4/13 Champ AMPS 317, PMPS 335, +3 303, +5 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

While his AMPS is in the pink, it's better than yesterday. Maybe today will be a yellow kind of day for us...low yellows please.

I hope everyone's hump day is really humpidy!!
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317

Hi guys ... yes, this is a low pink so definitely room for some lower numbers .. I hope it's a nice slow drop for champ so he can get used to them without panicking .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317

NICE!!! And I love how you are sounding more relaxed with it!! It's almost sunny yellow so let's see what you can do today Champ.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317

:thumbup Great start and the bean is doing well too! :lol: Yellow is just around the corner!
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287

Champ's +3 is 287...not nearly as low as I would like since this tends to be his lowest point, but I AM more relaxed about this. After surfing through other kitties SS's yesterday, I realize we have it pretty good. Of course, when all Champ wants to do is sleep the "sleep of the dead" for hours on end, it's a little distressing. The good thing is, he's not doing that for as long a period of time as he used to. He's got the 5 P's workin' so I'm going to relax while I can :-D
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

So he decided to go down a bit more to 276!! way to go Champ!

I have a question...has anyone ever noticed their cat's head twitch, or his face? It's like a tremor. It only happened for a few seconds where it looked like he had a head tremor and then another time where his face on the right side looked like it was twitching. Champ's been acting weird this morning, too, like he's scared of something. But there haven't been any noises or anything unusual going on here so I don't get it. He's now under my desk and won't come out. His numbers aren't too bad today so I can't imagine what's going on.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

i don't know, but wasn't that what Tessie Lou was having an ultrasound for today? it was more in her tummy and hindquarters, i think.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

New question...how high do the BGs have to get before you see the signs of neuropathy? I had noticed Champ's left front leg twitch a bit when he would bear weight on it, but this seems to have gone away. Just today, only one time, did I notice his head tremor for a few seconds. His behavior is just weird, too. I'll just keep an eye out.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

Hmmm...not sure on the tremor/twitching. Can you try to catch it on video? It might help to actually see it....many people do that and show the video to their vet. Any other symptoms?

This may not have anything to do with it....but I notice that Champ eats Wellness....are you aware of the recall on the canned food? When I did a quick search for tremors, thiamine deficiency popped out at me as a possible cause, and that was the reason for the recall...not enough thiamine in the food. You might want to call your vet and ask about this, a thiamine supplement may be a good idea.

wellness recall

Cats fed only the affected lots for several weeks may be at risk for developing a thiamine deficiency. Thiamine is essential for cats. Symptoms of deficiency displayed by an affected cat can be gastrointestinal or neurological in nature. Early signs of thiamine deficiency may include decreased appetite, salivation, vomiting, and weight loss. In advanced cases, neurologic signs can develop, which may include ventriflexion (bending towards the floor) of the neck, wobbly walking, circling, falling, and seizures. If your cat has consumed the recalled lots and has these symptoms, please contact your veterinarian. If treated promptly, thiamine deficiency is typically reversible.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

Laurie, Champ only started on the Wellness about two weeks ago, after Wellness had been recalled so I wouldn't have any of the bad product here for him to eat. Also, I would love to catch some of his "tics" on video, but, unfortunately, he seems to only do them extremely rarely. The head tremor only lasted a few seconds and hasn't happened again so far. The leg twitch when he would bear weight on it hasn't happened since shortly after he was first diagnosed. I'm just going to have to keep an eye out I guess.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

SUNNY YELLOW!!! Way to go Champ!!! He might come down a little lower still....you never know! ECID and some nadir late. Look at Atlas's condo and his SS...he is well known for nadiring at +12 so Beth has to shoot some really low numbers but she has TONS and TONS of data and knows how Attie will react.

No thoughts on the tremors or twitches or whether neuropathy can kick in only after a short time. I think if he's doing anything that worries you, maybe just have the vet check him out......

Have a great day, Patty...you're doing super. Oh...glad you like our babies....it's impossible to not want to constantly kiss them.
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276

Looking good, Champ!! May not happen here, but store this one away for future reference... a flat yellow cycle is very often an indication that the following cycle will be more active. :) Fingers and paws crossed for some good numbers tonight!
 
Re: 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +3 287, +5 276, +9 319, +11 330

geez louise. just can't catch a break. Champ's numbers still suck and I just found out my dad just had five coronary stents placed for heart blockages and my mom has lost ten pounds in one week because she doesn't have an appetite and the docs can't figure out what's wrong with her. I want to know what I did to have so much bad karma!! crapola.
 
Re: Q&A Please 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +5 276, +9 319, +11 330

I believe that, according to the protocol, I will be raising Champ's dose to 1.5U tomorrow morning. Correct?
 
Re: Q&A Please 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +5 276, +9 319, +11 330

oh, patty, i'm sorry. sometimes it seems like the bad stuff all piles on at once. hopefully your turn in life is just about over! i don't know about the dose q - you might put Dose Q in your subject line . .
 
Re: Q&A Please 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, +5 276, +9 319, +11 330

Unless there's a dramatic change overnight, yes, I would increase to 1.5u in the morning, Patty.

Sorry to hear about your Mom and Dad...I hope they both are on the mend soon!

I know it is discouraging to not see an improvement in Champ's numbers, but hang in there....it may take some time, but sooner or later, you'll reach the "right" dose, and you'll see better numbers. It's a marathon, not a sprint....it really is!
 
Re: Q&A Please 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, PMPS 335

Just wanted to add my 2 cents to the cheering pool. You really had it going, girl. It's OK, you're doing wonderful, well, you & Champ are doing wonderful. Such a difference in your approach, so much more confident. I'm terribly sorry to hear about your folks. I'll keep good thoughts and prayers going out to them. Have a good night, Patty.
 
Re: Q&A Please 4/13 Champ AMPS 317, PMPS 335

So sorry to hear about your parents! Sometimes the world jsut seems to dump on us all at once. It will get better!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thank you everyone for your kind words. Today was one of the roughest...lots of pinks from Champers and worrisome news from my folks in Texas. It's hard to be away from family when they're sick. I'm going to get through this, I know, especially when I have all of your shoulders to lean on. It truly does make the cross easier to bear as I'm sure all of you know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top