? 4/13 Ducia PMPS 285, + 5 53, +5.5 67, +6.5 85, +8.5 101 Dosing concerns

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Good morning and Happy Friday,

The PM cycle of Apr 13 is Ducia’s 4th on the reduced dose of skinny 1U.

The dose seems to be working good for her however I am concerned with how dropy she is on it:

4/12 AMPS +11 302 – 72p=PMPS 285 – 72=PMPS +2 213 – 72=PMPS +3.5 139 – 86= PMPS +5 53.

The numbers are good. The lowering and its timing is appropriate.

It is the size of drop that concerns me. 72 points in an hour?!:eek: Twice?!:confused::confused:

Is 0.8U – 0.85U too much for her? Should I have taken the full reduction to 0.75 after her getting down to 40 on Apr 11 in the AM?

Happy day at the lagoon, health and strength to all our kitties!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Some of those lower numbers could still be the depot talking so it's hard to say.
She's now going into cycle 5 on the skinny dose so I suspect she'll let you know soon enough if it's too much, I might have taken the 0.25u reduction as she got to 40 the other day, but now you've been shooting the skinny 1u, I would probably hold but be watchful for her earning a reduction rather than messing with the dosing, as messing with the dose now might muddy the waters.

Surf Safely Ducia.
 
Hi Tanya! @Gill & George, yesterday, Tanya ask about distribution of food. Could you take a look and see what you think?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-4-101-5-116-6-102-8-181.176283/#post-1939526
I'm not Gill but I could answer.

Tanya....Ducia likes to have a dramatic onset occasionally at +2 and +3 of late and then again a bit later. What you want to try and do is feed enough food early in the cycle that it prevents that big drop.

With many kitties that do this, it can work in her favor if you manage her curve with food to flatten it out. Considering how carb sensitive she is, it might help her to frontload the cycle giving a little more food at AMPS, +1, and +2 and a little less food at +3.

You will have to experiment since ECID but let's say, for example, that you give her 10 tsps per cycle. With frontloading, feeding would look like this:
AMPS, +1, +2: 3 tsp
+3: 1 tsp

I'm not suggesting you follow those specific amounts but it's,just to show that more is given earlier in the cycle. You might have to play with these and move it around...you may find that feeding more early keeps her from dropping at +3 so you can move that food to +4. It just takes time and experimenting.
 
I'm glad Marje answered your food question in what I think was yesterday's post? Both this one and yesterday's are labelled 4/13, so I'm not sure which is the current one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top