4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 25 ~ +11 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

missyandlittlegray

Member Since 2010
She's getting these dropping numbers on very old insulin. I'm going to test her around +3 before I have to leave to see if she ever goes up a bit instead of down.

The insulin she brought with her is almost gone, and I'll have to start her on the new Lev, probably tomorrow morning. Wondering what to do about her dose. Should I start the Lev at .05 units?
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty AMPS 151/Dosing Question

Hey Missy, Very nice to see you and LG's picture -- that photo was one of my favorites cause it was soooo tiny, I became fond of it -- it was the tiniest one in LL, Arnie's was 2nd.
It is just wonderful what you are doing here. See what today's numbers bring you -- I don't think it could hurt to start with 0.5u. I sure am glad this kitty is in your hands now, and Marvie too. I think this is the kitty Marvie is helping with. Big hugs to you.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 77~ +3

I love seeing Noisy's picture, too.

Not sure what to do about my Kitty. She just ate a tiny bit of tuna, but she's gone from voracious appetite to very little enthusiasm for food. She's purring though. Guess that's a good sign.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty AMPS 151/Dosing Question

No idea on the Lev dose, but I do know it is less than a Lantus dose.

Nice to see you Missy!! Thank you for taking care of Kitty, what a cutie!

And going to send some eat-vines... :smile: you got your reply done before me.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 47 ~ +4

She's been going down steadily for three days. Is it possible that her insulin is more potent since it's so old? Does Lantus ever become more potent if it's mishandled? Until today, she was eating a lot -- four cats of FF a day. She has no appetite today, and she threw up and had some diarrhea.

I just rubbed some HC gravy on her gums. I hope that will bring her up a bit, or at least keep her from going lower. She's purring and happy.

Very confused by the Kitty.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 47 ~ +4

I'm a little concerned about the lack of appetite, liquipoo and pukus. Is Kitty meatloafing? Has she been checked out by your vet yet?

I'm trying to get a few other sets of eyes on your condo.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 47 ~ +4

She's not meatloafing, she's sitting up purring. The shelter vet checked her over a couple of days before she left and said everything was fine. But then, she also said she needed 4 units of insulin bid. I haven't had Kitty to my vet, but she probably should be seen.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

Yikes!! I put more HC "gravy" on her gums, and she's eating tuna now. She seems fine -- growling when I test her and purring the rest of the time.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

Are you OK? I'll wait here with you. Keep trying to get the gravy in her.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

I'm okay, just nervous. I've never had a cat go this low. Thanks for hanging out with me. I'm going to test her again in about 15 minutes.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

The great news is it is +5.
Noise had a 23 once and the food took care of it right away.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

Granted, I haven't tested her every few hours until today, but she never seems to go up. She's been lower every time I've tested her for the last three days. I'm almost afraid to test her again. Surely she couldn't go much lower than 27 though and still be sitting up and purring. She ate just a couple of bites of the tuna.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 47 ~ +4

yikes! glad you're there and caught this...
will be waiting for your next test.

i'm beginning to wonder if the high dose she was on was sending her into a constant state of chronic rebound... and if she even needs insulin any longer. the higher numbers recorded on her ss can easily be attributed to a bounce from very low numbers. 1u appears to be too high of a dose.
i know it's rather unconventional, but withholding insulin for 2 - 3 days may be telling. is there a history of ketones or any other health conditions to worry about if insulin is withheld?
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

Jill, she's never had ketones. D, the vet thought she needed 4 u because that's what she'd always gotten, and she was in the 400s the one time she was tested in the shelter.

If you look at her ss, she was down into the 30s, and I didn't give her insulin for two cycles. She went up into the 400s again.

I have new Lev, and I'm going to get the BD syringes I'm used to and pitch the ones the shelter sent with her. So maybe it would be a good idea to skip at least one shot -- or more? -- and get a fresh start with things I'm familiar with.

I'm going to take a deep breath and test her again in a minute.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

missyandlittlegray said:
Jill, she's never had ketones. D, the vet thought she needed 4 u because that's what she'd always gotten, and she was in the 400s the one time she was tested in the shelter.

If you look at her ss, she was down into the 30s, and I didn't give her insulin for two cycles. She went up into the 400s again.

I have new Lev, and I'm going to get the BD syringes I'm used to and pitch the ones the shelter sent with her. So maybe it would be a good idea to skip at least one shot -- or more? -- and get a fresh start with things I'm familiar with.

I'm going to take a deep breath and test her again in a minute.

yes, test now.

those 400s could easily be the bounce from the 30s (and she could have been lower in the hours before you caught the 36). imo, it was a bounce... not a "true" number. i have no idea if she still needs insulin or not, but i think withholding is worth trying. the thing is, she WILL bounce from these lows today. you'd have to really sit on your hands and wait for the bounce to clear and let her body settle down before we'd know anything.
that's tough to do when you see high numbers... and we KNOW you will see them after this.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +6

She's still at 27. At least she's stopped dropping! So you're saying she shouldn't get any insulin for two or three days?
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

missy, i would go ahead and mix some karo into hc gravy to bump her numbers up. if she won't eat it rub it on her gums. would really like to get her out of the 20s.

yes. withhold for 2 - 3 days. enough time for the bounce to clear...
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

I guess it's really hard to do this with a cat who doesn't know you. This is exciting, but I know it's stressful for you.
 
Re: 4/14 Foster Cat Kitty 27 ~ +5

Missy, THe board is acting wonky -- I'm going to PM you my phone number in case you want any help.
 
I had to go out for a couple of hours to feed my pet sitting cats. She had a whole can of grilled HC Fancy Feast all to herself, and I figured she'd be really high when I got home. Not sure what to do now. We're out of grilled FF. I guess I should go get a lot more.

Yes, Libby, it's scary to go through this with a cat I've known for a week. And she hates being tested. Really, really hates it.
 
she's STILL at 25? Can you shoot a good bit of Karo into her and run out quick to get more gravy food? I would be mixing Karo into the HC at this point to raise the carb count. Might as well, she's not getting a shot tonight.

If you can't get HC tonight then LC laced with Karo would work, but probably she'll eat the gravy better and get more of a bump from it, so that is preferred.
 
I'm on my way to the store now.

I gave her about 1/4 can of LC Fancy Feast with some Karo mixed in. It's best to feed small amount so she doesn't get too full, right?
 
right, small amounts. Get lots of cans because if she starts to get full we'll squeeze the gravy out and skip the food, for more carbs.
 
Missy -- I hope you're holding up. This is a long day of testing and feeding. I'd suggest feeding even less than 1/4 of a can of FF. I usually will give Gabby 1/8 (or even half of that) with some gravy.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
right, small amounts. Get lots of cans because if she starts to get full we'll squeeze the gravy out and skip the food, for more carbs.
I got five cans, and I have almost a full bottle of Karo. Oh, and I can stay up all night poking and feeding if necessary. Hope it's not necessary though.
 
Wow great testing foster mommy!! You are doing fantastic.. I can't believe how lucky this kitty is to have you!!
 
Hi Missy, I have been watching but staying out of the way. Kitty was 25 about an hour ago and now is 98, correct? The latest number was from the Karo which doesn't last that long in the body so if this was my kitty, I'd give a little HC gravy to make sure Kitty doesn't start dropping again.

I know Kitty doesn't like the testing, but I'm worried that 98 won't stay. I hope it will, but wow, 25 was very low and not that long ago.
 
Good Golly! You're doing an awesome job, Missy! I don't know how you're holding up! I'm thinking that I would hold off on the HC until you test again (soon) and see if you need it. You don't want her to fill up too soon. From my understanding, Karo only lasts about 1/2 hour or so, so you certainly may need the HC in the near future. Keep up the great work!
 
Okay - I just read the previous 2 messages and I think you should stick with their advice! Libby and CD know a lot more than I do, so go with a lick of HC! Good luck - we're all rooting for you!
 
is it about +13.5 now? I don't think it's time for sleep yet, this is HC and Karo talking and we need to be sure she's well on her way up before those wear off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top