? 4/12 Jack AMPS 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:

Jack is doing great with his numbers. I think he has earned a reduction again with these great numbers. I will leave that to my mentors on here to guide me please. :)

For those of you who have a sweet baby that has gone ahead you will understand this I am sure. Last night I put Scooter things away and his medicines flushed or saved for other kitties. This was heart breaking. Seems I cry more than I used to. I truly feel heart broken. Time will help heal. Dusty has taken over his bed and when she is not in it our youngest Bear is in it. That makes me smile.:)

Linda
 
Hi Linda,

Unless you are following SLGS I think he has to go under 50 to earn a reduction.

It makes me wonder if one of the reasons Jack has had to return to insulin is because he had stress over Scooter's health. I truly think that was one of the reasons that brought Sammy out of remission.
 
I'm glad Jack is having such great numbers. You can earn a reduction with a week of normal numbers. I'll let the experts give you advice, but Jack looks close to me.

I always find the hardest times after losing a furbaby is feeding time or medicine time. It is so hard. Time is the only thing that will make things easier. You'll get to a time when there are more smiles than tears when you think of Scooter. I'm glad the other kitties are using his bed. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Linda,
Jack is looking really good, but as a returning-to-insulin diabetic I think he has to have 3 numbers under 50 at the present dose (or 1 number under 40) to earn the reduction. Are you following TR?

How is Jack doing? He needs his time to grieve, too.
I still think about Stu, but always with a smile. And always with a tinge of regret that we didn't know anything and messed him up with his diabetes treatment for 4 years before finding this board. I walk by the piano, where Stu's and Alice's ashes are, and always say hi to them and give their tins a pat.

Have you looked at the list of CRF foods that @Ann & Tess has put together in a tab on Tess's spreadsheet? You may find something there that Jack will be able to eat.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
He only gets the turkey and giblets since his CKD diagnosis this month. Evo also makes one he can have as well. I have been to busy to order it but I might do that later today.
Having FD and CKD makes his foods limiting now.

Yes! Sammy has an even bigger problem because he also seems to be allergic, or has an adverse reaction, to some types of protein. There are several foods that have a Phosphorus under or around 200 mg and are low in carbs and reasonable protein. Right now Sammy is only eating the Turkey and Giblet Special Diet as well as Wellness Turkey. I am hoping that I can incorporate the EVO at some point, but it seems that any time Sammy has a protein other than Turkey is sugar goes up. But I don't know if it is because I am just giving him too much without transitioning slowly.
 
It's been nearly 2 years since Punkin passed away, which i find unbelievable, and i still tear up over missing him. Some kitties are extraordinary and the bond with one of these diabetic kitties is unbelievably strong. You get so in tune with their every nuance and you know them so well. It's hard.

For Jack, I'm guessing you're thinking of the sentence that says after 7 days at a dose in all normal numbers you can try to reduce the dose. Everything over 120 is out of the normal range. I'd hold the 1.5u longer, until he dips below 50 at least once - I'm not sure about 3 times, you'll have to see how he does. You don't want to rush this since he's back from remission.
 
Hi Linda,
Jack is looking really good, but as a returning-to-insulin diabetic I think he has to have 3 numbers under 50 at the present dose (or 1 number under 40) to earn the reduction. Are you following TR?

How is Jack doing? He needs his time to grieve, too.
I still think about Stu, but always with a smile. And always with a tinge of regret that we didn't know anything and messed him up with his diabetes treatment for 4 years before finding this board. I walk by the piano, where Stu's and Alice's ashes are, and always say hi to them and give their tins a pat.

Have you looked at the list of CRF foods that @Ann & Tess has put together in a tab on Tess's spreadsheet? You may find something there that Jack will be able to eat.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Hi Ella!
Yes we are on the TR. I will wait to see about a reduction then. I am just happy Jack is not a problem right now.
Jack has been laying around in Scooters bed since he died. I actually took Scooter to the Vet in his bed on my lap. He died in the bed so Jack and Dusty are both sharing the bed along with Bear when he can get in it. Jack is grieving outwardly,

I love that picture of your kitties ashes on the piano. Scooter will join Domenic on the credenza in their maple boxes with their names engraved on them. They are quite nice. I am thinking of starting a rose garden this year and put their ashes in their under a rose bush for each. Scooters would be red for sure.

I did look at the list but I was so busy with Scooter I might look again.

Thanks for your love. :bighug:
 
It's been nearly 2 years since Punkin passed away, which i find unbelievable, and i still tear up over missing him. Some kitties are extraordinary and the bond with one of these diabetic kitties is unbelievably strong. You get so in tune with their every nuance and you know them so well. It's hard.

For Jack, I'm guessing you're thinking of the sentence that says after 7 days at a dose in all normal numbers you can try to reduce the dose. Everything over 120 is out of the normal range. I'd hold the 1.5u longer, until he dips below 50 at least once - I'm not sure about 3 times, you'll have to see how he does. You don't want to rush this since he's back from remission.

Oh Julie I so understand the tears. Gosh just getting Jacks insulin and I am crying. Scooters bond was so different as you mentioned.

I was thinking the 7 day thing. I am in no rush to reduce or change anything today. I will wait till below 50 and talk to you all again. In the meantime his numbers are terrific!
 
He does look great! That's the only reason why I'm uncertain if he will need to go below 50 three times to earn a reduction. You must've caught his rising blood sugar as soon as it started because it wasn't long enough for his body to "forget" what normal numbers are and to begin bouncing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top