4/13, Falafel, AMPS 94 +4 56 +5.25 89 6.25 107 PMPS 160 +2 183 +4 246

Keep monitoring. When was the last test done? If more than 30 min ago you can test again to see if she's continuing to drop. I suggest feeding something with MC or HC. Maybe something with gravy to get her ro eat. If you have those tube treats cats usually go nuts for them.
Please update us.
In the meantime I'll tag more experienced members to help you through this as I'm going to work soon.

@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo
 
She seems to be steady in the mid 50s range actually.

+3.75 58
+4 56
+4.25 57

I did get her to eat some LC wet at +4. Right now she’s hiding under the bed.

Ok thats good just keep monitoring her but she seems to be doing OK.
I'm sorry I can't help too much with this but I'm sure other members will respond soon.

Just in case do you have your hypo kit ready?
And if she ever drops too low you can add the "911" to your title to get immediate help.
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Are these readings from the Libre? The good thing is that she's staying flat.

Is it the antibiotic ruining her appetite?
These are from the FreeStyle Lite handheld device.

She’s at 64 at 4.75 now. I think this happened because she didn’t eat much at shot time.

I didn’t give her the antibiotic last night bc she wasn’t eating. Thinking I should give her some Mirtazapine to get her eating? The cat sitter is coming and I didn’t want her to be grumpy when she came but I’d rather have her eating.
 
Ok thats good just keep monitoring her but she seems to be doing OK.
I'm sorry I can't help too much with this but I'm sure other members will respond soon.

Just in case do you have your hypo kit ready?
And if she ever drops too low you can add the "911" to your title to get immediate help.
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Yes I have a whole hypo kit! I actually took out the honey and HC wet so now the stray cats outside are in for a treat.
 
Sigh of course this happens on a day I have to leave! But I think we are out of the danger zone now, she ate a bit earlier and I just tested her +6.25 she’s at 109.

It usually how it goes haha it's like they know whennyou have to leave them.
I think you're safe to go though. Maybe leave her some food to graze on and test her once you get back.
Good luck :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Did the vet culture the urine to find the best antibiotic for the uti? Looks like you will see a nice surf. :bighug:
Yes she is supposed to take Zeniquin 12.5mg every night (for 28 days!!) First dose went fine but after the 2nd she vomited about 6-7x!

Last night I skipped the (3rd) dose because she wasn’t eating well. Tonight I’ll try again. My plan is to give Cerenia 4mg, wait an hour, then give the Zeniquin.

Cat sitter is handling PMPS though so I’ll see how Falafel is feeling when I get back!
 
Hi Z great job getting her to eat and she came up for you. :bighug::bighug::cat:
Thanks Diane! Today is a wild ride. The cat sitter is coming for the first time today for PMPS so I’m so nervous. Maybe Falafel picked up on my energy.

I don’t think I mentioned here before but Falafel is my first ever cat (adopted her 3 yrs ago) and this is our first time ever with a sitter. I really jumped in the deep end with my girl :joyful:
 
Thanks Diane! Today is a wild ride. The cat sitter is coming for the first time today for PMPS so I’m so nervous. Maybe Falafel picked up on my energy.

I don’t think I mentioned here before but Falafel is my first ever cat (adopted her 3 yrs ago) and this is our first time ever with a sitter. I really jumped in the deep end with my girl :joyful:
Good luck with the cat sitter tonight , sometimes sprinkling a little Parmesan cheese on their wet food will get them to eat :cat:
 
I have a kitty with IBD, which is why I give Visbiome as it's made specifically for IBD. In Canada I can only get the packets, but I think the capsules are an easier way to go for dosing. It is pricey, lots of people have used Renew Life which is cheaper and works if not dealing with IBD.

Churu is a great way to give meds! Though I just give the powder mixed in with food.
Just an update. I decided to order this Renew Life probiotic for Falafel:
https://www.betteryourhealth.com/renewlife/product/extra-care-probiotic-capsules-30-billion-cfu

When it comes, I’m unsure about dosing. I did a bit of research and it seems like there is no set dose, but less is more? So I am thinking I’ll start with 1/4 capsule at first to see how she reacts. Also read that I need to wait 2 hours either before or after the probiotic dose before I can give the antibiotic?
 
Ok the cat sitter completed PMPS! 160!

Apparently Falafel hissed at her and ran away multiple times. I’m hoping she likes us and is willing to be our regular cat sitter despite this. Maybe next time I’ll tell my brother not to be in the room bc I think he stresses and that scares Falafel more.
 
Little stressed bc +4 is still going up…

What does this mean? Did I delay the dose increase too long?

Should I shoot 0.5U tomorrow?
 
Last edited:
She is just bouncing from the 50s you saw today. With nadirs in the 50s, you don't have room to increase. Just hold the dose for now.
Ok I completely forgot about bouncing!! Lol.

Today I did Cerenia at PM+2 and just did Zeniquin at PM+4. She also got Mirtazapine earlier so that’s 3 separate pillings in one day. She is visibly distressed after :( I wish I could give both Cerenia and the Zeniquin in the same gel cap but I understand why not.

I hate this :arghh:
 
She did well, you might see her bouncing tonight and maybe tomorrow after hitting those low numbers today but that's normal. Use that time to rest and get ready cause she'll get back to work. Glad to hear the sitter worked out today and she didn't get discouraged even after being hissed on.

Wishing you and Falafel a good night :cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top