4/13 Arnie AMPS 321 +5 192 +8 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

arniesdad

Member Since 2009
Just back from the vets. He got a thorough exam and bloodwork done. Won't know the results from that until tomorrow. His ears were loaded with wax and she said he did have a very mild ear infection. Gave me drops to put in his ears twice a day for 10 days and they cleaned them out real good. Also got his nails trimmed and urinalysis. She also told me to give him half a 10mg pepcid AC twice a day as it could be a pancreas problem. Hopefully the blood tests will all come out good. She also said it would be OK to increase his dose in a few days if there is no improvement so we will see.
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

Glad to hear Arnie went to the Vets ......paws and fingers crossed for all good results!

Sherry & Zoe

ETA: misspellings :roll:
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

Aww, hope the ear infection is causing these numbers and the drops get him all better real soon.

Come on Arnie, get down off the 3rd floor!
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

Do you happen to know if there are steroids in the ear drops? Most of them do contain a steroid. You could check with your vet to see if there's an alternative if they do, in fact, contain a steroid, or you may need to increase Arnie's dose to compensate. You'll have to see what the numbers look like.
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

wondering about steroids in ear drops too.

re: pepcid, 5 mg per dose, twice a day, sounds too high for a cat. is he a big cat? suggest you post on health for views. we're used to giving 2.5 mg per dose (that's 1/4 of a 10 mg pill) once a day, or at the most, twice a day.

eta: pancreas problem? is he off his food??
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

WCF and Meowzi said:
wondering about steroids in ear drops too.

re: pepcid, 5 mg per dose, twice a day, sounds too high for a cat. is he a big cat? suggest you post on health for views. we're used to giving 2.5 mg per dose (that's 1/4 of a 10 mg pill) once a day, or at the most, twice a day.

eta: pancreas problem? is he off his food??
Just chimming in here..I dont believe Arnie was having any problen with eating his food. Bob said all 5 ps in place. The only thing off was a head shake one day and his numbers.
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie AMPS 321

Hope those numbers come down as his ears clear up. Sending good thoughts for all his tests to come back great!
 
Well Well..OMG..Now What? :lol: To answer some questions. Yes Arnie is a BIG cat (20LBS) and NO the ear drops do not contain any steroids. The vet said most do but the ones she gave me do not. 5MG of Pepcid AC twice a day is fine for him, he was on that dose once before a long time ago. In fact I still had some left in the closet.

Now PROBLEM: He slowed down eating yesterday, he would eat half his food and walk away and eat the other half later. NOT LIKE HIM!! Now today when I brought him home from the vets he ate half and left the other half all day. He didn't even get his afternoon feeding because mornings was still there. After I just checked him and saw the 90 I carried him over and set him in front of his dish and he ate the rest of the morning food...I hope he does not continue to drop until the PMPS or I won't know what to give him if any. If he starts going back up but isn't too high I guess I will go with a reduced dose of 1.0. NEED ADVICE HERE!!! I can't believe he is dropping like this just from having his ears cleaned and the drops but MAYBE all it was..was the ear infection??? The GOOD thing is that I will be home with him tonight all night and tomorrow too!!

:razz: :thumbup
 
infections can start to clear pretty quickly once antibiotics are on board. Also, some cats (like Lucy) drop lower instead of going higher when they have vet stress. Could be he's dropping because of stress. Keep an eye on him, though, and get some more tests tonight.

I hope that's all it was!
 
Re: 4/13 Arnie PMPS 100

A nice even 100 so he got a nice even 1.0 dose tonight. :razz:

Insulin in the blood...drops in the ears...pepcid in the tummy...lookin like a Champ with the numbers back down! :lol: :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top