4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214 +4 213 +5 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Hello all. He almost had a blue this morning, but it was still a yellow, so we did a dose increase from 1.0u to 1.25u nailbite_smile

I have been keeping my eye on him and happen to catch him before he sank below 50 and gave him a tad of some HC gravy & a drop of Karo with 1 tbsp each of some Tiki Cat Puka Chicken and SD Turkey & Giblets all mixed together. His +4 was 54 and his +4.5 was 58, I am going to hold off on a snack until I see what his +5 will look like.

I hope that this dose increase will not cause his numbers to keep sliding down by tomorrow evening. I have to work from 4 to close and no one to watch him. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler AMPS 204 Dose increase +3 97 +4 54 +4.5 58 +5

Well, as I expected, he is dropping still, as he has not hit nadir for this dose. I am giving him more HC Gravy & Karo
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler AMPS 204 Dose increase +3 97 +4 54 +4.5 58 +5

Tyler slow it down a little! Good thing you're home today Brian. :shock:

I think you'll be taking him back down to 1u tonight. I think this could actually be the bounce breaking and that 1 might even be too much, since the 1.25 is too new a dose to have this effect. I'm sure someone more experienced will be along at some point today with dose advice.
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecrease +3 97 +4 54 +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63

Thank's Nikki's Mom.

Hopefully, someone will have more experienced advice for us today! I wasn't sure what to think with those numbers so low. But he rose to 63 @ +5.5, so that's good, but I will take his +6 and see where he's headed. I don't know what to think! Any advise as the day moves along is appreciated!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +3 97 +4 54 +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +

+6 was 72, I think I am out of the woods for this cycle. I re-read the NDW page and saw that some cats react instantly to a dose increase, anyone here think that is Tyler? His AMPS was 204, and that is pretty much on the cusp of a blue! So I don't know. I don't know. I don't know...

Any advice?
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +3 97 +4 54 +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +

Let's see where he is at PMPS Brian

If he bounces high (like into the 300's), we'd suggest something different than if he's still in blues, yellows (or greens!)

Way to go keeping him safe too! You're doing great!

Remember...test for 2 hours after his last food to make sure he doesn't drop back down

Edited to add....We all TOTALLY understand that the first few times you get those lower numbers, it's very easy to panic! We've ALL done it! The only "problem" is that this dose took him into great numbers...but since you fed the HC+Karo before he dropped below 50, we won't know if he would have dropped below 50 or not. As long as they're at or above 50, you can try giving a little of their regular low carb food and see if you can get them "surfing". (and yes, it can be nerve-wracking to have a cat surf in the 50's, but as long as you're home and able to test, it's safe..You are always in control if you are testing!)

Reductions are earned by dropping below 50...so we don't know for sure if he would have dropped below or not, but I'm glad you were home today and able to test. You can only learn by trial and error what works best for Tyler since ECID!

And yes...sometimes flat yellow cycles like he's been having will lead to a drop...but there's just no way to know for sure until you learn more about how Tyler reacts. That's why I was concerned that if you did try the increase, you do it today so you had the weekend to test and figure out what would be best for him next week
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

Thanks, Chris! I thought I was being awesome by staying ahead of dropping below the 50... but the way you explained the "surfing" right there, I now get it... LIGHT BULB!!! hahaha

Well, I had to leave to go buy enough canned cat food for everyone near the checkout line to peg me for the crazy cat lady dude! :roll:

I got home and got his +8.5 and it was a noice cool blue 114... these numbers I like, but I'd be willing to bet that he is going to bounce like a mofo later, that seems to be what he has been doing every time we see mid greens... I don't have a crystal ball, so we'll just have to wait and see.

Also a bummer because, I've been invited to go see a movie, and can't go because they want to go around nadir and I can't risk it because of my goodest buddy. Don't get me wrong, he's totally worth it!!!

But now I know how he feels... he gets to look outside at all the other kitties, but can't go play with them... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

hmmm, boy am i torn. i don't know if this was a bounce clearing but it took slightly more than 72 hrs. typically they resolve in 3 days or less, which is why i suggested he might go lower last night, but cats don't read the manual, so perhaps he's taking slightly more than 3 days.

or, was he very responsive to the dose increase?

i wouldn't worry about tomorrow night yet.

my inclination would be to hold this dose and see if you can get some more great cycles out of it. plus i think your comment about him possibly bouncing is a pretty likely scenario. let's see what other's suggest about it.
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

Hi Brian:

No dose advice from me. I just wanted to check in and wish you and Tyler well. When you're new at this, those low greens can scare the $#!# out of you, but you'll get used to them and learn how to handle them. You're doing a wonderful job, and I don't think you're a crazy cat dude! You're just a man who cares about his best friend more than himself. Great quality! :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

I would tend to hold the dose as well. ECID is correct and some cats can be overly dramatic on a bounce clearing cycle and then settle into higher numbers. I'd see how he does the next few cycles.

BTW, new dose wonkiness would only refer to higher numbers from increases. Lower numbers would not constitute NDW; likewise we don't see NDW on dose reductions (but you didn't ask that....just thought I'd toss it in).

One thing I'd like to also add is that when they are clearing a bounce and coming down fast, sometimes you need a little more than LC to get them stopped but once they stop, if they are above 50, it would be good then to do as Chris suggested and use LC to see if they will surf.

Great job, Brian!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

Thanks ladies!

About the NDW, I just re-read it to know what to expect, and noticed that it says that some cats can react immediately to a new dose... I don't know, I don't know!!! He was almost blue this morning for AMPS, but no cigar. I don't know if he was taking longer to come off of a bounce, or what... so, I went with the increased dose this morning, and boom... green dynamite!!! I hope the good Captain can ride a low blue/high green wave from this new dose for a good while and surf it until we can go back to 1.0u!!! That'd be great! But we play it by ear around here... even though Tyler just gave me a dirty look for that joke, I thought it was kinda funny... but he says his ears hurt from the hundred-n-fiddy pokes I did to his little ears today. Poor fella!

Well, I am gonna study some. I have to make a video for psychology and since we can pick any topic from the text, I am going with classic conditioning, kind of like Pavlov's Dog. The text actually helped me get Tyler to look forward to his shots, so the video will be starring Mr. Tyler, myself and a few friends. I hope it turns out as good as I have it planned out in my head! Since it will be related to Tyler's diabetes, I will share it if it's not atrocious. It is due the Monday after next!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

The way I count the cycles, this would have been the 6th cycle from your last blue. (I don't count the cycle where the numbers drop -- the AM cycle on 4/9. I'd count the PM cycle as the 1st cycle so the current cycle is #6.) Tyler was right on schedule. I'd hold on to that piece of data and in the future, hold off on a dose increase until you're sure he's cleared the bounce.
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +4.5 58 +5 50 +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 11

Thanks Sienne! So what should I do? People are saying to hold the 1.25u dose. Tyler saw some low numbers on 1.0u, but seemed to bounce every time, and recovery times varied... Also when his numbers would drop, they would drop too fast, seemingly triggering bounce after bounce...

Yesterday, I was told it'd be best to raise him to 1.25... I really am confused after reading your post. I'm a little nervous about the coming days if he's on 1.25u because I can't be here all the time!!! Yikes! I'm scared!!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas +5.5 63 +6 72 +8.5 114 +11.5 210

ok everyone, PMPS is minutes away. I checked him at +11.5 and got a 210 with the new meter, I went from the Relion Confirm to the Prime. I like the confirm better, but I guess most people do, that is why the strips cost twice as much!

I guess I am holding the dose increase and am going to see where this puts him for the evening. I hope that we have safe greens and don't even come close to going below 50.

Thank you all for your advice and support. we appreciate it!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 186 confirm 199 prime

Okie Dokie... we just shot 1.25u for the second time. Well, I hope my buddy holds on tight to his board, I am trying to get him up and surfing this evening.

I wish I knew which meter was more accurate!!! The prime is 13 points higher than the confirm. Any experienced users that have used both, please chime in!!! I'm so used to the confirm, I don't know how to handle that much of a change, could this spell danger if numbers go lower with one or the other? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 186 confirm 199 prime

You're going to hear this so much you could puke, but here goes....those numbers are the same when you figure in the 20% meter variance that the FDA allows, so don't sweat it

I agree with the "hold the dose" crowd tonight....let's see what the 1.25 will do!

I'd make sure to get a +2 ....that can give you a good idea of where he might be headed later in the cycle

Good day for you and Tyler, Brian!!

And we LOVE our crazy cat dudes around here!!

With the meters, it's just important that you are consistent....If you use the Confirm, keep using it...if using the Prime, only use that (unless for example one of them decides to quit working on you)

I use the Prime, but just did a test (3 times) on China and got the E-13 error all 3 times, so I switched to the Confirm...I'd rather have stuck with the Prime since all her other numbers are on the Prime, but she was getting a little EAR-itated with my poking
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 186 confirm 199 prime

Hey Brian,

No dose advice from me - the experienced users have your back on that one. I just wanted to say that I'm really looking forward to seeing your class video - I'm a college psych instructor. I can definitely see lots of classical conditioning (and operant conditioning) involved in the FD dance! :-D

Hope Tyler surfs safely for you tonight.
Shelly
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 186 confirm 199 prime

Thanks Chris, we are holding the new dose! I want to switch to the Prime because it is cheaper, so I just wanted to compare the two. But thanks! I think I am going with the prime from here on out, I will miss the beep that the confirm had, but for half the cost, I already like the prime better!!!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 186 confirm 199 prime

ForJersey said:
Hey Brian,

I just wanted to say that I'm really looking forward to seeing your class video - I'm a college psych instructor. I can definitely see lots of classical conditioning (and operant conditioning) involved in the FD dance!

Thanks, Shelly! I hope I can bring my vision of it into fruition! If so, it will be hilarious!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214

ok, his +3 was taken with ReliOn Prime. All morning doses with Confirm.

His +3 may be altered due to the fact that I had my sliding glass door open so he could hear the crickets, and then came the outside stray that hangs around. So Tyler was giving him quite a talkin' to and may have got him all worked up. So his sugar could be higher due to that.... time will tell :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214 +4 213

Well, his +4 was 213 which was only one point lower than his +3.

I'm going to give his poor little ears a break this evening. I'll get him one more time before bed, but I bet his liver has already initiated a boingy-boing.

Le Sigh... I wanted him to have lower numbers tonight but I did laundry today and the patience pants are clean, so I'll slip'em on for the evening...
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214 +4 213

i would just pick one meter and stick to it. i also never rechecked tests unless the number seemed really out of context or unbelievable - something like going from 40 to 400 in an hour. trying to recheck or be certain on what the numbers were would've made me crazy. i just accepted numbers at their face value, didn't worry about any of it.

i would've held the 1.25 dose tonight. sometimes getting a little more insulin in can bring down those higher numbers. if you're seeing changes when you head back to work and are nervous about leaving him, you can always reduce the dose then.

can you get try doing frozen catfood-sickles so that something could be left for him in the hours between when you go to work and when you come home to check him? it would just be nice to have some way to get him food around +3 and +4. I'd do it and try them out while you are home and see how long it takes them to be edible to him and then how long they last.

i'd love to see your video when it's done too! sounds fascinating!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214 +4 213

Thanks, Miss Julie!

I can try freezing the food stuffs to see how that works, it sounds like a good idea, thanks! So this will change how much they get fed at lunch time? Any suggestions? I feed 1 can FF at AM & PM doses and usually give 1/2 can of FF at lunch and bedtime. So if I freeze some, should I take away from the breakfast or the lunch time meal to add the frozen foods...

I did hold the new dose, and am switched to the Relion Prime. No take backs!!! We started the 1.25 and are standing our ground with it. As for the meter, thanks to all the responses! We are saving the Confirm as a backer-upper only. I will probably buy a 50 strip container as a back up when I move in two months. I plan on having at least one month's supplies stocked up while I get settled.

Thank you all. This morning was a wild ride, but tomorrow is a new day!
 
Re: 4/12 Tyler Dosecreas PMPS 199 +3 214 +4 213

i'm just thinking of having it ready as a back up plan for the time in the future when you see a low preshot and are trying to figure out what to do. that day will no doubt come. so i think i'd freeze some low carb in either muffin pans or ice cube trays and try them out. i'd probably take 1 can of the lc, mix it with 1/2 can of water and freeze it in a couple of "pucks."

you wouldn't want to give him an extra 1/2 can every day, but if you're doing it because you're anticipating he might need it to hold him til you get home, i think extra food is ok. if he waits to eat the frozen til it's thawed, ie doesn't snarf it down the second you put it down, then it might be a good idea to freeze some high carb too - but don't use that as a trial to see if he'll eat it, just try out the lc on him. some cats will attack the frozen cube and eat it right away. if he does that, you'll know you can't count on him leaving it until mid-morning, so then a plan B needs to be thought of.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top