She greeted me when I got home for a short while. She has been bouncing back and forth between water bowl, litter box, under piano, and hallway. I noticed her having a VERY hard time walking at one point after I got home. Better a little later on. She seems more mobile considering she keeps going back and forth to all these spots. She also took a few licks of wet food when I offered it. As much as I hate all the kibble she ate, at least she ate. That was without a stimulant.

As always, thank you for the kind words. Im sorry I am not around much this week. Im physically, emotionally, and spiritually drained right now. I have a three day weekend to hopefully catch up on some rest and stop by some condo's to say hi! I really look forward to it.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101, PMPS (+24)~480

Take care of yourself Carolyn...you are very busy with all that is going on. We look forward to seeing you, but for now. please get some REST! Ya HEAR? THAT'S an order Missy! :twisted:
Please give Latte a big kiss from us and tell her that she was a brave girl at the vet office today.
HUGS to you both! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101, PMPS (+24)~480

Carolyn, please don't apologise for not being here more. We all know what you're going through, and you need to try to rest your body, mind, and spirit. We know you want to spend time loving on Latte as much as she'll let you.
Hard crawling under the pianny, ain't it? :smile:
Hugs to you, and schnuzzles to Latte.
 
Re: 4/14 Latte AMBG (+13)~101, PMPS (+24)~480

Hugs to you both - I'm glad the vet didn't see anything terrible and I hope the tests will give you a direction to go. As Pat said, make sure you take care of yourself so you can take care of your girl. We're all pulling for you.
 
Sending more hugs to you and Latte.
Take care of both yourselves and get some rest.
Visit when you can,
We know you are thinking of us too.
(did you get the package?)
 
Thanks guys! I do think I will be getting to bed a little early. Im waiting more to see her eat something, than numbers. The numbers will be high, but still get a bed time check so I have some idea of what a.m. will bring (LOL, what am I thinking?!?!? It will be high! :roll: ). Blah!

Im grateful she dropped out of the 400's before I gave the pred. Might be the smartest decision I made all day! She will probably go back up, but hopefully just for a little bit.

:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top