4/13 Gus 4U PM+3=537

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Here we are again! My boy just wants to stay in the Highlands, thankyouverymuch! I'd like to increase his dose tonight to 4U. His pattern is to go up (of course) in response toa new dose but usually comes back down the next 24 hours. Problem is, we're having contractors in the house tomorrow so I'll still be able to test but won't be able to trust the numbers. Is there any sense to going up when the monitoring will be less than reliable? I'm thinking 'yes' because the testing after the contractors leave will show his progress ( yeah, right, progress). Is my thinking correct? :roll:
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Hi guys .. sorry to see gus is stuck up in the highlands still .. silly kitty .. We always knew with mocha a dose increase was fine, even if we were to be gone that day or the next day and couldn't do much testing, because it always took mocha longer to get adjusted to her new dose .. but ECID (ever cat is different) .. hopefully others will be along soon with a better answer for you!
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Well, if the numbers are high because of stress that doesn't mean the dose isn't working. Then when the contractors are gone her should come right back to normal, you could get the NDW and the stress taken care of all at once. If you wait he may have an extra day in the highlands. :?
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Poor Gus...and Bev!! Whatever route you decide to take, I hope Gus decides to cooperate and give you some better numbers.
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

i don't know the answer - but i wondered, when you dropped his dose before (Apr 1) was that just because you thought the dose was high and you wanted to somewhat start over in case you'd missed the sweet spot?
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Yes, exactly. I also thought it was too high because of the "half dead" way he was acting. He felt frail to the touch and looked just awful! So, I started over and went slowe, letting him adjust to each step. He's been looking and acting completely different, in a good way, this time around. He settles down to a new dose and then, goes right back up high and cruises there until I dosecrease him again. Then, he reacts to the new dose, I give him a few cycles, and back up he goes! Any ideas?
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Bev --

Pattie asked me to respond to your question about bouncing. Bounces are a normal, albeit annoying, response by the liver to low numbers or a fast drop in numbers. "Low" is subjective -- it could be a low compared to where the cat's numbers usually are. When this occurs, the liver panics and dumps a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones, into the bloodstream. The result is a spike in BG numbers. This is a protective function since the liver is reacting as if this were hypoglycemia and releases this stored form of glucose to restore what it assesses as normal BG. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

It's hard to know at this point why Gus likes the stratosphere. In all likihood, he's was in high numbers for a while before he was diagnosed. That's what his body interprets as the new "normal." It's why we've suggested you be aggressive and increase the dose every 4 cycles. There is also a possibility he is insulin resistant or has another high dose condition. I don't know if this is the case and typically we don't start thinking in those terms until your at around a dose of 6.0u or more. There are tests that can be done to determine whether this is the case. There are also some cats that just need a little more insulin that others and their numbers start falling in a hurry. Randi's Max was a kitty who's SS is an example of this.
 
Re: 4/13 Gus AMPS>600 +3=598

Hi Bev - I hope all is well with you guys tonight. I know Sienne has some very valid points. Max's SS is a great example of what can happen. I'm sorry that Gus likes it way up there. I do know that it won't be that way forever. With patience and commitment he could very well be another Max. You will get there. Good luck with the dosecrease, whenever you decide to go with it.
 
Thanks for the explanation, Sienne. I saw what Gus was doing and went ahead with the 4U. I agree with you about his higher #s. Who knows how high they were prior to diagnosis or how long they were like that. I will continue to give him increases in dose according to the protocol as long as his numbers and behavior warrant it. Thanks for all the support, everyone.
 
Max's SS is quite impressive and it sure gives me hope!! Thanks for sharing that with me. So it really IS possible. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top