4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226 PMPS 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

mococo

Member Since 2011
Last night he ran up pink numbers (330) for the first time in nearly a month. No changes in behavior/water intake etc... other than being very peeved with testing last night and hiding his head under blankets and sofa pillows.

With that in mind I'm thinking that tells us we should be moving to 2un to help him get back down.
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254

Hi guys .. sorry to see that d'artagnan saw some pink last night .. glad he's back to yellow this morning .. hopefully others stop by with dosing advice for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254

:lol: just laughing at Le Butterball on your spreadsheet . . . do ya have a porky kinda kitter? ;-)

if you want help with dosing, you can edit your subject line to ask and someone expert will come by!
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226

He is a "two lap" cat. The ss felt so daunting when I first started it that I needed to inject some humor in it to make it less terrifying. It's the little things.

I will update the title, thanks!
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226

I chuckled at the title of the SS too! :lol:

The pinks from last night look like a bounce from the pretty blues from the night before, or possibly some lower numbers yesterday during the day. I would not increase the dose tonight...you want to make sure the bounce has cleared before increasing, and that can take up to 72 hours. Also keep in mind that when you see nadirs below 200, you might want to hold the dose for up to 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226 - Increase dose in pm?

Thank you!

I will hold at 1.75.

Now for the "I'm new" question- what is a bounce?

I'm sure I've probably seen it or read it before in a sticky, could you point me in the right direction for reading material?
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226 - Increase dose in pm?

A bounce can occur either when a cat drops into lower numbers or numbers drop fast. Their liver reacts by dumping a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream. The result is a spike in BG level (e.g., D'Artagnan shot into the pinks). This is actually a protective function of the liver to prevent BG numbers from dropping too low. However, the downside is that it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 4.13 D'Artagnan AMPS 254, +6 226 - Increase dose in pm?

okay so a bounce is not always a bad thing?
but i have to keep my eye on it for a couple of days.

and then next question, what happens after a bounce?- or is this one of the great mysteries of kitty diabetes?
 
Sorry I just saw your question! When the bounce clears, the numbers will come back down again. When that happens, you see what his numbers look like, and evaluate whether he needs an increase or not. Does that answer your question?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top