4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMPS 113, +1 97, +2 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

beggargirl

Member Since 2011
Noxin's condo from yesterday is HERE.

So I realize it looks like I am going to have to learn to shoot low :)

I do have to leave for work in two hours, and I won't be home until I have to take his PMBG; I'm afraid I would be a basket case at work with worry; so I am afraid I can't be talked into trying a dose right now (plus we are past the time when I usually shoot him). I am going to start practicing getting 0.5u and 0.25u in my big ass syringe so I get comfortable.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Hi guys .. what a nice blue to start the day off at! I know it can be scary shooting low the first few times but before you know it you are shooting in the 60's without a second thought .. you guys are doing awesome, keep it up .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. what a nice blue to start the day off at! I know it can be scary shooting low the first few times but before you know it you are shooting in the 60's without a second thought .. you guys are doing awesome, keep it up .. have a great day!

Thank you! I look forward to being comfortable and knowing how Noxin is going to react.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

When I am out all day, I use an auto feeder that opens at +3 and +5 or 6, so that she has food available while I am away...Many of us use this and it works great--I usually leave LC food, but you can leave a drop of MC if cat is running low, just to keep him safe...
My cats were also Temptations junkies, but now I only give it to Moonie when she goes into low green numbers to bring up her bg when all else has been given..
She has always gotten chicken as her test treat, and it doesnt raise their bg at all, total protein & she loves it (then I have to give civvie some too :lol: )..
I think you are doing a great job and your baby is doing very well! Have a great day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Roni and Moonie said:
When I am out all day, I use an auto feeder that opens at +3 and +5 or 6, so that she has food available while I am away...Many of us use this and it works great--I usually leave LC food, but you can leave a drop of MC if cat is running low, just to keep him safe...
My cats were also Temptations junkies, but now I only give it to Moonie when she goes into low green numbers to bring up her bg when all else has been given..
She has always gotten chicken as her test treat, and it doesnt raise their bg at all, total protein & she loves it (then I have to give civvie some too :lol: )..
I think you are doing a great job and your baby is doing very well! Have a great day! :mrgreen:

I have just started giving chicken instead of temptations as treats. :)
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

cherie, i have to tell you that everytime i see your "beggargirl" come up, i have this momentary reaction of sympathy before i "remember" it's just a screen name. :lol:

i think the biggest thing is that you want to get into a 2x daily same dose shot every day so you get her stabilized. it's just kinda all over the place when you go from 2.5 to 0 to 1.0 to 0 . . . maybe you would feel comfortable with some kind of tiny dose twice a day to start with. i think sienne suggested that a couple of days ago and she's an expert on this.

have a good day at work!
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

julie1220 said:
cherie, i have to tell you that everytime i see your "beggargirl" come up, i have this momentary reaction of sympathy before i "remember" it's just a screen name. :lol:

i think the biggest thing is that you want to get into a 2x daily same dose shot every day so you get her stabilized. it's just kinda all over the place when you go from 2.5 to 0 to 1.0 to 0 . . . maybe you would feel comfortable with some kind of tiny dose twice a day to start with. i think sienne suggested that a couple of days ago and she's an expert on this.

have a good day at work!

I chose the username beggargirl, named after one of my favorite paintings by my favorite artist, William Adolf Bouguereau. He actually has a few paintings of young 'beggar girls" : http://allart.biz/up/photos/album/B-C/B ... eggars.jpg .

I do want to do a tiny dose twice a day but I have to leave for work in less than an hour so I will not be home to monitor Noxin and his reaction. I know I am frustrating everyone with my reluctance, but I really want to be there to monitor him for his first and second shot, because I would never forgive myself if he went hypo while both me and my husband were both not here to help him.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

What great numbers for +48 and no insulin! It would be great to see what the BG is in 3 or 4 hours to see if his pancreas is reacting to the food and producing some insulin.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Ann & Tess said:
What great numbers for +48 and no insulin! It would be great to see what the BG is in 3 or 4 hours to see if his pancreas is reacting to the food and producing some insulin.

I am about to take off for work, but I just gave him a quick poke and he is down to 104. His next bleeding will be his PMBG when I get home.

Thank you everyone, and I hope you have a good day!

(Edit: I love poking his ears right after he's been sleeping because his ears are SO WARM :) )
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Hi Cherie,

It looks like Noxin is producing some insulin, and is able to keep his numbers down into the low blues at this point. That's great, and most vets would tell you to stop shooting and say he's in remission! However, I would not do that. He may be able to stay in the blues, and he might even get himself down into the greens and go into remission without further support, but he also may go back the other way, and you could lose the progress you have made. It looks like his pancreas has started healing, but it may not be sufficiently healed to keep him in remission, so he may just enjoy a short honeymoon, and then end up back on insulin.

What I would suggest is shooting a small dose...0.25u, or even 0.1u if you are worried...in order to continue to provide his pancreas the support it needs to finish healing. His numbers are good, but still a little higher than what you want to see....you want all green numbers, or as close to that as you can get. There are no guarantees of course, but by providing support for as long as possible, Noxin stands a better chance of a strong remission.

I understand that you are not data ready to shoot low numbers...unfortunately, Noxin is not going to allow you the luxury of easing into it....he's on a mission!

Will you be home tonight? Can you get a test an hour before shot time and post it?

BTW, I'm glad you stopped using Temptations. I would not use them for anything if you can avoid it...dry food/treats are not the best choice for low numbers, they take too long to work and hang around too long. You can use HC gravy food for low numbers....and I use plain boiled chicken for testing treats. :smile:
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Amazing progress for Noxin!! I agree with Laurie, and given the numbers Noxin has been giving you, my instict would be to go with .1 to .25u twice a day. At first, measuring will be tricky, but you've only got a few more days. Literally it will be mere drops of insulin, but drops can have a HUGE impact. Right now, I'm in a place where 1.25 takes Willie lower than I'd like (especially since I too work during the day), but 1.0u isn't giving me exactly the numbers I want either. It's literally 1-2 drops of insulin that is making the difference. Many of us here are in that position, and Laurie is right... the longer you can support Noxin's pancreas, the better the chance that the remission will hold for longer. The pancreas needs to heal as much as possible before asking it to work on it's own.

good luck with your practice!! :)
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48)

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Cherie,
What I would suggest is shooting a small dose...0.25u, or even 0.1u if you are worried...in order to continue to provide his pancreas the support it needs to finish healing. His numbers are good, but still a little higher than what you want to see....you want all green numbers, or as close to that as you can get. There are no guarantees of course, but by providing support for as long as possible, Noxin stands a better chance of a strong remission.

Will you be home tonight? Can you get a test an hour before shot time and post it?

I just got home and tested Noxin. He is at 113. I have to shoot in the next ten minutes if I am going to. I will be home tonight, but have to leave 3 hours after his shot tomorrow if I do it.

I am looking at the sticky with a pic of what .1u looks like, and think I'd have to guess at the .25 if I did it.

When I took his blood I had to stab three times: the first time I tore the edge of his ear a teeeeny bit, but got no blood - the second time got the blood but the meter was off and I didn't notice - and the third he bled nicely, but ran away and hid and I had to chase him...so he was stressed when I finally got it, poor guy.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

I can't get a small amount without a tiny air bubble. Is that still okay?
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

I always seem to have an air bubble, and some of the insulin still gets injected, but see what others say.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

Just do the best you can, and try to be consistent from shot to shot. Are you shooting 0.1u?

Once you shoot, start with a +1 and +2, ok?
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Just do the best you can, and try to be consistent from shot to shot. Are you shooting 0.1u?

Once you shoot, start with a +1 and +2, ok?

I think I'll try what looks like a 0.1u to me. BRB.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

I don't know. What I shot him with looks either like the 0.1u in the picture, or the 0.25 in the picture. I really can't tell which, and my syringes don't have half units. What should I call the shot?

I'll get a +1 and +2, and post when I do.
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

That's fine...it's less important what you call the dose, more important to try to shoot the same amount each time. You can call it whichever you think it is closest to. ;-)

I'll be looking for the updates. Nice shooting!
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

You do have a good supply of test strips, and HC gravy I hope? I should have asked before you shot. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMBG 113 Advice?

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
You do have a good supply of test strips, and HC gravy I hope? I should have asked before you shot. ohmygod_smile

I've got a 'chicken feast in gravy' fancy feast, a 'with chicken in sauce' whiskas pouch, a bag of Temptations, a bottle of Maple Syrup, and 49 test strips left. ~O)
 
Re: 4/13 Noxin AMBG 112 (+48), PMPS 113, +1 97

+1 is 97. He just ate a bit more than another quarter fancy feast can. Both him and his sister didn't touch the liver and whatever flavour fancy feast I left for them while I was at work.
 
Looking good, Great Hooting! :thumbup I'll be up w/ you a while too, Tess just had a +3~47 (see you aren't so bad yet! :lol: )

Without the half unit makings it is really hard to judge .25u. For .10u I usually just allow a hair of light between the plunger and the 0 line. You can also practice w/ colored water and an old syringe. I count drops because syringes can vary at these tiny doses. For .10u I get 4 even drops out. Hold the syringe upright and twist the plunger, don't push. You get better control. When the drop rolls down off the bevel is one drop. A good magnifier that leaves both hands free is a great help.
 
Ann & Tess said:
Without the half unit makings it is really hard to judge .25u. For .10u I usually just allow a hair of light between the plunger and the 0 line. You can also practice w/ colored water and an old syringe. I count drops because syringes can vary at these tiny doses. For .10u I get 4 even drops out. Hold the syringe upright and twist the plunger, don't push. You get better control. When the drop rolls down off the bevel is one drop. A good magnifier that leaves both hands free is a great help.

I will look into counting how many drops I've sucked up. I like that idea.
 
Ann & Tess said:
Looking good, Great Hooting! :thumbup I'll be up w/ you a while too, Tess just had a +3~47 (see you aren't so bad yet! :lol: )
confused_cat

This is kinda stressful. :?
 
Ok, that's 79...so he's up a bit. That's good....I would test again in 30-45 min. He looks like he's surfing. Don't offer too much food at a time, just a tsp or two...you don't want him to get full...you can offer a bit more now if you want to.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Ok, that's 79...so he's up a bit. That's good....I would test again in 30-45 min. He looks like he's surfing. Don't offer too much food at a time, just a tsp or two...you don't want him to get full...you can offer a bit more now if you want to.

He ate like a can and a half of food right before his shot. I don't think I can talk him into a great deal more.

I'll post his next numbers in a bit.
 
Keep in mind that we are having you test so frequently not because he is at a 'scary' number, but because we don't know how this dose will affect him just yet. Surfing the low 70s is GREAT! :)

As for the micro dosing - when you draw in your insulin draw in 1 unit. Then work your air bubble to the center of the syringe under the needle - you'll be able to tell when it centers itself on that. TWIST your plunger to slowly expel what you need. Twisting the plunger when you're measuring in droplets vs units makes everything a hundred times easier.

You might also check out your syringes- do all of the baselines look equal? I use Relion brand syringes and the baseline on some is thick..others thin. Kazi is on a 'drop' of insulin so that baseline varying in thickness can really affect the amount of insulin she gets. I don't even bother trying to use the baseline of the syringe as a guide any more!
 
Amanda said:
Twisting the plunger when you're measuring in droplets vs units makes everything a hundred times easier.

I will check out the syringes. I will have to try out this twisting thing.
 
Nice surf going! How late are you usually up, Cherie? If you will be up for another hour or so, then get one more test. Or you could get some sleep now, maybe set an alarm and grab a test somewhere around +6? I would either leave a little food out or give him a small snack before you go to bed. He really looks good! As Amanda said, it's hard to know how this dose will affect him...so I would try to get a mid cycle test if possible.

Yes, twisting the plunger gives you much better control than pushing it. Also, move the plunger back and forth several times before you draw the insulin...it spreads the lubricant out and makes the plunger slide more smoothly.
 
His +5 is 83.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Nice surf going! How late are you usually up, Cherie? If you will be up for another hour or so, then get one more test. Or you could get some sleep now, maybe set an alarm and grab a test somewhere around +6? I would either leave a little food out or give him a small snack before you go to bed. He really looks good! As Amanda said, it's hard to know how this dose will affect him...so I would try to get a mid cycle test if possible.

Yes, twisting the plunger gives you much better control than pushing it. Also, move the plunger back and forth several times before you draw the insulin...it spreads the lubricant out and makes the plunger slide more smoothly.

I am going to bed now. I'll leave some food out. Thank you so much. I'll post his AMBG when I wake up. Thank you so much for the advice and support!
 
Thank you again SO MUCH Laurie.

I apologize that I didn't answer your last post until now; I was watching a show with my husband.

I really hope I didn't keep you up and inconvenience you :-|

You've been wonderful.
Goodnight,
Cherie.
 
Cherie, I was up anyway...you did not inconvenience me at all. I went to sleep shortly before you posted...I'm glad you got the +5, and left food out. You did a great job! :-D

I'm glad I could help. I'm just paying it forward for all the help I have received here!

I'll be looking for your AM number...I hope you slept well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top