4/12 Mr Kitty AMPS 134

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by FrostD, Apr 12, 2021.

  1. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Last post

    Come on down a little more please...

    The insulin seems to be stinging a bit, it did a little at the 6.5U but he was NOT happy with me this morning and the 7U. I know Levemir is also an option, but of course I just bought new Lantus yesterday.

    Is it possible to inject in two different sites in the scruff to reduce stinging? As in say half the dose in one spot, half in another nearby. Or does that mess everything up and act more like a reduced dose?
     
  2. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I have seen other CGs give doses split in two shots. I believe it was Suzanne and LT, who had been on a two drop dose. It was easier for Suzanne to measure one drop per syringe so she gave him two shots each time.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s a really good question. I can’t see how it would act like a reduced dose if you gave the two shots right after each other. @Wendy&Neko
     
  4. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Poor Mr. Kitty. Figures it would start to sting as soon as you buy a new insulin vial:banghead:.
    Best of luck with the new dose!
     
    FrostD likes this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Anyone with a cat on more than 30 units gives their dose in two shots. So you can split the dose, you just have to be really careful on the amounts in each syringe. On larger doses, a small total difference is not as noticeable. I have heard of some caregivers saying that splitting the larger dose makes a difference in absorption, but not a consistent comment. Also not sure if splitting the dose makes a difference in now much it stings, but worth a try. Are you warming the insulin by holding tip of the syringe with your fingers for a bit before injecting?

    Have you considered having Mr. Kitty tested for acromegaly and insulin auto antibodies (IAA)? It's what we suggest people do when their cat gets to 6 units of insulin. Usually there is some other condition at play when a cat gets to that dose, though we've seen cats on less insulin with both those conditions.
     
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh, I'm sorry that Mr. Kitty is reacting to the Lantus. Poor boy. It's Murphy's Law that this would happen since you just bought new Lantus. Darcy is right now at 33 units, so he has to have two syringes of Levemir and he also gets a syring of Novolin R as a booster on many days.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I'm glad that you are seeing blue numbers now! It's been a long haul for you to get to this point. Are you still needing to give Mirataz? Or is that just when Mr. Kitty is having a pancreatitis flare up?
     
  8. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Thanks! I've not tried warming it, will try that tonight. Am considering the testing...I was hopeful we might start to go down the ladder once we broke into these numbers but it's not happening. Vet appointment scheduled for mid May, so I'll make the decision a little closer to then.
     
  9. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    I'm glad too, he (obviously) feels much better at these numbers!

    Thankfully I've only had to give the Mirataz during a flare up, he loves his food, I usually have to fight him off to even get it in the feeder
     
    Suzanne & Darcy and tiffmaxee like this.

Share This Page