4/14 Jude AMPS 141; @+4.50 71; @+5.50 65; @+6 58; @+7 79; @+7.5 73; @+8.75 78; PMBG 75

Since you are feeding all wet food would you consider following TR? If so you would not need to skip doses unless under 68 and might give the support needed for Jude to become diet controlled.
 
Since you are feeding all wet food would you consider following TR? If so you would not need to skip doses unless under 68 and might give the support needed for Jude to become diet controlled.
I'm unfamiliar with this method, so I'm trying to read and learn about it. I work 30 minutes from home, and at least one day each week I work at night. I'll continue reading and will certainly consider TR.
 
Jude's bg is 65 @ +5. I've given him another tsp of Gravy Lovers, since he is going down further. I will check his bg again in 20 minutes and will feed more HC food if it is still going down. Should I be doing something else?
 
Last edited:
Jude's bg is 58 @+6; I've given him another tsp of Gravy Lovers. Will check bg again in 20 mins. Is there anything else I should be doing? He is acting normal.
 
Jude's bg is 58 @+6; I've given him another tsp of Gravy Lovers. Will check bg again in 20 mins. Is there anything else I should be doing? He is acting normal.
Any symptoms?
You're doing great and exactly the right thing. How soon before the next test? Do you know what % carb the gravy lovers is?
 
He's sleepy, but I think it's a normal afternoon sleepy. He was just now due for another test, but I realized that I pulled the Chicken Lovers rather than the beef; I just gave him a tsp of the beef--I don't know the carb content, but it's FF beef Gravy Lovers, and I was told that's the best. I didn't test him just now; I'll wait another 15 mins. to see how this food works. Right?
 
Just to confirm that he's just sleepy but responds when you say his name?
A quick look at the food chart, the chicken is 15% carb and the beef is 20%. So very good! I'll keep an eye out for your next test. Don't forget to give yourself a little treat also :bighug:
 
Just to confirm that he's just sleepy but responds when you say his name?
A quick look at the food chart, the chicken is 15% carb and the beef is 20%. So very good! I'll keep an eye out for your next test. Don't forget to give yourself a little treat also :bighug:
He is responding to me--he's walked around some--just moved from living room to bedroom--purrs and is giving head butts.
 
Can someone offer advice about dosing; he was up a bit this a.m. (141) from the previous couple of days, so I gave him .10, after him not receiving any insulin for a couple of days. But that has caused his bg to drop into hypo range. I'm not sure what to do at his PM shot, assuming he is above 100. Perhaps this morning I should have not given a shot??
 
Can someone offer advice about dosing; he was up a bit this a.m. (141) from the previous couple of days, so I gave him .10, after him not receiving any insulin for a couple of days. But that has caused his bg to drop into hypo range. I'm not sure what to do at his PM shot, assuming he is above 100. Perhaps this morning I should have not given a shot??
Going to tag @Wendy&Neko for dosing advice
 
He's actually pretty flat and you're at +7.5 in the cycle so I'd give a teaspoon or two of his regular low carb food and get another test in about an hour :cat:
 
I'll check again at +11.

Thanks so much for your help @Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko!

@Wendy&Neko, I look forward to hearing any advice you have about his PM shot, assuming he tests above 100 (I don't think he will though--but he likes to surprise me so who know. Also, or advice about dosing in general at this point. I'm worried that if his bg dropped into hypo range on .10 that this dose is too much?? I'm so new at this, I just don't know.
 
We do have what we call a drop dose. Push the plunger on the syringe in hard, put into the pen/cartridge/vial and release the pressure. That will vacuum up a drop of insulin.

As an interesting experiment, try loading a syringe with the 0.1 units you did this morning. Then twist the plunger to release a drop. Practice with coloured liquid (pop, juice, tea) until you can get consistent size drops. See if you can count the number of drops in your 0.1 unit dose.

How many drops you gave this AM might guide what to do tonight. Though you might just end up skipping.

Is there anything in your user manual for the AT3 or has your vet told you what is normal BG range for a cat on the Alphatrak 3? All I could find online was the lower end (below 65 on the online AT3 manual). I don't know if the upper range of normal is the exact same as the AT2. I know that some numbers above 100 are normal range.
 
Wishing you and Jude support and a safe night ahead. Sounds like he’s not needing much insulin, if at all. That seems like great news! Wishing you all the best :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top