4/12 Rusty #2 AMPS 379; +3 220; +6 100; +9 62/39; +11 149; PMPS 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

SantaCruzSPCA

Member Since 2017
It's looking like he just earned a reduction! I tested twice at +9 and got 62 and 39!!!! Yikes! Just gave him his normal LC +9 meal (1/4 can Friskies) and I'll test again in 20-30 min. Given these numbers I suspect he went low on the evening of the 10th and that's why yesterday's numbers were so high. @Wendy&Neko Should I drop from 2.5 to 2u's tonight?
 
39 on an AlphaTrak is really low. It's about time for that next test already, but if he hasn't come up over 68 then I'd give him something with more carbs than his LC meal. Please also put the 39 in the subject line, that will get some more eyes on the situation quickly if need be.
 
Phew! Yeah, the variation there and the uncertainty was the only reason I didn't have you grabbing the high-carb immediately! 62 is still low, of course, but not as "yikes!!!!" as 39 on an AT.

Carry on!
 
Phew! Yeah, the variation there and the uncertainty was the only reason I didn't have you grabbing the high-carb immediately! 62 is still low, of course, but not as "yikes!!!!" as 39 on an AT.

Carry on!

The variation drives me crazy on this thing! When I saw the 39 I about fainted and went running into the kitchen for food, lol. Yes, even the 62 got my blood rushing. Thank you for being there! <3
 
:nailbiting: Oh my! I would add that 39 to your spreadsheet along with the 62. That is a scary number on an Alpha Trak. Have you gotten any ketone tests in today? How is he acting? Yesterday, I think you said he was not his normal self or something like that. He is eating well, as always?
 
:nailbiting: Oh my! I would add that 39 to your spreadsheet along with the 62. That is a scary number on an Alpha Trak. Have you gotten any ketone tests in today? How is he acting? Yesterday, I think you said he was not his normal self or something like that. He is eating well, as always?

Added, thanks for that suggestion. No ketone test today. He's at a normal energy level today, no more weird tears, and his appetite is still great. Should I test again soon to make sure he's continuing to rise? I hope he's at a shootable number tonight!
 
I'd probably test in 30mins, just to be sure, but he should be fine now-- it's late enough in the cycle that you wouldn't expect a lot more Lantus action (other than a possible little "double dip" at the end) pulling him down.
 
He definitely did earn a dose reduction, today. I'd like to say to go with the 2.0 starting tonight (as long as he's at a shootable number) because of that 39 on an Alpha Trak, and you not being able to monitor at night time, but there is the possible Trace ketones yesterday to contend with.
Let's see what others have to say. I'm glad he's eating. Did he get fluids this morning?
 
I agree with Dyana on the 2.0 unit dose. Although we normally reduce by 0.25 units at a time, that 39 is too low and I think we are still playing catch up with his reduced dose needs due to the transition to wet food.

By the way, was Rusty showing any signs of hypo?
 
He definitely did earn a dose reduction, today. I'd like to say to go with the 2.0 starting tonight (as long as he's at a shootable number) because of that 39 on an Alpha Trak, and you not being able to monitor at night time, but there is the possible Trace ketones yesterday to contend with.
Let's see what others have to say. I'm glad he's eating. Did he get fluids this morning?

I was just able to get a ketone test and it was neg. He did not get fluids today. He's eating 100% of his meals no problem.

I agree with Dyana on the 2.0 unit dose. Although we normally reduce by 0.25 units at a time, that 39 is too low and I think we are still playing catch up with his reduced dose needs due to the transition to wet food.

By the way, was Rusty showing any signs of hypo?

No signs of hypo as far as I could tell. He certainly cleaned his bowl a little more quickly, but then again, he always eats his smaller meals with gusto. What exactly would be the first signs of a hypo? From what I remember reading... lethary, unbalanced/unsteady movement and obviously seizure and the horrible stuff can come quickly.

I will reduce to 2 u's tonight. Thanks for the input. :)
 
Good to see Rusty had no symptoms. From the How to Treat Hypos note:

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness
 
Good to see Rusty had no symptoms. From the How to Treat Hypos note:

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness

Other than being hungry, he was not doing any of the above. *Thank goodness* No shaking/shivering and was able to jumped down two layers of a cat tree with ease to eat his food. I fully expect a bounce tonight, which makes me feel a little more comfortable knowing he'll be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top