4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134 +6/102 pmps 199 +3/198

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40998&p=436705#p436705

famous last words, but i think i'm getting the hang of the ambush for a shot, finally. i know i said that before, but i think i've fine-tuned it for more success. knock on wood. i think the least reaction comes from him in the first 30 seconds of him vacuuming up the food - so i have the syringe in my mouth (i know!) when i set down the bowl. then WHAM. got him. :-D
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

Love it! that is what I do too. All is set, ready to go, then the fuds, and while he is playing Mr Hoover in goes the shot. He never knows what hit him. :lol: :lol:

Very nice amps for Punkin today. I hope a great AM cycle is to follow.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

Nice amps for Punkin, Julie. You guys are so lucky to be able shoot and run. Checks makes a big deal out of making me chase him down, while he's laughing at me.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

Good morning, Julie & Punkin.. looking great!! :thumbup
Sounds like you completely have the hang of shot time :-D I have tried to shoot Baby while she eats & she just stops eating.. so I can't do that, ahhhh the kitties!!
I hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

sometimes he stops eating and starts to back away - i try to be all cool like i don't really have a needle stuck in him. :lol: so i stop injecting any and try to keep the needle in place while he's moving around. if i'm lucky he'll believe that i've stopped whatever i'm doing, and he'll go back to eating. sometimes i'm so incredibly cool :lol: that the syringe comes out of my hand and is hanging in him while he's moving. yeah, the fun just keeps on going. :lol:

he was rolling on the nanners this morning and then attacked by Anya. she's like a little kamikaze warrior - from out of the blue she jumps on him. i figure it keeps him young! :-D
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

So how lucky am I? I'm not even exaggerating...Champ just sits there, lies there, whatever, and lets me shoot him. He doesn't flinch, he doesn't look to see what I'm doing, nothing. Only once I saw his skin vibrate a little, like he felt something, but was too lazy to do anything about it. Sometimes it pays to have a cat who works very hard at doing nothing!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

You mentioned in Champ's condo that since Punkin gets kind of a large dose that it stings a little. Are you allowed to inject some of the insulin in one area and then restick in another area and give him the rest? Or are you allowed to do that, but you're lucky to stick him once, much less stick him a second time in the same sitting? :lol:
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

Rusty likes to put on a show during shots. I have to part his long hair, pull it up, etc. to find skin. While I'm doing this he makes the most amazing meowing/complaining/almost growling noises (all the time eating his food, of course). Even when the syringe is nowhere near him, he meows loudly. By the time I get the shot in, he has forgotten about it! (Now you all know why I am so accomplished at giving fur shots!)

Julie, your routine sounds harrowing for the bean!! But I'm glad it works for you.

Ella
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180

Julie, I have to ask...what was Punkin's BG at the vet's when he was diagnosed? The vet actually started him at 7.5U? My vet started Champ at 3U and everyone on the board said it was a high dose to start with. I can't even imagine what they said to you!! I did the absolute wrong thing, of course, and abruptly lowered Champ's to 1U. But I am curious to know what Punkin's starting BG was to make the vet start him so high.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134

the vet didn't start him so high - he started him at 1u .

punkin was diagnosed Dec 4 and started on ProZinc insulin - i think at 1u also, maybe 2u, i don't remember now. His BG was around 400. He was really responsive to it, well it seemed that way. I was taking him in weekly for testing. on Jan 4ish his BG was about 140 and the vet took him off insulin entirely. I was giving him canned purina DM during that month.

It seemed very believable that he could've responded that quickly because we'd had a major home remodeling that started Thankgiving week. It was incredibly loud here and punkin is a scaredy cat - hid out downstairs under the furniture. the vet said it's been well-documented that stress can shut down a cat's pancreas and that with treatment and removal of the stress they can recover. so i believed that he was "over"it.

Not knowing anything, at the same time we ran out of the canned DM and i started giving him dry DM. I waited 2 weeks and took him back in, his BG was back up around 435, i think. He'd ended on 2u ProZinc and the vet started him then on on lantus 1u. a week later he increased him to 2u. i think 1 week later it went to 3u. i could be not exactly right about the details, but you get the gist of it.

I got connected here on Feb 20, then the smart people here figured out in a conversation about syringes that i was using the right syringes for a U-40 insulin (ProZinc) but not the right syringes for a U-100 insulin (Lantus). Meaning that 1 unit in a u-40 needle of Lantus was the equivalent of about 2.5 u of insulin in reality. :shock: So instead of punkin getting the 3u that we thought, he was actually getting more than 8u. At that time Libby, Sienne & Laurie and i don't know who else talked about his situation and gave me some options.

I called the vet in the morning and he was horrified at the mistake - owned it, apologized profusely, etc. he's a good vet - it was a mistake. they aren't perfect and other than this we've loved him. anyway, because punkin's numbers have been pretty good we opted to leave the dose alone and try to travel down the scale. Another option would've been starting over and moving up to a good dose. there was another case of another Pumpkin who had a similar situation and we looked at his SS. So, long story short, he's got decent numbers, we've been able to reduce his dose a few times although not all of them have held. we just move forward and see what happens.

His situation for this dose is obviously unusual and probably he'd never have ended up at this dose if we'd started here at FDMB with the right syringes. i'm still not positive we shouldn't start over, or drop way back in dose, it was just that he was so miserable before with high BG and seems so good now.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134

wow. that's all i can say. wow. you would think that much insulin would have immediately made him hypoglycemic. punkin is one strong little kitty, isn't he? and i'm glad to hear you say that you still respect your vet. i really like mine too. unfortunately, most vets don't specialize in diabetes so we really can't expect them to be pro's at dosing and feeding when it concerns a diabetic cat. i'm so glad i found this board. i know, without a doubt, that i would be huddled under my blankets, crying all day, a complete basketcase, if i hadn't found this board and the people on it. i consider myself blessed. i'm glad people who have gone through all this themselves and have gained so much knowledge about feline diabetes are willing to take the time to babysit me through all this. completely awesome.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134

he is a good vet - and in their 3 vet practice they only have one other diabetic cat. i think most people just euthanize their cats when they get the diagnosis. i also think lantus is different acting than insulins vets usually use so they don't get the whole importance of the nadir thing. they're good vets - a lot of my friends also go there and we all agree we think he's the best in town. maybe he's not the FD expert, but he is respected.

he did take the protocol info from me and he went to a workshop on FD in March - so he's interested in learning.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134

That's really awesome he did that. Good for him in recognizing this is important. I'm hoping my vet will support me in the decisions I've already made and the decisions I'll make in the future. We shall see. I'm going to give her a call next week, after I've probably upped Champ's dose to 1.5U and gotten some numbers from that dose. She wanted me to do a "curve" (her version was check his BG at AMPS, +4 and +9) and call her with the numbers. I'll probably do another "correct" curve and have those numbers available for her.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134

:lol: :lol: Binks didn't even notice his shots...too busy either hoovering, or telling me what he thought of my food selections! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134 +6/102 pmps 199

i'm kinda encouraged! i think he's settling in to this new dose. this is the 7th dose after we reduced. yesterday we had mostly yellows, today all blues and almost into the greens. maybe tomorrow he'll dip down in greens again. he seems to be taking a long time to step down and i wonder if i need to be more patient before going back up to the last good dose.
 
Re: 4/12 punkin amps 180 +3/134 +6/102 pmps 199

Great numbers today!!! Lucky Punkin dancing_cat (that's Champ doin a dance)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top