? 4/12 Pudge AMPS 118 +2 99 +3 86 +4 77 +5 89 AMPS 140 (NS) +2 156 +4 175 how to maybe go frm here..

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...2-5-48-5-25-49-5-5-54-5-75-58-6-25-67.299996/

:(:blackeye: I understand 911 is for emergency but sometimes we get overlooked and it is a bit of like an emergency because you need to be eating on this medicine..

he's not eating well now.. he had a bit of loose stool earlier this week but seemed to resolve then had some loose stool again last night/early morning and a bit of a hairball/vomiting.. I gave some time and tried giving him a few bites and he'd take them throughout the night; his appetite was then okay although last night it wasn't great; did my best to get him to eat. He ate a bit again for me and I was glad w that. this morning he ate really well, which is why I have him his medicine, but now I really don't know what to do and am scared because he got his shot.. I reduced a little and am glad I did for last night so I could think because of numbers yesterday and because of his potty decided to continue this morning just to see and give a little break while his stomach rights but the cycle's active.. and he won't eat his +2 snack for me. he won't even eat treats. this is why I usually skip w gastric symptoms... now I am not sure. im also very tight rn and am not sure how to get him to a vet atm.. I don't know what to do.

any good thoughts appreciated. :(
 
Please remove the 911 - this is not a medical emergency. In cases like this you can add a few words to the subject line to get attention.

You said he ate really well this morning. Maybe he's full now? If you think he needs more calories, this post might help:
he's always eats very well when I offer it to him.. him not wanting to eat is strange. he gets a good sized breakfast/dinner and snacks in between, I front load as well so he gets +1 and +2.. he ate his one well but doesn't want his +2 or any treats...

he did eat well this morning.. but won't eat now. I understand w green its important to give small snacks.. and he's greening already at +2.. im afraid for the next few hours if he won't eat. :(
 
Maybe he'll get hungry if his numbers get lower. Many cats do.
ok.. ill try food every so often then I guess. we haven't skipped a +2 in a while.. but I am hoping so. I know you've told me in the past not to skip shots even tho not eating well/or vomiting/fasting etc.. so this time I really tried not to. I admit i feel a bit nervous now. :(
 
ok.. ill try food every so often then I guess. we haven't skipped a +2 in a while.. but I am hoping so. I know you've told me in the past not to skip shots even tho not eating well/or vomiting/fasting etc.. so this time I really tried not to. I admit i feel a bit nervous now. :(

We are sending hungry vibes your way, hoping Pudge's appetite returns. :cat::cat::cat:
 
i dont got a clue wut it is.. maybe picked up something.. or food no linger agrees.. idk. giving him a healthy dose of probiotic for moment.. :bookworm::blackeye::coffee:
 
Do you happen to have any Mirataz? If not, is it possible that your vet might be willing to prescribe you some over the phone without a full visit?

I'm so sorry you're dealing with this! It's so stressful. :( I just went through it in the past couple of weeks, so I absolutely get it.
thank u so so much.. i really dont know what to do. trying to give him his pre dinner snack and he wont eat.. thought id give his tummy a little break… did an errand.. been about 4 hrs or so.. maybe was a mistake.. i dont think he feels good and idk how to help.

theyre gonna want to see him.. and idk if hes gone off his food or what (around 5 yrs ago he had to go single protein..) idk wut it is..

if he wont eat tonite idk wut….
 
They may want to see him eventually, but maybe if you tell them how long it's been and that you at least want something to try in the meantime? If he seems nauseated it might be worth asking for ondansetron too.

You're in a tough spot, I'm sorry. :(
 
The Walmart near me has feeding syringes in stock. I know members on this site have done assisted feeding.
upload_2025-4-12_18-16-44.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-12_18-16-44.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-12_18-16-44.jpeg
    26.7 KB · Views: 203
I didn't know about syringes when Kobe wasn't eating, so I mixed a little water in his pate and smeared it on his paw a little at a time. I felt like a real jerk, but he ate it. He has forgiven me. It wasn't fast. I would get a syringe and try that and the paw thing.
 
hes kept it down but wont eat much at all since.. been about 20-30 min.. tried some food again but he wouldnt idk wut to do. his vet wouldnt see him and i dont have funds for emergency .. told family about it maybe can get some help there. but idk. this is terrible.. im at a loss. tried the paw thing.. he just sat there.
 
Last edited:
Do you have any food that might be more enticing, like a gravy variety that you have on hand for hypos? Obviously that wouldn't be low carb but it might be something he'd eat and get some calories from. I also took the advice of someone here like a week ago to try plain baby food (the Beechnut Chicken + Chicken Broth, or Turkey + Turkey Broth with literally no other ingredients). He didn't eat a ton of it, but he was willing to eat it when he wouldn't eat anything else at all. That'd probably also be easier to syringe feed than something like pate, even watered down.
 
Do you have any food that might be more enticing, like a gravy variety that you have on hand for hypos? Obviously that wouldn't be low carb but it might be something he'd eat and get some calories from. I also took the advice of someone here like a week ago to try plain baby food (the Beechnut Chicken + Chicken Broth, or Turkey + Turkey Broth with literally no other ingredients). He didn't eat a ton of it, but he was willing to eat it when he wouldn't eat anything else at all. That'd probably also be easier to syringe feed than something like pate, even watered down.
Oh boy.. hes got food sensitivities and im stuck w one thing.. maybe will carb food up at home.. :(:blackeye::coffee:

Maybe will try the baby food tho!! They got one only turkey and broth???
 
His blood pressure is high.. omg is it cause he hasnt eaten??? Is the sugar high rn?… im frightened.
 
His blood pressure is high.. omg is it cause he hasnt eaten??? Is the sugar high rn?… im frightened.

BP in people can absolutely be high during stress, so my limited knowledge guess would be that he's probably just stressed from the vet visit and knowing that you're also stressed.
 
BP in people can absolutely be high during stress, so my limited knowledge guess would be that he's probably just stressed from the vet visit and knowing that you're also stressed.
i figured.. and the vet was stressing me out talking stroke…… make sure hes checked.. like….
 
so exhausting.. and hes just wonderful.. hes doing better and eating since meds.. ive been trying to get food to him by the hour rn to make up for lost calories, etc.. had to skip the shot cuz at vet.. but what do i do rn as we’re trying to figure out whats going on?.. able to take him later/going to try getting blood done.. but how do i maybe go about his insulin in meantime (if can eat)?.. :( :( appreciate suggestions..

@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @tiffmaxee @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
Back
Top