4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 +3 173 +6.5 228 PMPS 177 + 2 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
It was somewhere between 0.5 and 0.75. Probably should have given 1 but I wanted to see how he'd do on less and he was really getting gun shy about the poking. Ate FF for breakfast.
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173

Phyllis, get some Neosporin with Pain Relief ointment for Nonnie's ears. It has a little numbing medicine in it and can really help when they're getting poked a lot. Make sure it's the ointment, not the cream.

It's important to be consistent with the dose unless he earns the decrease. I know it's been a crazy few days, so don't blame you for being a little gun-shy of shooting though. Hopefully this .75 unit dose will be a good (and safe!) one for Nonnie!
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

Guess I'm still learning...should have stuck with the 1.0 this am. His numbers are all higher today which is why I'm not testing more...giving him a break. Now I'm unsure about tonight...thinking I should go back to the 1.0 and hopefully we can hold there for a few cycles. I have some Neosporin but not with the pain relief. Will definitely get some,.. Thank you!
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

Please just go ahead and hold the .75 tonight, Phyllis!

One of the reasons you're getting such wonky numbers is because you keep changing the dose. We really don't know how Nonnie responds to any dose. You've removed the dry food, and since then he's really come down, so I understand why you've been changing dose so frequently lately, but it's important now that you HOLD the dose for at least 6 cycles unless he drops below 50 again.

It's possible that .75 is a perfect dose, but until it's held for the 6 cycles, we can't know because his body is always having to adjust to the different doses. Let's see what this dose really does for him, ok?

Don't get wrapped up in the fact that his numbers are a little higher today...until his body has a chance to stabilize at one dose, you're going to continue to get wonky numbers.
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

Hi Phyllis,

It's really scary to hold a dose after our kitties start dropping into those lower numbers - I felt the exact same way you're feeling right now. Chris gave you some great advice about the dose, so I won't add any more to that.

I just want to give you lots of moral support. Nonnie is doing great, and you're doing a fantastic job with the testing, daily condos, etc. Be proud of yourself! :-D

Shelly
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

Thanks to you both.....0.75 it is! I feel better with that anyway, even if he is a little higher....I don't test quite as much so he's more friendly today and hopefully the Neosporin will help. I can't tell you how much this board has helped. How do you keep up with what I'm doing? Do you 'follow' people who are new? I'd like to do that if for nothing more than moral support!
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

Hey Phyllis,

I know what you mean. Fighting those low numbers all the time gets exhausting! Hopefully Nonnie will level out on this dose and show you some safe green numbers. It looks like he's really responding well to the Lantus. He's improved so much in such a short time!

I actually try to read each person's condo every day just to keep up with what's happening. I don't always have the time to comment on others' posts, especially during the work week, but I still check in every day. At first, it was overwhelming getting to "know" all of the members, but they truly have become like a family to me. I don't give dosing advice, as you know. I'm really just a cheerleader because that's all I can do! :-D

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/13 Nonnie AMPS 138 0.75 units +3 173 +6.5 228

How do you keep up with what I'm doing? Do you 'follow' people who are new?

Yeah in a way. One of the reasons we are so big on getting people to set up their spreadsheets (and keep them updated) is so when those of us that give dosing advice check in on you, we can see what's been happening. Doing daily condo's is the other important part of keeping us updated as to what's going on with Nonnie.

Not everyone is comfortable giving dose advice, and those people are some of our best cheerleaders!! I know when I was new here, it was just as important for me to hear from people who said "I was there, and I know how you feel", as it was to hear from the people who were advising on doses, so everyone here can help in some way!
 
Nonnie came down prior to dinner and injection (0.75) and at +2 was 155....feeling more comfortable tonight. Thanks, everyone.
 
I think 0.75 is a good choice. Nonnie earned a reduction with that 44 at 1.0 although that could be some shed action. Boy howdy is he coming down quickly! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You and Nonnie are doing a SUPER JOB! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Hi Phyllis!

the higher numbers today were a bit of a bounce. he peaked at the 228 and is on his way down now. so the highs weren't something you could've prevented.

i'm seeing the dose question a little bit differently. i'd only stick with the 0.75u if you see his numbers come back into green by tomorrow. when you reduce a dose and the same range of numbers don't continue, that's called a "failed reduction" and there is no need to wait a certain number of cycles before increasing back up to the last good dose. he probably needs 1.0u - i really think that was depot action causing the low numbers yesterday. i'd go back up to 1.0 if you see his numbers trending upward - green is your goal. personally, i'd probably increase back to 1.0u in the morning. when you've got momentum going you don't want to back away, reduce too much and lose it. then it typically takes increasing the dose back up even more to bring the numbers back down again.

yes, we do keep an eye on new people and their kitties! there is a ton to learn when you start and everyone needs the help to learn how to use Lantus and manage the numbers. We were all new at one point and someone did the same thing for us. we're just paying it back.
 
Read this after I shot him at 0.75 this am. He was 148 AMPS. If numbers stay above green will go back to 1 tonight. It's such a small difference and so hard to tell what I'm giving him, I'm just trying to be consistent. Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top