? 4/13 Pudge uh oh.. cycle active? Whats happened?.. AMPS 131 +3 144 +6 126 +7 178 AMPS 173 +2 113

kitten68

Member Since 2024
well skipped again today cuz didnt hear on here to know whether to give like a small dose and just realized the doctor last night didnt say either…..
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...how-to-maybe-go-frm-here.300017/#post-3264263

so theres been a lot of twists and turns.. was able to go to ER vet (regular vet couldnt see us…..) and he got some medicine to tide us over til today..

the evening was spent trying to find baby food (no success) taking care of his meals and getting some uneasy shut eye and lots of hugs and he eventually did eat for me.. i was so glad. i love him a lot.. and repeatedly over some hours.. he felt better too i could tell when i walked thru the door. then towards morning around 6-8 he didnt want to eat too good.. i was sad. *cries i thought things were a bit better then ugh..

then i offered him some food more around 9:30.. he ate!! i offered more later and he pretty much ate a decent meal! it is breakfast time after all.. his reading was 131.. hope thats ok…. came on forum and didnt see anything and also vet last night didnt say anything on how to continue meds so was going to skip again.. but called vet and asked today, and since that was case he ate and ate well, gave him half dose at vets recommendation.. really hope is ok.he ate some too post shot.. he needs his meds right.. :blackeye::bookworm::coffee: hour was pretty late but oh well (?) they really encouraged me to do so.

now trying to get some bloodwork done as wayy cheaper.. wanted to do the senior package but not sure if have time (2-3 day wait..) so having done in house so results can come today cuz idk how hes going to feel tonite.. but thats where we are. :arghh: thanks so much for support and for thinking of us.. gonna take him home and rest.. see what results. supposed to know more later today sometime..
 
I'm glad the medicine is working to boost his appetite, and I hope you get some answers from the bloodwork.

Someone on here mentioned recently that most of us should have anti-nausea medicine and an appetite stimulant in our medicine cabinets for events just like this (just enough to get us through the weekend). Perhaps you could ask the vet for a small supply of anti-nausea medicine to have on hand as well as Mirataz (appetite stimulant--this also comes in a transdermal). My vet was happy to comply. Diabetic cats need to eat in order to receive their insulin.
 
I'm so glad that the meds are working!! Seems like his appetite is way better than it was, at least! And I hope you're able to get some clues about what's going on with the tests. I know it's hard to wait, it seems to take forever.

I'm sorry you weren't able to find any of the baby food! :(
 
I'm glad the medicine is working to boost his appetite, and I hope you get some answers from the bloodwork.

Someone on here mentioned recently that most of us should have anti-nausea medicine and an appetite stimulant in our medicine cabinets for events just like this (just enough to get us through the weekend). Perhaps you could ask the vet for a small supply of anti-nausea medicine to have on hand as well as Mirataz (appetite stimulant--this also comes in a transdermal). My vet was happy to comply. Diabetic cats need to eat in order to receive their insulin.
tysm.. ❤️ us too very much.. happy to go home and wait and rest a little.. this is probably a good idea. hes always been a great eater and so it was not ordinary at all.. will definitely look into ~
 
I'm so glad that the meds are working!! Seems like his appetite is way better than it was, at least! And I hope you're able to get some clues about what's going on with the tests. I know it's hard to wait, it seems to take forever.

I'm sorry you weren't able to find any of the baby food! :(
me too!!! ❤️ he wasn't eating too much now again.. alas. but he just ate again for me! :kiss: last time he ate was snacks and breakfast turns out think like 10:45.. maybe a little later.. been about 3.5 hours.. im nervous I might be giving too many snacks when not needed but idk.. haha. have done always.. I don't realize.. like I like him to have eaten within 2-3 hrs if possible.. (someone on the forum also mentioned for me that they heard small snacks throughout the day important if able to do cuz insulin.. :cat::cat:) and us too very much.. resting and doing some chill things for time being.. :coffee:

and that's ok!!! :bighug: it's cause everything changed 5 years ago and stores aren't open like they used to.. like Walmart used to be 24.. i miss that!!! (which apparently btw is where to get the BeechNut baby food.. ugh...)
 
he's had episodes where he didn't eat for certain periods the bile would build up and he couldn't eat/vomiting so in the past he used Cerenia and that was given again this time (subcutaneous).. :cat::blackeye:.. (which I prefer bypassing the GI tract..)

Kobe has a perscription for Cerenia and Ondansetron that I can give him home. I see you prefer bypassing GI tract, but if you can't get into the vet, pills might be better than nothing... Do you have these prescriptions? if not, could you ask your vet?

Perhaps you could ask the vet for a small supply of anti-nausea medicine to have on hand as well as Mirataz (appetite stimulant--this also comes in a transdermal). My vet was happy to comply. Diabetic cats need to eat in order to receive their insulin.
 
Kobe has a perscription for Cerenia and Ondansetron that I can give him home. I see you prefer bypassing GI tract, but if you can't get into the vet, pills might be better than nothing... Do you have these prescriptions? if not, could you ask your vet?
oooh that's excellent.. its just me and Nugget tho so idk how pilling would go.. but there is a place I could take him who would pill him for me (!).. hm. I will ask. :) :) are they expensive to fill?..
 
Ondansetron also comes in injection form instead of pills. It also would need a prescription written by your vet, which you'd get filled at a regular pharmacy.

I see from last night he had high blood pressure. Do you remember what it was? I took a current kitty into the vet for a BP test a couple weeks ago and she was in the 190's (too high), when in the lab area. So we went into the vet's exam room and chilled for 15 minutes of cuddles, and she tested in the 150's. Neko had a similar experience. Over 210 at her own vet's office after many things going wrong (vet emergency, dog bumping her crate, me stressed, new tech using the machine). Vet didn't even charge me for it. Second attempt had a puppy sniff her crate in the waiting room, tested 180-190. Couple weeks later at the dental vet, after being in a room by herself with Feliway's going, mid 140's. I'd always wait for a second attempt at testing BP before treating.
Diabetic cats need to eat in order to receive their insulin.
Slight clarification, Lantus is a gentle slower insulin. Kitty does not need to eat their full amount at once, you have time. And you have time until onset to get more food in. A half dose is always OK, glad that the vet suggested that. Insulin does more than combat blood sugar, it feeds the bodies cells and the brain.
 
Ondansetron also comes in injection form instead of pills. It also would need a prescription written by your vet, which you'd get filled at a regular pharmacy.

I see from last night he had high blood pressure. Do you remember what it was? I took a current kitty into the vet for a BP test a couple weeks ago and she was in the 190's (too high), when in the lab area. So we went into the vet's exam room and chilled for 15 minutes of cuddles, and she tested in the 150's. Neko had a similar experience. Over 210 at her own vet's office after many things going wrong (vet emergency, dog bumping her crate, me stressed, new tech using the machine). Vet didn't even charge me for it. Second attempt had a puppy sniff her crate in the waiting room, tested 180-190. Couple weeks later at the dental vet, after being in a room by herself with Feliway's going, mid 140's. I'd always wait for a second attempt at testing BP before treating.

Slight clarification, Lantus is a gentle slower insulin. Kitty does not need to eat their full amount at once, you have time. And you have time until onset to get more food in. A half dose is always OK, glad that the vet suggested that. Insulin does more than combat blood sugar, it feeds the bodies cells and the brain.
tysm ❤️ appreciate it alot.. will look into this. thanks for reminder.. actually back at vet cuz the durn bloodwork didnt take on some things.. he gotta do over again.. im like really not trying to stress him out.. sigh.

and i agree!! ty for that too.. they said it was like 200 then shot up to 240.. today they didnt say anytning so shrug?

and really glad to hear.. ok ❤️ right.. thats good to know.. right. im going to see how is tonite.. i am hoping he eats enough.. but a half dose is going to help and not be too much anyway right? but i know food is really important, utmost..
 
Okay. Can you update me on what has happened? You took Pudge to the vet and they actually measured high blood pressure with a BP cuff that goes on the tail and measured his blood pressure? High blood pressure is dangerous and should be treated with (probably Amlodipine) medication. This depends upon the actual BP measurement.
 
hello! :)

yes! they did but the vet tonite reiterated the same.. can be high at vet w stressors, etc. she mentioned if his behavior is weird, like whining at the water fountain and looking up, etc.. is one sign of high BP.. he hasn't done that so idk. @Suzanne & Darcy

sorry took us a minute (just got home..) but we had to go back to the vet as the bloodwork they did didn't register properly.. and so we have his blood, came back... looks pretty great apparently... the blood is ok. (kidneys ok. liver ok. things ok.. (she was happy w the glucose at 178..) no infection.. his T4 is fine. :arghh::bighug:....) so don't know for sure atm.. maybe gastritis. maybe there's something in he hasn't tinkled also since late afternoon yesterday (I think.. I can't remember..) UTI.. so they gave me some Prazosin to give to him.. (helps urethra open) said diabetic kitties get them sometimes.. idk how im gonna do this haha. might have to find a way.. anyway im actually supposed to give him if he hasn't pottied yet (no..:confused: he's exhausted just sleeping now.. tried feeding snack he wouldn't... but he's coming down probably from the stress of the car and vet again for 2nd time today..) so alas.

update: he just ate pretty good rn.. yay.

also thing is im not sure what to do on insulin.. maybe will just give.. the problem is that its so late at night........ they had me give it at late late hour and with things going on (generally) I like to monitor.... but maybe not so bad since its a pretty reduced dose?.. idk. rn trying to figure out how to give the Prozasin also.. still no potty. I can take him to be pilled.. leaning towards that..it's every 8 hrs for 2 days......

im exhausted. he's exhausted. :blackeye::arghh:
 
thank u so so much to everyone for caring about me and peanut.. :) :arghh::blackeye::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: all the great advice and suggestion.. truly helped me feel less on my own. thank you....

ugh so tired.
 
he ate good tonite.. :arghh::bighug:.. pretty well. and ate little meals before and after.. decided to give half shot, as he eating.. I like to stop food 2 hrs if can prior always (even now) but with the vet and back and forth.. and just wanting him to as much as I can get him to rn.. im a little weirded out by it, but gave half and he's getting only half right so ok.. :blackeye::coffee: morning worked out ok.. wasn't fasted. his numbers seemed ok to do too anyway. both of us just zZzzzzZZzZz.......

and he made potty..... just as I was on the phone with the ER trying to see if would help w the pilling, he went.. ❤️

Thank u all so so much.. observing tonite..
 
also.. this clinic says cann't prescribe anti-nausea for home anytime use cuz of obstructions etc the pet has to be checked first.. by law?
 
whelp just checked his two and way down to 113.. should i be concerned?.. its active seems like.. is it the depot? :/
 
Back
Top