4/12 Thomas AMPS 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
Gave 1/2 unit and 1 can of Friskies (the low carb from Janet and Binky's list).

His numbers appear to be creeping up again. He is also acting like starving Thomas. This is how he acted when we first found out he had diabetes. He was always starving but eating like a pig and losing weight.

I know you aren't supposed to adjust the insulin by highs, but I won't be able to get the lows until this weekend. Should I bump up to 1 unit? Or wait it out?

Sonya
 
Sonya said:
Gave 1/2 unit and 1 can of Friskies (the low carb from Janet and Binky's list).

His numbers appear to be creeping up again. He is also acting like starving Thomas. This is how he acted when we first found out he had diabetes. He was always starving but eating like a pig and losing weight.

I know you aren't supposed to adjust the insulin by highs, but I won't be able to get the lows until this weekend. Should I bump up to 1 unit? Or wait it out?

Sonya

Sonya,
It's best to give each dose change a minimum of 4 shots / 4 cycles / 2 days, just to be sure it's settled. I know it's hard to wait, but it will go by fast. Look to Thomas and how he is acting for guidance and do not base your doses on the ps numbers....

I think alot of people end up taking their cats to the vet for eating more but losing weight, and they learn their cat is diabetic. The reason is that Thomas is not able to use the food he is eating to extract the nutrients he needs, so his body asks for more. Once he is at a good dose for him, you will see his appetite drop off to his normal amount. My Oliver was up to 30oz a day and dropped to closer to 10oz per day when he was regulated. You can give him more food, but see if you can space out the food. If you are feeding just a few meals, he may seem starving when you finally give a meal. Many people use auto feeders as you can spread out the total daily food into 5 meals for him.
Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder

So give the boy a bit more food, and wait at least till tomorrow morn and that will be cycle 5 so if he is still high, you can go up to the 1u and hold it again for 4 shots, OK?
How does that sound?
 
Hi Sonya!
Just stopping by to see how things are going.

Are you thinking of raising the dose a smidge and then doing a curve, or doing a curve first?
It's a wonder what Thomas' nadir was last night, or if he just stayed high/flat. confused_cat

Hows the hunt for a timed feeder and they syringes?

TGIF, right?!?! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top