4/14 Boomer AMPS 212 +3 175 PMPS 167 +3 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Very Active Member
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 212 shooting 1u
sigh :(
Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds; he left a bit of the +6 and then woke us up a few minutes before +9 to let us know he was hungry. I called him and eventually he came btb for a few minutes until he heard his +9 feeder turn.

I realized yesterday that I should not have fed a new food (Wellness) yesterday since he had gone low the previous night and might bounce. Now I don't know whether his high numbers from yesterday and this morning are a bounce or caused by the can of Wellness he consumed yesterday/last night. DUH :banghead: So I've taken Wellness out of the equation for now and today he's having chicken pate (1.84%) all day.

We did get to the park yesterday; there was one baby owl out of the nest and sitting on a branch in the next tree. Another baby owl was in the nest. We couldn't see the third baby anywhere. We could also hear one of the adult owls from a nearby evergreen.....but there were 3 of us searching for him/her and we could not find it. DH and I are going to try again today....it's mild and sunny here....and we'll change our timing a bit and go later in the afternoon; hopefully by that time the babies will be getting hungry and will be a little livelier.
 
So I emailed Wellness to find out the nutritional breakdown of their Grain Free foods. I was going to attach a picture of it so that I would be sure they would give me info for the right kind and I went into their website to grab a picture and these foods aren't showing on their website! So they're not on the website, not in Dr Lisa's list, and not in the email I received from Wellness in November. Hmmm. Wondering if they are no longer manufacturing this kind and the stores have old stock. Anyways, I continued to email them and asked.
 
So I emailed Wellness to find out the nutritional breakdown of their Grain Free foods. I was going to attach a picture of it so that I would be sure they would give me info for the right kind and I went into their website to grab a picture and these foods aren't showing on their website! So they're not on the website, not in Dr Lisa's list, and not in the email I received from Wellness in November. Hmmm. Wondering if they are no longer manufacturing this kind and the stores have old stock. Anyways, I continued to email them and asked.
Which grain-free one Judy? I'm super curious as to what they reply with!
 
Good idea to take the Wellness out of the mix for now until you figure out what is what. Oh, these cat food companies. I went on PetFlow.com and was investigating the Wellness core but I am just too afraid to start Bubba back on canned but, I do need one that I can rely on when I need it to go into the feeder while I am gone as the raw can't sit around.
 
Good idea to take the Wellness out of the mix for now until you figure out what is what. Oh, these cat food companies. I went on PetFlow.com and was investigating the Wellness core but I am just too afraid to start Bubba back on canned but, I do need one that I can rely on when I need it to go into the feeder while I am gone as the raw can't sit around.
Did you experiment with freezing the raw? (I remember you mentioning trying that out to see how long it takes to thaw)
 
Which grain-free one Judy? I'm super curious as to what they reply with!
It's called Grain Free Beef & Chicken. I happened to have it in my "rejected" cupboard lol and lots of Beans feed it apparently so I gave it a try. Finding it really strange though that it's not on their website, not on Dr Lisa's list, not included in the email from Wellness received in November.
 
Did you experiment with freezing the raw? (I remember you mentioning trying that out to see how long it takes to thaw)
No, we've never used raw. We did give Boomer cooked chicken for a while when we thought the FF formula had changed and that was why his levels were going up....but that was just until we found new foods for him.
 
but not sure if it's the one you're feeding
I'm not sure either....the can says "grain free" with no special name like "core" or whatever. Normally I would suggest that maybe it's the Canadian version and on Dr Lisa's chart under a different name.....but @LizzieInTexas posted it in Boomer's condo a couple of days ago.....so it's obviously in the US as well.
I'll wait for a response from Wellness, meanwhile I won't feed it to Boomer until his levels come down.
 
He's not accustomed to those kind of drops so that could be enough to explain his wonky numbers.
We don't have a lot of experience with bounces but I understand they can take up to 6 cycles to clear? These numbers are ridiculous considering less than 2 weeks ago he was spending quite a bit of time in green.
 
We don't have a lot of experience with bounces but I understand they can take up to 6 cycles to clear? These numbers are ridiculous considering less than 2 weeks ago he was spending quite a bit of time in green.
Yes, it can take 6 cycles to clear. 119 to 59 is a big drop for Boomer that he's not use to so IMHO, it could be a contributing factor. Some kitties bounce higher and harder from a big drop rather than going too low. If it were different cat, that drop wouldn't likely cause the bouncy's so my comment above is pertaining to Boomer only.
 
Yes, it can take 6 cycles to clear. 119 to 59 is a big drop for Boomer that he's not use to so IMHO, it could be a contributing factor. Some kitties bounce higher and harder from a big drop rather than going too low. If it were different cat, that drop wouldn't likely cause the bouncy's so my comment above is pertaining to Boomer only.
Well I hate seeing these numbers but, on the upside, it gives us a bit of freedom for a couple of days :rolleyes:
 
I only got the chicken and turkey (no beef).
 

Attachments

  • 20170412_085403.jpg
    20170412_085403.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 38
"complete health" is just a new marketing name for their regular grain free products. Beef and chicken was one of the few lowish phos fuds that Neko would eat. It never impacted her BGs.

Boomer, get down from there now! Nothing happening up there.
 
"complete health" is just a new marketing name for their regular grain free products. Beef and chicken was one of the few lowish phos fuds that Neko would eat. It never impacted her BGs.

Boomer, get down from there now! Nothing happening up there.
@Wendy&Neko thank you....that makes sense. And YAHOO it's something both Boomer and Allen can eat!
 
PMPS 167 shooting 1u
On the menu tonight for Boomer: PMPS turkey pate, +3 +6 and +9 turkey pate and fowl ball
For Allen: Wellness beef and chicken, tray 1 is turkey & duck, tray 2 is fowl ball
 
I guess it was a bounce. The Wellness thing is really confusing. The ingredients listed on the cans with the new labels are somewhat different than those on the cans with the old labels. The Wellness website only shows the new labels now. You can compare the ingredients as listed on the website with the ingredients on your old cans. I find disturbing that the labels (on the new 3 oz. cans) now contain the wording: "made in Canada with finest world ingredients" (I'm upstairs at my computer and may not have the wording exact, but pretty close). The labels used to say "product of Canada". "finest world ingredients" sends up a red flag in my opinion.

Anyway, I'm glad the boys are eating! Have a good weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top