4/13 Buddha -- aspirin safe for cats?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Quick question, Buddha is very sore from his annual vaccinations yesterday. I called the vet this morning and she said that it would be safe to give him 1 81 mg aspirin tablet this morning, not to be repeated.

I ran out and bought the aspirin. I have just googled it, and the websites say no aspirin for cats.

Need other opinions. Will a one time dose of a 81 mg aspirin tablet be ok?
 
I'd call your vet back. I've seen that some people here have given aspirin but I don't know the dose. You might want to post on Health.
 
Hi Donna,
I have read that aspirin is not safe for cats. But I have no direct experience. Is the problem one of pain, or is swelling also an issue? If pain, people here use "Bupe". If swelling, I think I would try the runners' remedy: an ice pack (4 minutes on, 1 minute off, etc.)

I'm sure you will get lots of advice and I would hold off on the aspirin until you get some knowledgeable input!

Ella
 
Trying to do this quickly, so in a nutshell -- Buddha received his vaccinations yesterday, not in the scruff area like I'm used to seeing it, but in his legs. One in his front leg and one in each thigh. He did not eat his dinner last night, so I left him in his dining room (aka the bathroom) over night. So he probably slept on the toilet. This morning, he still had not eaten and is barely walking. He hisses when I pick him up. He's hiding. The vet suggested a one time dose of an 81 mg aspirin and thought he would feel better and eat in a couple of hours.

Also pertinent, the vet office is out of town and also closed on Wednesdays.
 
I would be very careful about that advice from the vet. As far as I know aspirin is a no, no for cats.

Cats sometimes are lethargic the next day from the shots and I would be prone to ride it out for the day.

On the other hand if Buddha is truly in pain and sore...that shouldn't be. :?
 
Donna & Buddha said:
Trying to do this quickly, so in a nutshell -- Buddha received his vaccinations yesterday, not in the scruff area like I'm used to seeing it, but in his legs. One in his front leg and one in each thigh.

Also pertinent, the vet office is out of town and also closed on Wednesdays.

Odd locations. I've seen them give the rabies shot in the back leg as that is intramuscular. The other I thought were subcue...like what we do with insulin.
 
I've never given aspirin to my cats, Donna. I agree with Sienne about double checking the dose with your vet....I know cats can't metabolize aspirin well, so using the right dose is extremely important. With a quick search, I saw mentions of using 1/4 tablet, so that makes me wonder if using a whole tablet is safe....

I would also err on the side of caution and ride it out if you can't verify the dose with the vet. First, do no harm....
 
If your vet's office is closed today, is there an ER vet you can call? Don't they have a referral # for someone covering in case of emergencies at your vet's office?
 
Thanks for the replies. I see the 1/4 tablet suggestion and dosage recommendations AND WARNINGS from Dr. Gus on that other website.

I'm a cautious person with drugs and other chemicals. I also personally experienced a major stomach bleed years ago after taking aspirin. And the dh developed an aspirin allergy. So I'm extra extra cautious. My goal is for Buddha to feel comfortable enough to want to eat. So I'm holding off on pain management and going with tempting foods, like boiled chicken. I'm out of it currently, but it's bubbling on the stove. I have tinned tuna in the pantry. Is that a good alternative?
 
When my cats have had any procedure done that requires pain meds, we usually get Buprenex liquid from the vet to squirt in their mouths. It makes them a little drunk, but helps with the pain. You might want to ask your vet about that. They got 0.3ml by mouth 2x a day.

From the Web:
Buprenex is used for:
Treating moderate to severe pain.
Buprenex is a narcotic analgesic. It works by working in the brain and nervous system to decrease pain.

Side Effects of Buprenex in Cats
*Buprenex is the brand name of buprenorphine, a synthetic opiate used to treat pain in cats. It is also commonly used as a pain medication in humans and dogs. Buprenex is injected into the system, where it is absorbed within 15 to 30 minutes. The effects can last as long as 8 hours. Before deciding if Buprenex is right for your cat, make yourself aware of the side effects.

Reactions With Other Medications

*Buprenex can interact with other medications that your cat is taking. If your cat is on barbiturates, tranquilizers, antihistamines or monoamine oxidase inhibitors, consult with your veterinarian on how the Buprenex might affect your cat.

Sedation

*Cats who have been injected with Buprenex often seem drowsy while the drug is in effect. Buprenex is an opiate, and cats who are injected will be less responsive or inattentive. The cat might also sleep heavily while the drug is its system.

Drop in Heart Rate/Blood Pressure

*Because Buprenex is an opiate and works through binding to the body's opiate receptors, it depresses some body functions. When a cat is on Buprenex, it will likely have a slower heart beat and lower blood pressure.

Slow Breathing

*Buprenex may affect the respiratory system. Cats tend to exhibit slower breathing when they are on Buprenex. The drug is not recommended for cats that have respiratory issues.
 
Samantha got her rabies shot last Thursday and was eating fine beforehand. That night and the next day, she stopped eating her favorite stuff. She has since started eating again, but strangely not the stuff she loved the morning before the shot. Loss of appetite is supposed to subside pretty quickly. I think she got the shot in her right leg and was sensitive for a day. I can only imagine what three shots feels like. If you don't see improvement quickly, you should probably get back to the vet.

Everything I've ever seen says no to aspirin, so I think you're doing the right think by erring on the side of caution.

Jason
 
The only time I have heard of a cat prescribed aspirin was when a friend had a cat in heart failure. She gave 1/2 of an 80 mg aspirin every 3rd day. I wouldn't do it for vaccine soreness. Buddha may also be feeling a bit sick, which is not unusual after receiving vaccines. It should clear in a day or two.

I think it is better to give vaccines in the extremities in case a vaccine associated sarcoma arises at the vaccination site. In the worst case scenario, a sarcoma can be removed with the limb, but a cancer in the trunk cannot.

I think canned tuna would be a good option as a little treat to get him eating.
 
I just checked on Buddha. I handfed him the last tiny bit of old chicken. He's purring, but didn't get up. Should I encourage him to move around on the theory that not moving will only increase the stiffness and soreness? His bg is in the 300s (maybe elevated because of pain?) so I'm not going to worry about hypoglycemia today.

Sigh. We saw a new vet yesterday. I LOVED her. She was great. Awesome. Was willing to talk to me like I had valuable thoughts and opinions and was intelligent. Maybe I can just make sure that someone else always administers the shots ...
 
Tuna is fine to give...you can also use the tuna water on his regular food to try to tempt him to eat. If he will eat boiled chicken, that's fine...you probably just need to get him past today, so whatever works to get some food into him.

I don't think I would try to make him move around...I would let him rest. I don't think movement will help soreness from injections....just my opinion. If it's like a flu shot in people, movement doesn't help the soreness, it just reminds you that it hurts! He probably just needs a day to rest and be spoiled by mom....poor Buddha!

I'm glad you liked the vet...it's great to have a vet you feel you can talk to and work with, yay! It may not have anything to do with how she gave the shots, just his reaction to them. In light of his reaction, you might want to split up the shots into two visits when he needs multiple vaccines in the future, to make it easier on him...just something to consider.
 
I would say 1 81 mg aspirin is too much. My cat has a heart problem and to try to prevent blood clots I give him 1/5 of an 81 mg aspirin every 3 or 4 days. In general, aspirin is not recommended for kitty's pain.
 
I have only heard of aspirin being given to cats for heart problems. The vaccines being given in the legs is the new protocol regarding VAS. I know with the horses, they recommend exercises if they react to the vaccines. Hope this helps.
 
He improved by midday! Thanks for asking. It was scary in the morning though. Poor kitty. I never did give aspirin. He ate 2/3 of his normal amount yesterday, which I thought was fine. And he's moving around some. He's not a terribly active cat. Some days he sleeps, on others he's into mischief.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top