Re: 4/12 Rusty AMPS 229 +4 299, PMPS 210. Dx: Pancreatitis
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi again,
Well, I guess it's more than a hairball! His spec fPL came back positive for Pancreatitis. The vet was surprised. She didn't see it indicated in the other values (urinalysis had to be sent out and will not be back until Saturday). She complimented me on "knowing thy cat" and for requesting the spec fPL. She would not have done it as a routine matter with a cat who looked so good, and she said she really learned something today.
So where are we? The vet thinks Rusty's Pancreatitis is very mild, but she wants us to keep close tabs on it. I think the first thing I will do is to change his everyday food from Wellness Turkey to Merrick's BG Turkey. It is much higher in protein and much lower in fat than Wellness. He doesn't like it as well, but he eats it. It's going to be harder to get the required number of calories into him, since BG turkey is only 151 kcal per 5.5 oz. can, whereas Wellness turkey is 218. But the % of calories from protein in Wellness is 31%, whereas in BG it is 65% (% of calories from fat in Wellness is 65%, whereas in BG it is 34%)--almost exact opposites! Carbs are 4% in Wellness and 1% in BG. I wonder what the percentages are in the "new" FF T&G? I have a question in to By Nature, but haven't received a reply yet (will call them tomorrow).
I need to know whether the pancreatitis inhibits the pancreas from producing insulin. If Rusty's pancreas was producing even just a little insulin, the pancreatitis may be disrupting this and this may account for why his bgs are higher. Should I raise his insulin dose??
I forgot to ask about pain medication. I'll bring this up when I go back to get the rest of the test results. Should I ask for buprenorphine? Is it difficult to administer? Help!
That's it for now. Tomorrow I'll put the new values on the Labs chart in Rusty's SS. Right now I just want to watch TV!
Thanks for your good thoughts. Please continue them!
Ella & Rusty
p.s. OMG, I just saw that BigMac has passed. Oh, I am so very sorry. And here I was just blithely writing about our own problem.
Pancreatitis is VERY PAINFUL. If you did not get pain meds from your vet, I am shocked. Please get some buprenex if you don't have some at home.
The other two items to keep on hand would be pepcid and especially fluids.
Did you vet give you fluids to give at home? If not, get a fluids kit when you you get the buprenex.
Ask the vet what was the result number for pancreatitis.... mild does not cut it.
0 to 3.5 is negative, I think 3.6 to 4.0 is a grey area and above that is for sure positive.
My Oliver was always just under the 4.0, so I gave him small amounts of fluids.
My Shadoe was always in the teens and had fairly regular attacks. I gave her pepcid BID and most definitely fluids and bupe for the few days following her attacks.
Because her issues were frequent, my vet had me start giving her B12 shots weekly for the pancreas inflammation. After starting the shots, she had only one attack in months.
Quite often, you may see higher BG, lip licking, hiding, and meatloafing when having an attack/flair. By giving pepcid when you see lip licking, you can help the upset stomach and if still acting 'off', a bit of fluids and a small amount of bupe will help.
Pepcid, pain meds, and fluids, are all needed to treat pancreatitis.
If you do not have all 3 on hand, you need to get them.
ETA: snap test only positive or negative? I think I prefer the number to know how bad it is?