4/12 Rudy 319, +2.5 304, +3.5 322, +6.5 341 PMPS 357, +3 253 / Civvie update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
Nothing much to report. Rudy had his 2nd cycle at 3.75 units this morning. (That .25 extra sure is hard to measure.) He seems fine. Continuing his reclaimed cat behaviors of bathing, snoozing on the windowsill and seeking out my lap. We'll see how the day goes.

With a little luck his Sphynx sister will be sprung from the ICU later today. Will be nice to have my herd back together. :)

Yesterday's post:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...crease-civvie-update-too.176176/#post-1938077
 
Hi. Can someone look at Rudy's ss and let me know if he's bouncing? I think this is what a bounce looks like.
 
Fantastic news that Peau is coming home! :bighug:

The SS is missing the dose for the AM, but I'm guessing it was also 3.75. Rudy could be bouncing. His +2 last night was lower than his preshot so he probably had an active cycle and got down into some nice yellows at least. But he could also be experiencing some NDW or New Dose Wonkiness. It's temporary.
 
Fantastic news that Peau is coming home! :bighug:

The SS is missing the dose for the AM, but I'm guessing it was also 3.75. Rudy could be bouncing. His +2 last night was lower than his preshot so he probably had an active cycle and got down into some nice yellows at least. But he could also be experiencing some NDW or New Dose Wonkiness. It's temporary.

Yes. It was 3.75. I just fixed his ss. As long as this is normal and temporary - we're good. Thanks for the quick reply.

Peau is home and settling in nicely. :)
 
Not sure if it's ok to post photos of civvies, but since everyone has been wishing Peau well - here she is on her way home today. :)
 

Attachments

  • 20170412_142739.jpg
    20170412_142739.jpg
    64.1 KB · Views: 47
Aww, she's beautiful! She's a Sphynx, right? I love them, they are so cool.She looks wonderfully alert, hope she's feeling tons better now! :bighug:
 
Aww, she's beautiful! She's a Sphinx, right? I love them, they are so cool.She looks wonderfully alert, hope she's feeling tons better now! :bighug:

Yes. She's a Sphynx. Super sweet to everyone she meets. She's feeling much better after her stay in the hospital. I'm sure being home helps too. Now I get to manage a diabetic and a heart patient. Both newly diagnosed. I feel like I'm running a pet nursing home here. :)
 
Yes. She's a Sphynx. Super sweet to everyone she meets. She's feeling much better after her stay in the hospital. I'm sure being home helps too. Now I get to manage a diabetic and a heart patient. Both newly diagnosed. I feel like I'm running a pet nursing home here. :)
I feel for you! I have a 5-yr-old Bengal who we have to monitor for HCM since he has a heart murmur, and Bengals are so incredibly prone to HCM. He has to have regular echos to stay on top of it. I also have a 3 yr-old Bengal, no murmur and hopefully never will have!
 
I feel for you! I have a 5-yr-old Bengal who we have to monitor for HCM since he has a heart murmur, and Bengals are so incredibly prone to HCM. He has to have regular echos to stay on top of it. I also have a 3 yr-old Bengal, no murmur and hopefully never will have!

Bengals are beaitiful. Little nutty too. I like that. I'm glad he's healthy and doing well. :)

Sphynxes are prone to HCM too. She was diagnosed with both HCM and CHF. Poor girl was in respiratory distress Monday night, so off we went to the ER. She seems to be back to her usual self now that she's home. She doesn't even mind me pilling her. Both of my patients are actually very easy to treat. Thank goodness.
 
Squallie, my diabetic, is a wonderful patient. Khoji, my Bengal boy, less so. He is very suspicious of medications, and leaving him at the cardiologist is a nightmare for the poor little guy. He is unbelievably stressed when I go to pick him up; he will howl in terror and is inconsolable. I just want to hug him and reassure him, but you don't really hug Bengals much, they prefer to come to you on their own terms. It breaks my heart.
 
Squallie, my diabetic, is a wonderful patient. Khoji, my Bengal boy, less so. He is very suspicious of medications, and leaving him at the cardiologist is a nightmare for the poor little guy. He is unbelievably stressed when I go to pick him up; he will howl in terror and is inconsolable. I just want to hug him and reassure him, but you don't really hug Bengals much, they prefer to come to you on their own terms. It breaks my heart.

Oh my goodness. That would break my heart. Poor little guy. :( Peau is the total opposite. She doesn't care. As long as you're not doing anything painful or giving her a bath - she'll just love on you. She was purring so loud they couldn't hear her heartbeat this morning.
 
Oh my goodness. That would break my heart. Poor little guy. :( Peau is the total opposite. She doesn't care. As long as you're not doing anything painful or giving her a bath - she'll just love on you. She was purring so loud they couldn't hear her heartbeat this morning.
That's wonderful, so much easier on both of you! Khoji doesn't have a purr at all. But when he's happy he makes funny little clicking noises in his throat, and he chirp, lol. He's a love, a big marshmallow, he just doesn't like being left in new, strange and scary places without his mamabean. A little bit of separation anxiety to add to his stress!

So Peau doesn't like baths? Don't you have to bathe Sphynxs fairly regularly? That must be fun! I have always loved Sphynxs, I love their look.
 
That's wonderful, so much easier on both of you! Khoji doesn't have a purr at all. But when he's happy he makes funny little clicking noises in his throat, and he chirp, lol. He's a love, a big marshmallow, he just doesn't like being left in new, strange and scary places without his mamabean. A little bit of separation anxiety to add to his stress!

So Peau doesn't like baths? Don't you have to bathe Sphynxs fairly regularly? That must be fun! I have always loved Sphynxs, I love their look.

Their skin secretes an oil that builds up and makes them dirty. Peau hates the tub. I give her a bath about once a month. Some Sphynx owner bathe more frequently. I don't want her skin to dry out too much and she fights me, so once a month is plenty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top