4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 pmps 278 +3/173

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

Hi guys .. Mocha was notorious for not holding reductions .. I was always frustrated when she would drop real low and earn an instant reduction cause I knew she couldn't hold it .. Eventually though she got better and better at holding them .. it just took patience .. lots and lots of patience .. lots of it .. a lot of patience .. :lol: know what I mean? :lol: Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

really? that's encouraging to hear, devon. thanks - i keep wondering if this somehow indicates he is insulin resistant, but i would assume if you're resistant you wouldn't respond to it? i need to go read up on it, i guess.
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

Hi Julie, That thought goes thru my head daily,'I wonder if he's insulin resistant' . But like you, I don't think the insulin would have any effect on BG if he was. I just wanted to pop in and wish you guys a good day. Gus is back up to his old ways and old #s. Now, that's a stubborn cat. I chose to stop working in peds in Jan '06. I don't know how I ever did everything and worked, too!
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

I know others will be along soon that might be able to shed more light on punkin and his dose/numbers .. You guys are doing great ...
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

funny story... I don't know about you, but I have a million and one nicknames for Champ. Last night, I said to him, "Hey punkin-eater, what's up?" and then realized what I had said. It never mattered before, but I think that nickname might have to be shelved :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210

Remember the LL Mantra: "It's a marathon, not a sprint." Punkin's lookin' good, even if he's not quite holding the reductions yet. I bet he'll get there!!

Amy

PS - Another "Punkin Eater" story...we have a civvie named Petey. "Punkin" has always been on of hs millino nicknames, and since his name is "Petey", the two often naturally merge..."Peter, Peter, Punkin Eater"...
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190

Julie,
Tessie Lou and her bro, T.J. were both loaded last night on a new catnip toy which they took turns playing with. It was soooooo funny to watch. T.J., who only has two speeds: 100mph or asleep, was just laying there with a smile on his face. Tessie, who is always very sensible and predictable, decided to go upstairs and sprawl out on our bed when it was test/treat time. She usually is on her pillow waiting at exactly test time...So it was a weird night for us all. Wish my DH and I could have something like that once in awhile to unwind. Something legal, that is! ;-) ;-) :lol: :lol:

Try not to get discouraged about punkin's not holding his reductions. Think positive, like someday we'll all be the experts on here, whose cats have gone to the falls due to our superior dedication and skill... :lol: :lol: Well, we can dream, right? :razz:
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 dose advice pls

ok, we can dream! ;-) :-D

despite being kinda high #s, punkin is his usual happy self today. he's played with the nanners, the new catnip slug thingy, groomed a little, sat on my lap a little, watched the birds for awhile, and is now in the zone in his usual spot between a chair and the sofa.

Do I call it a failed dose decrease and go back up? this has been 8 cycles at 7.0 - should i wait a couple longer to see if he adjusts?
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 dose advice pls

Julie, I would call it a failed reduction and go back up.

I would also like to encourage you to think about the whole process a bit differently...rather than focusing on Punkin earning a reduction....how about trying to get him to spend as much time in the healing range as possible? I know you want to see reductions, but I also know how frustrating it gets when you take a reduction and it fails, and try again, and it fails again. You might want to try making it *harder* for Punkin to earn a reduction, by making him fall below 50 three times before you reduce, or by only shaving instead of taking the full 0.25u reduction. By doing that, he will spend more time in lower numbers, hopefully allowing his pancreas to heal, which will help him move down the ladder. You can't make him hold reductions, but you *can* try to keep him in the healing range, and that will give him a better chance to accomplish the goal you want anyway...just indirectly!

What do you think?
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 dose advice pls

i didn't know that was an option! I thought you were supposed to drop it when they went below 50 . . .

my thought, in general, is that punkin is not likely to be one of those kitties who gets OTJ - it's a heck of a long ways from 7 to .25 when you're going .25 at a time. and even though he got to that dose through the syringe mistake, it doesn't seem too high - it keeps his numbers fairly good and he's acting like himself again. maybe it's a "good" dose for him. I keep thinking about the option of dropping it way down and going back up the scale again, but i hate the thought of me "choosing" for him to feel like crap again, laying against the water bowl all day, etc.

I'm assuming, as much as i would like to think otherwise, that he's going to be a "lifer." and yes, my main interest is in having him be healthy and feel as good as possible for as long as possible, regardless of what the dose is.

so how do i do that? just maintain a dose til he dips below 50 on 3 different days? if he dips on 2 subsequent cycles is that considered "one" dip?
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 dose advice pls

I would not make the assumption that Punkin is going to be a lifer...the size of the dose does not make it less likely that he will go OTJ. He needs more juice, but he responds well to it....and I don't think he is on too much insulin, I think you would end up back at the same dose if you started over...JMHO. Some cats need a little, some cats need more, some cats need a lot. There are cats who were on as much or more than Punkin that went OTJ.

You can try shaving the dose, or you can wait to reduce until he sees numbers under 50 on three different days. I quit reducing Tinkles for one number under 50 a long time ago. Believe it or not, he is still newly diagnosed, but he never held reductions until very recently, even when I shaved the dose! It's in the protocol, alternative ways to reduce.....

Tight Regulation Protocol
Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

From the Tilly protocol

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

ECID....if reductions are not holding, try an alternative. Maybe try shaving the dose the next time he earns a reduction. If that doesn't work, then try the three times below 50 strategy.
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 dose advice pls

ok, thank you!!!!!! I really appreciate the suggestion. I would much prefer doing it "right" over rushing. My only interest is my sweet little punkin. hahahaha, not so little, but you know what i mean! :lol:

i just took a pic of him in the late afternoon sunshine - 1 nanner under his back end, one new catnip toy under him, one beside him and another nanner at his face. "MANNIE, it's a nanner party!"
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0403.JPG
    IMG_0403.JPG
    715 KB · Views: 466
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 nanner pic

Julie, Moonie is notorious for not holding reductions...If you have any time, look at my very long SS..You will see how many times Moonie didnt hold her reductions!! We just had that happen now-
But sometimes you need to take the dose up for a bit, before you can come back down with it..It
is just so common here--The one thing about FD is that it is unpredictable .
Just do what is best for punkin, which is to keep him as healthy & happy as possible.
Never think that he is a lifer, You Never Know!! Cats have gone OTJ after 2-3 yrs, so no worries--
Shoot for the happy well kitty for now. The rest will come--Hugs from Us! :-D
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 nanner pic

Hi Guys! There was one kitty a short while back that we celebrated her OTJ. She had been at it 5 years, so - ya just never know... Dosing sometimes feels like a yo yo - up and down with the doses, failed reductions, increases that were too much. Eventually they figure it out, regulation becomes a reality, and one aims for OTJ. We just keep at it until one day everything just clicks - it takes as Devon said, an incredible amount of patience...

Punkin!! I like your nanner! I see your training in the proper manner of sleeping with a nanner has paid off. Well done my friend! ~~ Mannie!
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 nanner pic

I feel as if I'm depriving my furbaby a very much needed nanner experience. Really, though, how funny! Mannie and Punkin rockin' the nanners!! You go guys.
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 nanner pic

I like Laurie's suggestion. FWIW, it's what I do with Gabby. I try to keep her at a dose where she's in good numbers for as long as possible.
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 pmps 278

hmmm, ok. i'll go for it. somehow i had the idea that you "had to" reduce if they hit 50.

i went back up to 7.25 tonight, but unfortunately i took too long - gotta squeeze faster - and he moved and some insulin came out. there's always tomorrow.

those nanners are a hoot - i've gotten catnip toys before but i think they must've been weak or old because the cats lost interest immediately. these are great. punkin just came up to snuggle with me and he stinks of catnip! what would i expect - he's been sleeping on them all afternoon! :lol:
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 pmps 278

LOVE Punkin's picture!!!

We did the same thing with Gracie even when she was only FD for a few months....three numbers (on different cycles) under 50 and then reduce because she wouldn't hold reductions. We also shave. We're trying to go back to reducing by a shave with one number under 50...waiting to see if this last one will hold.
Good luck with the dosecrease!!!

Thank you for wishing Tobey a happy birthday today!
 
Re: 4/13 punkin amps 210 +4/190 +7/243 pmps 278

Hi Julie, tell Punkin that Gus is on his way to keep him company in 7U Land! I admire your grasp of the whole dosing dance. But I'm starting to see that the #s will drive you crazy regardless of understanding the protocol. ECID...and how! Chin up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top