4/13 Cleo AMPS 353 increase?

You had one heck of a day yesterday for sure! In my (not so humble) opinion, you handled yourself so well. Your posts yesterday were well reasoned and eloquently explained. I think that the original poster misunderstood and inferred a tone of you taking offense whereas I read them as a diligent advocate for a cat with personal experience of perhaps a similar situation.

I told Cleo this morning about your threat. This increase is recommended pending no greens because (1) she hasn't seen any greens on this dose and (2) today's AM cycle would be the third cycle after the 116 the other night. (Is this right?)

I've been thinking and hemming about something else then DH brought up what I was thinking. Cleo seems to give us better numbers and is less ravenous when we feed her anything other than the chicken pate. We've also noticed that when we give her venison, rabbit, lamb and mackarel, she is fuller longer. Coincidence....maybe. She might be less hungry bc she's seeing better numbers and we've broken through some toxicity... or is it the chicken. She still eats it and loves it but she's not Full from it. Maybe I will investigate the protein ratios in each flavor. I don't know. Now I'm rambling! Sorry.

This morning's weather report brought to you by Cleo has a Sunny Yellow start with anticipation of BLUE skies and green waters. Kiss your kids. Hold hands and skip with your spouse! Get out and enjoy your day!
 
It is hard sometimes to convey a "stern" and serious/urgent tone on the internet to get a point across without others misinterpreting it as something else, such different communication styles. I'm glad it worked out in the end...I've seen it not and those are the worst.

And correct - if she was seeing green (and I don't mean like a single 99) you'd tend to hold closer to 5-7 days, but with MPM now we do want nadirs closer to 50 (60-ish is pretty ideal).

Perhaps something in the chicken is bothering her? Check ingredients?
 
Didn't think I was going to have an active cycle (high yellow preshot and basically flat at +2.75) but Cats LOVE to prove their humans wrong.
She was acting weird at +4.5 Meowing and Pacing and light pawing at me. FYI the "light pawing" is weird. It's usually more heavy paw-handed lol.
I thought she can't possibly be hungry she had a snack at +2.75. Well colored me BLUE with surprise.
+4.75 - 110
 
I think she had to do it to not make YOU mad. Now do you think I can use your "threats" to get my husband to do stuff - Like laundry maybe even some mopping??!!??

Do I still increase at pm shot time if no green?
If she were your furbaby what would you do?

I was soooo Confident to shoot full dose at anything over 150. I almost feel silly feeling anxious over an increase but I will admit...a little anxious. I thought the color blue was supposed to be a calming color. I'm so needy lol.

Another odd tidbit... I haven't fed her the Ziwi Chicken in 6 cycles. The last 6 cycles have been better. She has eaten unseasoned shredded home made chicken thigh/breast/heart/liver as a treat but no Ziwi Chicken as a meal/snack.
 
OK NOW I KNOW YOUR THREATS ARE GOLDEN or shall I say ....GREEN
+6.5 - 75
going to test again in a hour. I'm so excited. For once the weather forecast was right!

Where do we land on the increase now?
 
OK NOW I KNOW YOUR THREATS ARE GOLDEN or shall I say ....GREEN
+6.5 - 75
going to test again in a hour. I'm so excited. For once the weather forecast was right!

Where do we land on the increase now?
Woohoo! Now you hold current dose or at least 5 days.

As for human threats...I've used most of those up on my husband and kids :joyful:
 
Not just blue but green! She wanted to make curve day more interesting. She also didn’t like the increase threat. She reads all the posts on her condos, you know.
 
We have had several talks on car rides about just how many of his nine lives he's used up!

(Btw we increased cab frequency and that seems to have offset the methimazole-cab interaction that was raising BG, back into good greens) *well, technically it wasn't enough cab to offset the growth hormone but you know what I mean
Are you doing daily Cab now?
 
Are you doing daily Cab now?
EOD. He was actually dropping into the 40s when we did EOD before, and that south American study actually backed one cat down in dose or frequency (can't remember which) because of it, so figured I'd try. I had him on once every 1.5 weeks for awhile actually! And I'd have tried spacing it out further if the thyroid hadn't cropped up

I'm just winging it over here ...
 
Ok help out the newbie here. I know cab is one of the treatments for acro but what is methamizole and what does it do/ treat?
How's Mr. Kitty's overall disposition? Does he act like he knows he's got these diagnosis?
 
Methimazole treats hyperthyroid (the other treatment is i-131, it is curative treatment but $2k+ and requires quarantining and stuff; they can also do surgery but no guarantee it gets everything).

In humans, methimazole interferes with cabergoline's efficacy. I'm flying in no man's land here because literally zero data on cab + methimazole in cats, barely anything even on cab bring used for acro.

Hyperthyroid also masks CKD (kidney disease), and with his kidney values I suspect I'm going to have to deal with that as well.

The next fun thing I've got coming up is dealing with the IBD/SCL. Prednisolone is my choice for that, but surprise surprise all 3 meds work against each other in some way. So I'm trying to get thyroid and acro stable first - then deal with kidneys - then deal with IBD/SCL (since it's the least life threatening of all of them).

I joke he looks like Franken-cat on paper. And nope, you'd have no idea there's anything even wrong with him. Truthfully that's whats kept us going with him this long, through multiple ER trips, multiple advice to put him down, etc. Just isn't ready, not his time. Still runs around, comes to see and sit with everyone, sleeps with me purring all the while. And thankfully I've found a vet willing to humor me with pretty much everything I want to do/try
 
Wow that's a lot.
I'm assuming you've already done tons of online research, but maybe you're interested in this book (cheaper if you have a kindle) or I will get myself a copy and loan it to you if interested.
https://www.amazon.com/Feline-Endoc...t=&hvlocphy=9004382&hvtargid=pla-736127661107

It's the first of it's kind written by Vets and solely for felines.

I also found this excerpt https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24951346/ but I cannot access the whole study.

I also remember reading right before Cleo was dx with FD, that a lower iodine diet showed promise and was beneficial to delay the progression of CKD in hyperthyroid cats whilst undergoing non surgerical treatment. Before we got the FD dx we thought her clinical signs pointed to hyperT. Boy did we research in the wrong direction. Diabetes didn't even cross our minds.
In any event I'm sure I saved that research on my work PC and will definitely look for it on Monday.

As an aside, Cleo bounced to the moon from that 78 @+10 lol. I'm sure you and @Suzanne & Darcy expected this.
 
Wow that's a lot.
I'm assuming you've already done tons of online research, but maybe you're interested in this book (cheaper if you have a kindle) or I will get myself a copy and loan it to you if interested.
https://www.amazon.com/Feline-Endoc...t=&hvlocphy=9004382&hvtargid=pla-736127661107

It's the first of it's kind written by Vets and solely for felines.

I also found this excerpt https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24951346/ but I cannot access the whole study.

I also remember reading right before Cleo was dx with FD, that a lower iodine diet showed promise and was beneficial to delay the progression of CKD in hyperthyroid cats whilst undergoing non surgerical treatment. Before we got the FD dx we thought her clinical signs pointed to hyperT. Boy did we research in the wrong direction. Diabetes didn't even cross our minds.
In any event I'm sure I saved that research on my work PC and will definitely look for it on Monday.

As an aside, Cleo bounced to the moon from that 78 @+10 lol. I'm sure you and @Suzanne & Darcy expected this.
Thanks! I did see the lower iodine diet, the trouble just becomes balancing all the needs - low carb, low phos for kidneys, novel protein is ideal for the IBD/SCL, low iodine. It's a mess. I know I really should do raw but that has its own challenges.
 
Back
Top