? 4/13 Oren; AMBG-83;AMPS+20min-119;+5-310;PMPS-379; pm+2-310; +5-140;vacation dose advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Last night, left food for a pm+9 snack, and not sure but perhaps it influenced this a.m. Still green, but higher than last 2 mornings. Same as what I ended up shooting on Sat morning after stalling... so stalled 20 min and he was up to 119. gave full dose and left 4 good meals in feeder from +1-+4, will try very hard to get home by 11.30-45 which is +5ish to check him.
 
Last edited:
made it home to a fat and happy kitty. the extra food has him to 310 already at +5. hope he was green before that, or at least blue. but better safe than sorry. Petsafe 5 feeder THANK YOU!!!
 
Oren's ss is filling up with those beautiful blues and greens!! Paws crossed they show up pretty regularly and stick around for y'all. :)
 
thanks Rose!! yes, I'm excited by it. I took a page from your experience and have started experimenting w/ food. Left him a pm+9 snack last night and it seemed to keep him from dropping too low this a.m; i do hate to lose momentum, but on M/Tu i can't be home to monitor him all day. and then I'm leaving for 5.5 days starting Thur and a pet sitter will only be able to do AM/PM tests. so we may have to do dosage adjustments. But hopefully he'll get through ok and get back on track. How's Zoey today? is the petechia clearing at all?

(p.s. i love that we both got the coveted BOS award recently!!;))
 
Last edited:
the afternoon bounces are getting a bit smaller... boy, I REALLY hate the idea of losing momentum w/ being gone from this Thur to next Tue.

I know some suggested waiting to post until Tue to ask about a vacation dose, but I'd really appreciate getting advise sooner than later, especially if I have to make some adjustments myself while I'm still here. I am here through Thur. amps, then a vet tech pet sitter can only do AM/PM PS tests (unless I can convince her to come a few mid-cycle times over the wkend perhaps if she's not working at the vet).
 
first, about the bounce today - looking at last night, he dropped nearly 200 points in 1.5 hrs from pm+3 to pm+4.5. That speed alone is enough to set off another bounce., which is likely what you're seeing today.

@Sienne and Gabby is very experienced at figuring out vacation doses for Gabby. Some cats eat less while their people are gone - do you have any idea if that would be the case with Oren? Just thinking that you might want the vet tech to be able to measure on a line, I'd probably go with 5.0u. But let's see what Sienne and others have to say about it.

Are you planning on having the pet sitter use the timed feeder? I'm thinking you are but just wanted to double check. You'll want to leave the tech a sample syringe with colored water in it and have her compare the dose every time.

The reason for waiting to decide is in case the situation changes between now and the time you leave. He could conceivably earn a dose reduction between now and Thursday.
 
I don't think Oren doesn't eat when I'm not here; I am particularly fortunate in that both my kitties are hoovers, and basically can't wait to eat whenever presented the opportunity. Plus Oren is not shy, he loves people, even strangers, so he doesn't get stressed at home (he doesn't like the vets though!)...

Yeah, I was thinking 5 or 5.5 (since i have the 1/2 unit syringes). She is coming by on Wed. so i can show her the latest; it's very different from when she was here in Feb, the dosage and my feeding routine etc. I will show her the feeder; i got word that my 2nd petsafe shipped today, it might even get here tomorrow...
She did get a 133 once when she was here at PMPS and she called me and said she didn't think she should shoot; i of course was very inexperienced at the time (not that I'm any expert now!) and agreed to have her skip that one. At that time, he was only 2U. She is great though, and very responsible (she took it on herself to come by one day to try and get a mid-cycle test, that was the time the bad kitties both raided dry food and ruined the curve!). I only wish she could be staying w/ him round the clock, but she works at the vet most days during the week; her day off is Wed.

Do you think my pm+9 feeding last night influenced his slightly higher AMBG this morning? I was hoping to level out the whole thing a little bit. Maybe i need to give him more feedings at night too?
 
i think he was heading on his way up to a bounce this morning, caused by that fast drop last night.

Feeding at +9 is a little trick that we suggest mostly for cats that are very close to OTJ. Their pancreas is sputtering along and just a bite can stimulate the pancreas to put out a little insulin, bringing down the BGs about 3-4 hrs later.

To know if it makes a difference with Oren, you'd want to try it for a week or so straight. One night isn't enough to be confident about the effect.
 
oops. well there you go, proving I certainly am no expert! :blackeye: still, perhaps a few small meals at night similar to daytime might be helpful in leveling the difference b/n cycles?
 
The changing of Zoey's food quantity made such a difference for her. In looking at Oren's SS, it looks like he's benefiting as well. (As a word of caution, Zoey's 5.5 ounce can of food only has 5 ounces of actual food in it ... so don't put a lot of faith in the packaging.)

Without trial and error and notations to look back on, you won't know what works for Oren. And when you think you see a cycle emerging, it will change. But you'll have a good chance of seeing it and altering the food cycle to the drop cycle. For Zoey, that tidbit of information is important. If Zoey is super high in the a.m., I feed her less food at her feeding (still feed, just less). For her, it helps bring that number down into numbers that at least make ME feel less twitchy. But ECID ...

Anyway, I can't give you any advice other than to chart the food and know your measurements and share with you what our own experience has been in case there's something useful there that you can use or learn from or commiserate with; I mean, even failure is a good example of what not to do. Be patient with the process. You're collecting data to make hypotheses ... fancy word for educated GUESSES. Just keep it all in perspective and keep putting the puzzle pieces together.

Paws crossed that Oren will flatten out and be in some good numbers to hold him over until you get home to scramble the puzzle and start again.
 
Thanks for checking in with us Rose! It is so amazing to have the eyes and talents and hearts of everyone here. I truly don't know how I'd cope otherwise! I'm anxious about leaving, but I recognize that I still have to have a life and will just try and do the best I can for him. I'll be happy if he stays in 'medium' numbers while I'm gone, no huge swings either direction.

Hope you and Zoey have a great day too! Happy Tue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top