4/14 Charlie AMPS 390

Katy and Charlie

Member Since 2023
Last post

Whew, what a wild ride this weekend has been. I was fully expecting to raise Charlie's dose Friday night and instead he decided to drop it like its hot!!

Is this a normal thing with TR? Raising, raising, raising then suddenly needing decreases? I decreased Saturday morning after Friday nights fun. Then decreased again this morning because of another night of lows.

Charlie acted just fine through it all. Showed no symptoms of being hypo. Has a belly full of gravy food so he's happy.
 
First rule in the cat's diabetes manual - wait for the caregiver to threaten and increase and dive down instead. :p It happens ALL the time.

A cats insulin needs can change over time, as the fragile pancreas tries to heal.
 
!

Is this a normal thing with TR? Raising, raising, raising then suddenly needing decreases?

100% normal and in fact what you are hoping TR can do with its aggressive increases. Hit that dose which finally seems to do the trick.....and then sometimes you have to slide back down the dosing ladder pretty quickly!

@Wendy&Neko the back-to-back decreases for Charlie were ok you think? I thought I remembered we didn't take back-to-back reductions under TR, but I'm not sure.
 
I remembered we didn't take back-to-back reductions under TR
Normally yes, but he hit "Lo" which means under 20, she carbed him up and he went Lo again later. Part of TR suggestions on reducing the dose is that when a cat goes into the 30's, a full 0.25 unit reduction is recommended. Even more so with under 20. :eek: And if he's hard to get up and keep up, he really needs a reduction. There could be part of the 4.25 unit depot still in there, but that depot needs to be drained. Time will tell if he holds the current dose.
 
I was wondering about doing a double decrease. But after two crappy nights of being super low, I went for it. I'm not able to do much testing today but will try to get a couple tonight.
 
holy @!#$% your first green AMPS since January!

You shot the full 3.75, looks like. Good job!!! That can take some guts, I assume since you shot the full 3.75U that you can monitor him closely this morning? Extra testing?


"Shoot low to stay low" they say. Here's hoping Charlie is reading the manual and has a nice low flat cycle today!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
oh jeez another almost-lime. Charlie is really keeping you on your toes right now!

@ +2 he just hit 25. :oops: Gave some gravy food. He really is trying to keep me on my toes! I'm off to work but thank goodness my husband is off today and will continue to monitor. I'm not sure what to do next. Do I reduce again? Keep holding? He's acting normal!
 
Back
Top