? 4/14 Binie AMPS 286, +3 347, +6 310

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...to-low-bg-and-not-eating.288731/#post-3169661

Good afternoon,

after the delayed and reduced am-shot yesterday we are almost only seeing pink and red. :oops: Maybe it has also to do with the reduction from 2,75 IU to 2,5 IU? Eating is still an issue even though I bought a huge variety of new flavours yesterday.

Today she again went down before her shot. But I learned that she will soon go up again and today it was from 286 so I knew it would not be an issue if she goes lower a bit. I feel I do many things wrong but there is a learning curve anyhow.

I would be grateful about any advice, if it is better to continue with 2,5 IU or going back to 2,75 IU or something in between? Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope everyone is havin a beautiful and safe sunday! :coffee:
 
That 84, the night of the 11th, earned a reduction when following SLGS. Unfortunately you didn't get an Accucheck reading to verify if it really was under 90. The 80 earlier in the day was a 113 on the Accucheck, so I suspect the 84 also was above 90.

The numbers today are due to two things. First, she is probably still bouncing from those either upper greens or low blues, and that can take six cycles to resolve. The skipped/delayed then reduced shot yesterday also impacted numbers by draining the depot.

To answer the dose question, it depends whether you think the 84 on that PM cycle was below 90 on a handled BG meter. If not, her dose is 2.5 units.
 
That 84, the night of the 11th, earned a reduction when following SLGS. Unfortunately you didn't get an Accucheck reading to verify if it really was under 90. The 80 earlier in the day was a 113 on the Accucheck, so I suspect the 84 also was above 90.

The numbers today are due to two things. First, she is probably still bouncing from those either upper greens or low blues, and that can take six cycles to resolve. The skipped/delayed then reduced shot yesterday also impacted numbers by draining the depot.

To answer the dose question, it depends whether you think the 84 on that PM cycle was below 90 on a handled BG meter. If not, her dose is 2.5 units.

Thank you so much Wendy! Yes, the difference between the Libre and the handheld is still unsolved. I think I will complete a week with 2,5 IU and than reevaluate and in the meantime I try to find out, where the not eating issues come from. Tuesday we are at the vet again, maybe she has an idea or we can do a blood test. Have a nice sunday!
 
That 84, the night of the 11th, earned a reduction when following SLGS. Unfortunately you didn't get an Accucheck reading to verify if it really was under 90. The 80 earlier in the day was a 113 on the Accucheck, so I suspect the 84 also was above 90.

The numbers today are due to two things. First, she is probably still bouncing from those either upper greens or low blues, and that can take six cycles to resolve. The skipped/delayed then reduced shot yesterday also impacted numbers by draining the depot.

To answer the dose question, it depends whether you think the 84 on that PM cycle was below 90 on a handled BG meter. If not, her dose is 2.5 units.


Ah... one more question for the learning curve...... When the bg went right down before the injection yesterday, was it right to wait and to reduce the dose? Or should I - if there are lower numbers - only wait until the bg goes up again und give the normal dose? Today we had the same situation with the bg going down before the shot but because it was over 200 and I knew, she would go up again soon it was easy to make the decision to shoot the full dose.
 
Going down just before the dose can happen for a couple reasons. It could be that cycle is a later nadir. Some cats nadir late (mine did) but bounce breaking cycles can also have late nadirs. The other reason you can see a drop towards the end of the cycle is something we call a Lantus/glargine double dip. That's where the cat does a small mini curve down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the first nadir of that cycle. And lastly, the Libre is not measuring blood glucose. We don't have a lot of data comparing Libre data and blood glucose, but to me it seems the Libre occasionally has odd extreme dips, like the one you just saw at +7 today. That's really late in the cycle for a big drop.

As for whether it was right to wait to dose yesterday, I would say that at this point in your feline diabetes journey, it was probably a good call. I think that at some point you'll be more comfortable shooting lower full dose without stalling, but probably not until you've shot some higher blues first and gathered data about what happens when you do that.
 
Going down just before the dose can happen for a couple reasons. It could be that cycle is a later nadir. Some cats nadir late (mine did) but bounce breaking cycles can also have late nadirs. The other reason you can see a drop towards the end of the cycle is something we call a Lantus/glargine double dip. That's where the cat does a small mini curve down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the first nadir of that cycle. And lastly, the Libre is not measuring blood glucose. We don't have a lot of data comparing Libre data and blood glucose, but to me it seems the Libre occasionally has odd extreme dips, like the one you just saw at +7 today. That's really late in the cycle for a big drop.

As for whether it was right to wait to dose yesterday, I would say that at this point in your feline diabetes journey, it was probably a good call. I think that at some point you'll be more comfortable shooting lower full dose without stalling, but probably not until you've shot some higher blues first and gathered data about what happens when you do that.

Thank you Wendy, that helped a lot to understand! Have a beautiful evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, there’s so much to learn! You’re doing great. Keep asking questions. That’s how you learn. It’s that only way. Binie is so lucky to have you.
I hope Binie eats well for you
And you have a nice night and a safe surf.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, there’s so much to learn! You’re doing great. Keep asking questions. That’s how you learn. It’s that only way. Binie is so lucky to have you.
I hope Binie eats well for you
And you have a nice night and a safe surf.
:bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci for your kindness and encouragement! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I am so grateful to have this place to ask question and find some guidance. Without it I would be so lost and desperate. I like and trust our vet very much but I must admit that her knowlede in FD seems not so deep and practical as from the people here in the fdmb. And I think it is understandable and o.k., a few things you only learn by experience and living with a diabetic kitty is different than reading about the treatment.

I hope Ivy let you sleep tonight and she is surfing safely with great numbers. I saw you two are on this journey for quite some time and I admire your dedication to help Ivy live her best life. And I read she gives back with making biscuits on you during the nights in the basement. :) What a sweet kitty!
 
Back
Top