4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +4.5 39 + 5.25 86 +8.5 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
At 2 am which would be +7 after PMPS, he was 62. Still 62 at AMPS, checking every hour....am pleased so far. FF for breakfast. Gave 1 unit this am but will monitor closely. Dropped to 48 so gave FF gravy. If drops lower...will go to Karo. Hope this won't mean a huge bounce tonight or tomorrow. Also, started new bottle of insulin this am. Gave more gravy at 44 and Karo at 39.
Nonnie is getting very tired of this...this last time he went under the bed and I finally coaxed him out. And it was harder than normal to get the Karo in him. May have to wait longer than 15 minutes to retest...give him time to settle down and stop running from me....poor thing :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87

Nonnie sounds like he's doing the same thing as Blackie is... A food spike at +1. I hope that he gives you a very easy surf today. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87

Good morning Phyllis,
Noonie sure is working that juice. He is bcatrun_gif down that dosing scale, huh? Hoping he has a nice safe surf today with no need for HC or karo. Come on Noonie. Nice and safe, ok?
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61

Down a little at +61. A little apprehensive about next one. I'm wondering...what do you call a 'cycle' ?
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61

Hi Phyllis,

The cycle is the time from one shot to the next. So, right now you're in the AM cycle. Once you give the PM shot tonight, you'll be in the PM cycle.

It looks like Nonnie is on a mission again today. When Jersey was on a mission like that, I would sometimes try to slow her drop down by feeding her a little low-carb food. Sometimes that helped. Sometimes she went ahead and dropped like a rock. If you do decide to feed right now, try to feed just a little bit so Nonnie won't get too full.

You're doing a great job!
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +3 48 +4 44 +4.5 39

Phyllis,

Are you updating your initial post with the latest updates? If so, please don't do that. You should post a reply to your condo. It can get very confusing to see other's comments but your responses/updates are not near theirs. The only edits you want to make to your original post is to the Subject line so that others scaning the board can quickly see what's going on.

You can post a reply to your post to get it to bump to the top of the board. You'll want to do this if you need help or want a quick response.

Make sense?

You need to get Nonnie back up above 50. Can you use a toy to entice him close to you? Does he have a fool-proof treat that you can use? You can always rub a little karo on his gums if he's not wanting to take it with food.

Is there a room, with no furniture that makes it difficult for you to grab him, that you can place him in to make it easier for testing?
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +3 48 +4 44 +4.5 39

I gave him a few temptation treats....I know they are a no no and high carbs but he never refuses them...
And yes, I do understand about the posting. I do update the condo that shows on top, but I guess I should comment elsewhere. I also comment on SS.
Thanks!
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +4 44 +4.5 39 + 5.25 86

He's above 50 so I know he can go back down but that;s not the norm for him. Will do another test then I have to run out for more lancets. Am also starting to wonder if I should drop to .75 tonight? He's been in the green all day...or is that too quick?
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +4 44 +4.5 39 + 5.25 86

A number in the 30s is an automatic 0.25 reduction. I don't believe that the fact that the depot from the previous higher dose may have come into play should matter. I would say a reduction is due but I'm no dosing expert. I would add this question to your subject line before tonight's shot to see what is the consensus.
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +4 44 +4.5 39 + 5.25 86

i would consider the effects of the previous dose on today's numbers. He's only just now 5 cycles after the 1.75u dose, and only one cycle after the reduction from 1.25 to 1.0.

i would hold the 1.0 as his "regular" dose, but if you're fighting to keep him up today, and it sounds like you are, you could do a one-time reduction tonight and shoot a token dose, something like 0.5u to let the depot drain, then return to 1.0u in the morning. That is probably what I would do.

Nonnie's got some great momentum going, and we don't want to lose that. at the same time, he is likely still being influenced from the previous larger doses, and you don't want to fight low numbers every single cycle. it's hard on both of you. Marje's post on Reductions explains a little more about how the depot works in this situation.

so that is one option. let's see what others suggest as well.
 
Re: 4/12 Nonnie AMPS 62 +1 87 +2 61 +4 44 +4.5 39 + 5.25 86

I would agree with Julie. A higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles and so we need to be cautious about taking a back-to-back reduction. Having said that, we don't want you fighting numbers all day and tonight, too. Julie's idea is a good one on waiting to see how the rest of this cycle plays out and if he stays up. If he comes back down, I'd try to drain the depot a bit and then go back up to the 1u.

Good job, Phyllis! BTW....a former member here only used Temptations to bring her kitty up from low numbers. One or two would do the trick and Moonie would be surfing. So if that is what works for Nonnie, go for it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top