4/13 Noogi - AMPS 135, +3 94, +8 104, PMPS 112, +2 104, +3 108

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Hope everyone has a relaxing Sunday :bighug:


When is the last meal he gets in the AM and in the PM?
@Bandit's Mom
Usually a small snack at +7 but I am wondering if I need to make it a big bigger and/or move to +8.

He has taken to waking me up in the early hours (at about +9.5, my 3.30am) asking for food. I try to ignore but it's impossible as he is so persistent - so I usually give in and give him a little LC snack. He did this last night, and maybe two other times in the last week. So this may account for some of the blues in the AMPS recently, and also maybe that ravenous hunger a few evening's ago, when he didn't get enough in the way of snacks in the day. Could be cooler weather is playing a role too. Any reason not to move last snack to +8?

I am also thinking about his dose. Please let me know if you think I should go back to 1u. If so over the Easter weekend coming up would be a good time so I can monitor.

This morning I was struggling to pull up the exact right dose of 0.75 and ended up giving him a slightly fat dose (maybe about 0.85). Perhaps instead of going back to 1u I should try to keep him on this inbetween dose and see if that is the sweet spot that sees fewer blue and more greens?
 
Does he have enough cushions? I don't know, maybe he needs another cushion :p
20250413_124758.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20250413_124758.jpg
    20250413_124758.jpg
    101.1 KB · Views: 131
Look at that beautiful little fella, all propped up like royalty!

I have a hard time with those .25 doses also. I have some calipers sitting in my Amazon cart; I need to go ahead and purchase them. It's just another thing to learn related to this disease :bookworm:

I hope you can find a way to get his AM numbers down with food! That would be ideal.
 
Usually a small snack at +7 but I am wondering if I need to make it a big bigger and/or move to +8.

He has taken to waking me up in the early hours (at about +9.5, my 3.30am) asking for food. I try to ignore but it's impossible as he is so persistent - so I usually give in and give him a little LC snack. He did this last night, and maybe two other times in the last week. So this may account for some of the blues in the AMPS recently, and also maybe that ravenous hunger a few evening's ago, when he didn't get enough in the way of snacks in the day. Could be cooler weather is playing a role too. Any reason not to move last snack to +8?
We normally suggest not feeding after the nadir, but that doesn't work for many cats who don't like long gaps between meals. In those cases, we suggest feeding the lowest carb snack possible. Feeding after the nadir can reduce duration and lead to higher preshots.

I am also thinking about his dose. Please let me know if you think I should go back to 1u. If so over the Easter weekend coming up would be a good time so I can monitor.

This morning I was struggling to pull up the exact right dose of 0.75 and ended up giving him a slightly fat dose (maybe about 0.85). Perhaps instead of going back to 1u I should try to keep him on this inbetween dose and see if that is the sweet spot that sees fewer blue and more greens?
He does look like he might need more juice. We usually suggest dose changes in multiples of 0.25U. It's only for cats who have gone between doses a few times that we suggest skinnying/fattening a dose.
 
Look at that beautiful little fella, all propped up like royalty!

I have a hard time with those .25 doses also. I have some calipers sitting in my Amazon cart; I need to go ahead and purchase them. It's just another thing to learn related to this disease :bookworm:

I hope you can find a way to get his AM numbers down with food! That would be ideal.
Thanks Mary

BTW I bought some calipers a while back but they were on the cheaper side and not at all suitable for the purpose we need them for. I sent them back and have not (yet) bought another pair. Recommend you make sure you get good quality stainless steel ones of you do decide to go ahead.
 
We normally suggest not feeding after the nadir, but that doesn't work for many cats who don't like long gaps between meals. In those cases, we suggest feeding the lowest carb snack possible. Feeding after the nadir can reduce duration and lead to higher preshots.
That makes sense. I have been trying to stick to LC later in the cycle.
I don't know why he is so hungry. I don't think his BG is going up enough to increase his appetite, is it?
It is usual for him to put on some extra weight over winter, so maybe its just that?

He does look like he might need more juice. We usually suggest dose changes in multiples of 0.25U. It's only for cats who have gone between doses a few times that we suggest skinnying/fattening a dose.
Are you okay with me increasing him to 1u again? Unless something changes maybe I'll do it on Wed, so it will have be in full effect on Friday. I'm home to watch him over the Easter weekend.
 
I don't know why he is so hungry. I don't think his BG is going up enough to increase his appetite, is it?
It is usual for him to put on some extra weight over winter, so maybe its just that?
No. His numbers aren't high enough or low enough to cause him to be ravenous. Maybe it's winter. Bandit used to eat more and get chunkier, and come summer, she would lose interest in food and shed the winter weight.

Are you okay with me increasing him to 1u again? Unless something changes maybe I'll do it on Wed, so it will have be in full effect on Friday. I'm home to watch him over the Easter weekend.
Yes, let's see what he does till then. You might as well continue with 0.75F rather than keep changing doses :-)
 
No. His numbers aren't high enough or low enough to cause him to be ravenous. Maybe it's winter. Bandit used to eat more and get chunkier, and come summer, she would lose interest in food and shed the winter weight.
Yes, he does the same. And yes, it's just normal hunger not that ravenous type. Loves his food :)

Yes, let's see what he does till then. You might as well continue with 0.75F rather than keep changing doses :)
Thanks, that is what I'll do.
 
Back
Top