4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93090 CLEO'S CONDO
Morning all - Hope everyone has a peaceful Saturday.

Well, first test of the curve - she ate a little more than usual this am. Hoping she comes out from her nap under the bed in between +2 and +3. I really think they sleep all day while I am at work. Sometimes, the litter boxes have nothing in them when I get home, and that is with 3 cats! I guess it is boring without their personal doorman to let them in and out from patio~
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267

What is a ""fur shot?" I have seen it in a few posts and SS. Also, I have seen an insulin dose of 1 drop, is that possible?

Thanks
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5 291

I am thankful she came out on her own, drank a few sips of water, used litter box, did pee in one, and then did a poop in the middle of the floor in laundry room! Both litter boxes in there were clean, hope she doesn't make this a habit :( Then she ate a little more and everyone went out on the patio. Sun is breaking through the clouds here.

I tested my youngest (Opie) just for fun. He is the perfect cat to test, didn't care about the whole thing. Just sat there, even purred. His blood sugar was 67, and he ate approximately the same time and amount as Cleo. Interesting. He is like the cats I see in the Youtube videos LOL!
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5 291-NEWBIE

Good morning!
What is a ""fur shot?"
It's when you may have given a partial or missed shot (into the fur, or the needle came out the other side of the skin). When this happens, you can usually smell a strong 'band-aid' scent on your cat from the insulin, and even feel a little wetness in the shot area. We don't re-shoot if this happens, as you don't really know exactly how much, if any, insulin was injected. We just note it on the SS, and sometimes give ourselves a little ohmygod_smile . But it happens to everyone from time to time...

dose of 1 drop, is that possible?
It is. I haven't had the opportunity (yet), but there are ways to microdose when necessary. There are even some nice pics (somewhere...) of what certain-sized drops look like.

Good luck on your curve day!

And maybe Opie can give Cleo some calm-testing pointers :-D .
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204 NEWBIE

So far, so good. I have had no drama "catching" her for her test. I am gong to buy a few of FF appetizers to see if that can be her test treat. I am glad I asked about the fur shot before it happens to me. I would not have known what to do!

Thanks for all good thoughts!
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204 NEWBIE

Great job with the curve! I'm thinking if things keep looking this way, it may be time to increase to 1.25u.

The photos of microdoses (or what a quarter unit looks like) toward the bottom of the New to the Group sticky.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204 NEWBIE

very nice, flat day. :smile:

Will you be able to get a spot check or two tonight too? I know that's asking a lot after doing a curve.

For some cats a flat yellow cycle indicates that they plan to drop lower in the next cycle. For some cats a flat yellow cycle is nothing more than a flat yellow cycle. :-D Since we don't know yet which category Cleo falls into, it might be a good idea to check tonight to see if she drops. It looks like she did go down some last night. I don't really think she is going to green on this dose, but she could be so we might as well see.

Then if she doesn't hit green tonight, I agree with an increase to 1.25u BID.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204,+7-183 NEWBIE

Yes, I will definitely check more tonight. Today is her day - no other priorities. Just checked her again, got her to come out from under bed by "popping" can of food. It was FF Fish & shrimp (not the pate, but one of her favs) and I gave her tsp of it as her treat. So, once again no drama, and for that I am grateful!!!!!!!

:-D
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204,+7-183 NEWBIE

Lookin' good here, Jane and Cleo (and Opie--the model kitty). Very nice numbers. And it is so important to give those treats. Have you tried the freeze-dried 100% chicken "dog" treats (in the dog aisle in the petfood stores)? You can break them into smaller pieces. All the kitties seem to like them a lot. They contain almost no carbs.

Keep up the good work,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204,+7-183,+10.25-157 NEW

157 @ 10.25. I am hoping she stays local so I can get another BG in 30 minutes. She is waiting for food, so she might. I won't tell her sher has to wait another 90 minutes for dinner!! I don't usually test at this time, so this number kind of surprises me.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204,+7-183,+10.25-157+11-

PMPS - 163, gave 1 U.

This is the first day that I feel like I can finally breathe, and think that maybe we will be able to handle this.

Cleo and I even bonded a little more today. And I think we both got a little more used to the testing. The phone rang during my last test, and neither one of us freaked out!
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-AMPS 267,+2.5-291,+5-204,+7-183,+10.25-157+11-

Nicely done.

Since this is the lowest pre-shot you've seen, please get a +1 and a +2 test.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129

PMPS 163, +1 129

went lower, she ate some FF turkey & g, and some hamburger meat

Heading out for a few minutes. Will check her again in one hour.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129

That's a pretty big drop for a +1. Be sure to get a +2 and don't hesitate to give her food with a little higher carb than normal. Don't overfeed, maybe just 1 or 2 teaspoons. You want to avoid filling her up in case you need her to eat more later. That's great about the testing! :-D Great numbers for Cleo! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129, +2,110

PMPS-163, +1,129; +2, 110 She was up on counter eating her FF when I came in.

Should I offer any HC treat yet?
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129, +2,110

awesome!

You don't need to go for the high carb yet. I would feed some low carb (a couple of tsp) and test at +3.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86

I'll try to test one more time in about 1/2 to an hour. She did eat some more LC FF after the last test. She went under bed after that, I think she is finally sick of me poking her. But, she did so much better than I thought she would today.

I will not increase insulin tomorrow, correct? And, if by some chance, BG is under 150, I will hold?

Thanks for everyone's help~
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

Looking good! I think the LC food is good. I would give HC if she goes below 50.
Liz
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

I wouldn't give HC at this point. I'd only pull out the HC if Cleo's numbers were in the 50s. Right now, the drop has slowed considerably and I suspect she'll start coming back up soon.

You both have done a great job today.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

I agree, wonderful job tonight. :smile:

And no, I wouldn't increase her dose tomorrow. These numbers are great, so let's wait and see if she can do this again on this dose.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

Thank you all!

So, just so I am sure for the morning. I will NOT increase insulin, correct? And I hold it, if her BG is 150 or less?
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

you can shoot under 150 if you are comfortable and can monitor. You shot 163 tonight and so far that is going fine. You can post for help if you're not sure what to do.
 
Re: 4/13,CLEO-PMPS,163: +1-129,+2,110;+3-99,+4.25, 86, +5.5-

The dose is based on the nadir (the lowest reading in the cycle) not the preshot. The preshot test is to make sure it is safe to shoot. So based on her nadir this cycle (73 so far), you should hold the dose at 1.0u. If she is under 150 in the morning, do not feed and retest in 30 mins. Post for help too. The idea is to gradually reduce the no shoot number. So you've shot a 163 so you should be good with a little lower than that.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top