4/12 Kushi PMPS +5~61 +11.5~90 DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/12 Kushi AMPS~72

Try to keep an eye on Kushi's numbers today. Sometimes, it takes a cycle for the shed to drop to the level of the new dose. In other words, it may be a little over filled this cycle which could make numbers drop.
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi AMPS~72

Sienne and Gabby said:
Try to keep an eye on Kushi's numbers today. Sometimes, it takes a cycle for the shed to drop to the level of the new dose. In other words, it may be a little over filled this cycle which could make numbers drop.

Will do.....I was expecting a drop at +1 (why I don't know), but instead got a slight rise. I suppose it will drop when dose kicks in? Geez, hopefully before I learn all this stuff , Kushi will be OTJ! :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi AMPS~72(new dose) +1~85 +2~70

O.K. we look safe here....I'm gonna give Kushi's ears a reprieve and test again at +5 or 6. Agree?
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi AMPS~72(new dose) +1~85 +2~70

i see it's been a couple of hours - actually i would've tested kushi again. the general rule of thumb is 2 rising numbers and past the nadir before you stop if you have reason to think they might dip low or are already low. i'm certainly not an expert though - only been doing this since february, so i could be completely wrong. if i were you, though, and you see this, i think i'd test again.
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi AMPS~72(new dose) +1~85 +2~70 +5 86 +7.5~67

hmmm, i've heard people refer to that but don't know anything about it. there's the 20% variability on the meters, too . . . Kushi is sure in great numbers today!
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93

A double dip is at the end of the cycle. You just had numbers that were wobbling around, and very good numbers at that. Beautiful cycle this morning!
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93

Kushi is happily eating and very pleased....me too!

So now some of you, who are the experts here, need to 'splain to me what all these green numbers mean ( I know they're good) but what are they indicating from an analytical perspective. :smile:
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 QUESTION

with the drop to 50, I will test again in 30 mins. If it drops again (below 50) give a little HC??
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 QUESTION

the green numbers are what a non-diabetic cat would be - so good.

i would give some food - and you're only at +2 so you need to keep an eye on Kushi. Here's the protocol for low numbers:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122
TREATMENT

During treatment for hypoglycemia, try to test every 15 minutes until you see the bgs begin to rise. Then continue to test until you are satisfied that the cat is out of danger.

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup.

LOW NUMBERS – MILD SYMPTOMS
Try feeding first or give a little syrup or honey followed by food until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and the symptoms disappear. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If the cat will not eat, syringe feed. If your cat will eat dry, feed this first as the high carbs will help to increase his/her bgs quickly. You can then follow with his/her favorite canned food. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – MODERATE SYMPTOMS
Give a tablespoon of syrup, a teaspoon of liquid glucose, a tablespoon of honey or a tablespoon of sugar syrup followed by food and continue doing so until you see the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and all symptoms disappear. The syrup, honey, or glucose can be rubbed against the inside of the cat’s cheeks or on the gums for quick absorption. You can also mix the syrup with wet food or pour over dry if the cat will eat it. Continue to give syrup and food as needed and observe your cat for signs of recurring hypoglycemia. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – SEVERE SYMPTOMS
Rub syrup, honey, or glucose on the gums and cheeks if your cat will allow it. Another option for administering syrup, diluted liquid glucose, honey or sugar syrup to a cat who is seizuring is to fill a needleless syringe with the mixture and insert via the rectum.
NEVER TRY TO SQUIRT SYRUP, HONEY, OR GLUCOSE TO A CAT WHO IS SEIZURING AS THE CAT COULD CHOKE ON IT! RUSH TO EMERGENCY.

AGAIN! ANYTIME YOU CAT IS SEIZURING OR LIMP, RUB KARO, GLUCOSE OR HONEY ONLY ON GUMS OR ADMINISTER RECTALLY AND GET TO EMERGENCY OR YOUR NEAREST CLINIC IMMEDIATELY!!!

Remember that syrup or any other sugared syrup/preparation will spike the blood glucose ONLY for a short period of time, so food is really important with mild and moderate symptoms. Dry food (high carbohydrates) will keep the blood glucose numbers elevated longer, so it’s a better food to give during a hypoglycemic episode.

After a hypoglycemic episode cats may be more sensitive to insulin, so a reduction in dosage is generally required, especially considering too much insulin – whether due to dosage, inadequate food intake, or the cat’s changing insulin requirements – caused the hypoglycemic event in the first place. With moderate to severe episodes, your Vet may have you skip the next injection altogether.
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU DISCUSS YOUR CAT’S HYPOGLYCEMIC EVENT WITH YOUR VET, SO TOGETHER YOU CAN DECIDE UPON THE NEXT COURSE OF ACTION.

Always keep in mind that with low blood glucose and no symptoms, the BG you get is not as important as where it is headed. In other words, if you get a BG of 100 mg/dL or 5.6 mmol/L or less and there are still several hours or more before the insulin peaks, your need to watch your cat (and the numbers) carefully and take appropriate steps. With very low numbers and NO SYMPTOMS, a cat can be fine one moment and seizuring the next.

BE PREPARED! KNOW THE SYMPTOMS AND KNOW THE TREATMENT!


Copyright © 1998-2010
Melissa & Popcorn (GA) & Sushi (GA)
Joined the FDMB: February 25, 1998
Melissa&Popcorn(GA)

Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:37 am
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 +2.5 55 3.25~53

Kushi is hanging in the low 50's. At this point, if she does not drop below 50, and BG starts climbing, does this mean she has earned another decrease in dose?
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 +2.5 55 3.25~53+4~46

Kushi's BG is bouncing around....gave a tsp HC w/a drop of Karo. Test again in 15 mins.
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 +2.5 55 +3.25~53+4~46 +4.

Been keeping a watch on your postings. Hope everything is OK
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS 93 +1~64 +2~50 +2.5 55 +3.25~53+4~46 +4.

Hope things are ok. I'm a newbie too, with a bratty half-sisameaner that loves to do the "night fall".
Havent figgured out quite why she does this at night and not so much durring the day (that I know of).

This is not advice, too new for that, just my observation: the first hypo is scary, but they do get better.
I've been lucky, only her numbers go down, not her. So far she has not been symptomatic.

A drop of Karo works wonders.

Karisa
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS +2~50 +2.5 55 +3.25~53+4~46 +4.5~72 +5~

BG o.k. here I think, so I am headed to bed. Does Kushi get a dose reduction here?
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS +2~50 +2.5 55 +3.25~53+4~46 +4.5~72 +5~

joe, you want to edit your first post of the day and put in "dose advise before am shot" in it - or something like that. one of the dose advisors will come by and hopefully tell you before you give a shot in the morning. i think going down to 46 does mean a decrease of .25, but i'm not an expert and you want someone who is to advise you on dosing, not a newbie like me.
 
Re: 4/12 Kushi PMPS +2~50 +2.5 55 +3.25~53+4~46 +4.5~72 +5~

hi good morning,
Joe, if u can try to get a +11 or +11.50 to give a heads up to the morning crew.
not sure when your AMPS is....I think Kushi is on a mission!
 
Good morning. I have not posted in your condo before so welcome.
I am trying to catch up with your previous condo and spreadsheet....be back in a minute ( I am a fast reader. ;-) ).
 
It is hard to measure those in between doses but the best thing is consistency. It does not look like Kushi will be on this dose very long either.....she is on a mission. :-D

You can start a new thread with your AMBG.....please get a +1 and +2. So far you are doing great/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top