4/13 - Handsome - AMPS 94, +2 = 261 - Need Dosing Advice PLZ

MeowMomma

Member Since 2019
Hi all, we have been struggling these last few weeks and I'm not sure where to go from here. SUPER FRUSTRATED!

Can someone (or several) please look at his SS and offer advice in regards to dosing?

Since increasing to 4.25 we've had 3 incidents where he tested low enough to not get a shot. We've also had a few fur shots lately which drives me absolutely bonkers!! Those are noted on the SS.

I'm at an absolute loss on what to do next. Has he earned a reduction back to 4U (with 3 missed shots) or do we increase to 4.5U? With the fur shots I've left him at the 4.25U longer than I normally would. Just wanted to have clear data before changing anything.

Thank you for any advice offered!
 
Over time, with experience and data, people following SLGS can shoot as low as 90. Next time you get a number lower that you are comfy with, do NOT feed, wait 20-30 minutes and retest again. Seems he likes to zoom up after those low preshots. Maybe he'll be at a number you feed better shooting. Provided you can monitor, have plenty of high carb food and test strips. Post here for help with something like "do I shoot" in the subject line. Over time you can gradually lower the number you feel comfortable shooting.

I would stick with 4.25 units, and see if you can lower the number you shoot at.
 
I was hopeful with the +2 number but as expected when I got home from work he was at 487 (+9).

I always have 100+strips on hand at all times. I've got the Hills Prescription diet canned and dry food they sold me the day he was diagnosed. And I have honey too.

I leave for work right after the +2 number in the mornings so I tend to not shoot rather than to stall. But knowing he'll zoom up anyway.

When missing a shot or doing a fur shot, how long does it take them to get back on track afterward?

Thank you so much for the reply!
 
Do you have an autofeeder so he will have food available during the day? If you can get a +2, you can decide if he needs higher carbs in the feeder or not. And if you can stall a half hour and see him zooming up, you are probably good to shoot, as long as he has food. Or you could try shooting some of those lower PM numbers he gives you.

When you miss a shot, it can take six cycles for the depot to build up again.
 
Okay, thank you!

This was also suggested .....all the sporadic colors indicate a bounce may be happening. Drop Mr. Handsome to 3.75u and hold 5-7 days. There was less of a color bounce when you look back to when you were giving that dose


I did give him the 4.25 dose at shot time.
 
Last edited:
Bounces are completely normal. Bounces are a reaction to dropping lower than they are used to or fast drops. The only way cats stop bouncing is if they get used to normal numbers. That means sticking to the dosing method until they are seeing lots of nice normal blood sugar values. For cats that drop fast during the cycle, you can give them food just before onset or other times when they typically drop, to try to slow the drops.

There are some FB groups where people suggest dropping the dose. All that happens then is that the cat gets into higher flat numbers, glucose toxicity develops, and you'll need an even higher dose to get out of those ugly numbers. Worst case, a cat with history of ketones can have those show up again. As long as you are following the dosing method, testing to make sure you know how low the cat is getting on that dose, and increasing by safe amounts, you are not on too high a dose.

4.25 units is seeing some numbers in the 90-149 range for nadirs, so you'd hold the dose there for now.
 
Back
Top