? 4/13 Binie - late am shot due to low bg and not eating

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-10-binie-amps-247-8-78-earned-a-reduction.288637/

Good morning,

I am a bit lost because I don't understand what is going on. On wednesday evening I reduced the dose from 2,75 to 2,5, even though I am still in doubt if she earned the reduction because the 78 was only on Libre. On thursday she dropped again and when she was 80 on the libre I managed to get a blood test which was 113. So maybe she did not earn it. Anyhow I stayed with 2,5 because every time she went low I brought her up with food so I will not know for sure, how low it would have went and she had quite active cycles the last days. Thursday night she was relatively low on the libre again (84 with arrow pointing downward) but she did not let me test. She bounced very quickly and her bg went up again without me feeding her.

Last night it was all pink and yellow and she only started to go down at +11. She didn't eat at night at all which is unusual. Usually I store away her food at 5 am so I can feed and inject at 7 am but today I didn't do it because I saw she did not eat. At 7 I tried to encourage her and offerd her different kinds of food. Her usual low carb food she was only sniffing and then turning her head away. I could manage to give her some of her old royal canin kibble which she ate in a decent amount. I waited and the bg went a bit up around 140-150 and stayed there for quite some time.

After almost three hours the arrow was trending up and when she was around 230 I decided to try to feed again. Still no interest in her food but she took again something of the old kibble. Being unsure how she eats during the day I injected 1,25 IE to give her something but to not run into a problem is she stops eating at all.

I will shop some different low carb food for her today. Sometimes she has more appetite if I switch the brand/taste.

I am really confused how to go on from here. Why is she trending down so late and why do I see these big and fast drops again? And I have to find out, why she is not eating. I always heard it is better to give "bad" food instead of her not eating at all. But somehow I suspect that she found out that she gets this delicious high carb food if she rejects the other. Yesterday evening she was eating properly by the way but during the day it was also a struggle.

I would appreciate any advice how to go on from here! Thank you so much!

Update: +3,5 she ate her normal kibble again and seemed hungry. No wet food. I will go shop something else and see how she does in the evening. The bg is yellow, slightly going down.

Update: in + 8 the bg is shooting up rapidly. I will inject at 11.5 to wiggle the time back a bit.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top