4/13 Disco AMBG 43/AMPS 99/+1 146/+2.75 89/+3.75 92/+4.75 87/+7.5 123/+11 100/PMPS 121/+1 265

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday 4/12: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...230-5-25-182-8-174-11-79.228236/#post-2555996

OK, I figured something must be happening with Disco because his +11 was 79 so this morning at 7:30 his AMPS/AMBG was 43.

I kind of forgot, as he was yelling for food, and put down his morning meal with HC mixed in but picked it up after he had about three bites and need to know, do I retest in 30 minutes? Do I go ahead and feed him and skip this dose? I’m assuming no dose right now because he’s under 50, correct?
 
Oh my!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

I think you have no choice but to feed, dropping from 79 to 43 like that.

Any shot decisions, wait to see where he is in a half hour or an hour, then decide (trying to take the food into account). It's the best you can do, for his safety, I would not withhold food now.
 
Oh my!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

I think you have no choice but to feed, dropping from 79 to 43 like that.

Any shot decisions, wait to see where he is in a half hour or an hour, then decide (trying to take the food into account). It's the best you can do, for his safety, I would not withhold food now.
Thanks for the quick reply!I don’t know why my brain goes into a tizzy… Making me forget that it’s feed the 40s!!! I just put the food down again about 15 minutes late and I will retest in 30 minutes. Thanks everso!!
 
@Nan & Amber (GA)

+0.5 57. Will retest in 30 minutes again and decide on shooting but I probably will if he’s jumped up some more. Do I shoot through and stay at the 2.75 as this is his first below 50 at the dose again, or do I drop to 2.5?

Update: +1 99, I’m gonna go ahead and shoot 2.75 and retest in 30 minutes, or is an hour OK?
 
Last edited:
I keep a hard copy of Freckles' numbers (diabetic journal) and on the inside cover I have written the guidelines: never shoot below 50 (2.7), always feed the 40's (2.2-2.7) , always feed HC to the 30's (1.6-2.1) - plus I have the sticky's for low numbers printed out and in a duotang. If I'm half asleep, I can't count on my brain to be really functioning that well so it's easy to have that reference right there because there is not much thought involved! lol

Because I'm in Canada, we use a different system for monitoring numbers so trying to convert the numbers and remember stuff is just asking way too much of this CG when I'm in a fog! :)
 
I keep a hard copy of Freckles' numbers (diabetic journal) and on the inside cover I have written the guidelines: never shoot below 50 (2.7), always feed the 40's (2.2-2.7) , always feed HC to the 30's (1.6-2.1) - plus I have the sticky's for low numbers printed out and in a duotang. If I'm half asleep, I can't count on my brain to be really functioning that well so it's easy to have that reference right there because there is not much thought involved! lol

Because I'm in Canada, we use a different system for monitoring numbers so trying to convert the numbers and remember stuff is just asking way too much of this CG when I'm in a fog! :)
Thank you for the “keep calm and carry-on” reminder… I think I need to have a flashing neon lights LOL
 
Making me forget that it’s feed the 40s!!!
One small caveat and a reminder. If you look at the Sticky Note on TR: Shooting Lower Numbers:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Neko gave me 40's wake up call quite a few times. I always stalled, she always came up without food.
 
One small caveat and a reminder. If you look at the Sticky Note on TR: Shooting Lower Numbers:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Neko gave me 40's wake up call quite a few times. I always stalled, she always came up without food.
I have this in my 3-ring binder but actually need to print it out and have it staring me in the face! Thank you again for guiding us and doing the work I should really be doing...
 
Back
Top