4/12, SIUJIM amps (347) +5 (257), +9 (342), pmps (401)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member
the long history info is in the spreadsheet.
speadsheet at signature but also copy here also, as some of you asked...
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... yamc&hl=en

3/25 AMPS (373); +4 (342); +9 (396); PMPS (423)
4/3 amps (360) +2 (372) +4(320) + 6 (288) +8 (378) (whole day in clinic, eating very little)
4/4 ams (432) +6 (414) +10 (urine 200mg) pmps (352)
4/5 amps (432), +6 (347)
4/6 amps (468)

i let her ears rest for a few days as she was very stressful after the whole day stay in clinic and very depressed.
and she is better. regained weight also. less sacred.

4/11 amps (392) +4 (351), +9 (360), pmps (363)

4/12, amps (347) +5 (257), +9 (342), pmps (401)

thx.
 
Good job in getting the spreadsheet set up!

I have a question - some days you test urine and some days you test blood. Can you let us know why you don't do blood only? One of the people here did urine only in the beginning - I'll try to get her to come over to your "condo" (thread).

I'm hoping that with the spreadsheet some of the dosing people can help you now.
 
I am new to Lantus myself, but I wanted to say Hi. I looked at your spreadsheet and it seems to me that if you tested consistently for a few more days you would have enough data to increase Siujim's insulin dose. As you can see on your spreadsheet, you are getting more accurate glucose readings from the blood testing.

I'm glad Siujim seems to be feeling better and is gaining weight. I hope she continues to feel good.
 
the spreadsheet is done 3wks ago. have explained it already in the spreadsheet and in previous mail.
because my cat is very stressful pinning ears.
so what i do is test urine, if urine goes to normal, then i will test blood to play safe.

usually, iw ill do it 2-3 days once every 2 weeks, or in a month, which is most people's practice in hong kong.

i understand one needs more blood test figures for that.
but i can't do it as my cat really hates it and stress makes her worse.
so i am now kinda making a balance.

thx

Boo said:
Good job in getting the spreadsheet set up!

I have a question - some days you test urine and some days you test blood. Can you let us know why you don't do blood only? One of the people here did urine only in the beginning - I'll try to get her to come over to your "condo" (thread).

I'm hoping that with the spreadsheet some of the dosing people can help you now.
 
I posted this in your condo from 4/4:
Sienne & Gabby said:
There is a difference between urine and blood glucose testing. Blood glucose (BG) gives you almost instantaneous information about how various factors influence BG. Because urine is involved in the body's waste production, food and all of those other factors have to be metabolized and the glucose reading that you are getting is several hours old. As a result, if Suijum's numbers are low due to insulin you may be missing that information since the tests do not reflect what is going on at the moment. In addition, a urine glucose test does not give you important information about low blood glucose levels, as glucose is only found in the urine when the blood glucose level is above 10 mmol/L. That is, a negative urine glucose test may be the result of a normal blood glucose level or a dangerously low blood glucose level, with the urine glucose test unable to differentiate between the 2 situations.

If you are relying on urine tests at a normal level, your cat's BG could actually be dangerously low and have been low for several hours. Using urine glucose testing as your basic means of evaluating insulin dosing is at best, risky. If Siujum has sensitive ears, there are some members here who will use paw pads for testing.
 
sun said:
so what i do is test urine, if urine goes to normal, then i will test blood to play safe.

there is a risk to that, in that if siujim's BG drops very sharply, her urine could still test positive for glucose if the glucose has not cleared out entirely yet. glucose stays in her urine until she empties her bladder. so there is a chance you may not catch a low BG if you primarily rely on urine testing. blood tests are more timely, which is why the majority of ppl here use the glucometer. there are just too many variables in play with urine testing.

case in point - we've established, through repeated testing w/ both glucometer and urine test strips, that my meowzi's renal threshold is around 240. above that, she starts spilling glucose in her urine. but we have had occasions where she drops sharply from the high 200s above her renal threshold, to the mid- to high-100s (usually rapid drops), and has still tested positive on the urine test strip. we figure that this is because she hadn't had a chance to empty her bladder yet. after she does, the next urine test is negative, consistent with the lower BG that had already occurred.

have you seen any posts on the health forum on testing tips? they could help make testing less stressful for siujim and yourself. lots of kitties come by themselves for testing - meowzi would remind us if we're late (it's not really the test she wants, it's the treats and kisses and praises that follow) so it's something that can be learned by both kitty and bean. it does take practice and patience, so it may not happen overnight.
 
Hi! I saw you on lantus & someone asked me to check out your condo..
I urine tested my cat Moonie for 11 months when we first came, because she would fight like a demon, everytime I tried to bg test.
The urine testing is good if that's the only way for you, but I have to tell you, that the urine sits in the bladder for 3-5 hours. So the reading you get at that moment, is from 3-5 hours ago, not the current bg..Moonie might have been in remission already, if I had been bg testing her at that time--Please Please keep trying to bg test, it's the only true reading....
 
i know this perfectly well.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I posted this in your condo from 4/4:
Sienne & Gabby said:
There is a difference between urine and blood glucose testing. Blood glucose (BG) gives you almost instantaneous information about how various factors influence BG. Because urine is involved in the body's waste production, food and all of those other factors have to be metabolized and the glucose reading that you are getting is several hours old. As a result, if Suijum's numbers are low due to insulin you may be missing that information since the tests do not reflect what is going on at the moment. In addition, a urine glucose test does not give you important information about low blood glucose levels, as glucose is only found in the urine when the blood glucose level is above 10 mmol/L. That is, a negative urine glucose test may be the result of a normal blood glucose level or a dangerously low blood glucose level, with the urine glucose test unable to differentiate between the 2 situations.

If you are relying on urine tests at a normal level, your cat's BG could actually be dangerously low and have been low for several hours. Using urine glucose testing as your basic means of evaluating insulin dosing is at best, risky. If Siujum has sensitive ears, there are some members here who will use paw pads for testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top