4/12 Fur Ball-Home:BG 185 Lumpectomy & Dental

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous condo

Hi all-
Hope everyone is doing well. Very excited about OTJ parties that are happening--congrats to sugarbabies and beans.

Fur Ball had his dental and surgery today. Definitely no fun for him I'm sure. DH just got a call from the vet. He only had 4 viable teeth so he got a full mouth extraction. Oooo he's gonna be sore for awhile. She thinks she got all of the tumor and it will be sent off for testing but we won't get results for 7-10 business days. If its stage 1 cancer, she is pretty certain she got it all and he should be good to go. If its stage 2 then we will have to decide if we want to put him through another surgery. Stage 3 we just won't think about.

He won't be ready for pick up until after 4:00pm tonight. But she said he was a trooper with the anesthesia. He's gonna have a shaved leg and chest and no teeth. Poor guy will be in the cone of shame for awhile and then we have to go back in in 2 weeks to have his chest stitches removed.

I'm ready to see him and hope he recovers quickly. Gotta get back to work but wanted to post real quick.

Karen
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

Hi Karen, glad the dental is over and sending tons of healing vines for a good recovery for Fur Ball. I'm so sorry about the tumor. Paws and fingers crossed and prayers that she got it all and that's the end. I bet you can't wait to get Fur Ball home. Will check on you later.
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

Glad to hear Fur Ball came through the surgery ok.
Hoping that's the end of it and everything goes well for him
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

(((Karen))) and (((Furball)))

SOOOO happy to hear that everything went well. Poor Fur Ball to lose so many teeth. My Josie lost all but 3 and it didn't stop her from hard or soft food! Leo sends his sympathies on the cone of shame. He was in it 3 weeks after his tail stitches from the cat fight. Hopefully Fur Ball is mellow with it. Fingers and paws are soooo crossed that the tumor is nothing at all, and not even think about it being a further stage. It will be a hard week waiting for the results, but you are over one big milestone - getting through the surgeries and Fur Ball was a trooper.

Thank you for jumping over here to give us the news, and enjoy spoiling him with love and tell him what a good boy he is when you get home.

Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

Karen --

You may want to pick up some baby food. Either Gerber or Beechnut (Stage 2 for both) have protein (chicken, turkey, ham) and broth that are low carb and have no onions or other veggies so they're perfect for kitties. The baby food is smooth and easy for a post-extraction kitty to eat.

Please get a test when you get FurBall home. you want to make sure his numbers aren't dropping due to the anesthesia. Don't think twice about giving a reduced dose or skipping if FB doesn't want to eat.

And please make sure the vet gives you pain meds (and not Metacam for pain). Buprenorphine can be given as an injection (subcutaneously, just like insulin). Given the number of extractions, if FB were my kitty, that would be my preference.
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

Glad FB made it through ok - ouch! Poor lil toofs! Sending recovery vines your way. Hope Furball doesn't mind the cone of shame too much :shock:
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

I'm so glad it's over and he should even be home now as I post since you and I are in same time zone.
Poor baby has to do the cone while he adjusts to his mouth. The biggest adjustment seems to be losing the fangs in my experience with previous kitties. Hope he has a good night and feels like eating a little.
Prayers that they removed all the tumor and he gets a clean bill of health.
If you have a kitty heating pad, he might really appreciate it tonite ...with the anesthesia still in his system.
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

I'm glad the surgery and dental went well. Sending prayers for a quick healing and good test results.
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

(((Karen))) I have been thinking of you and FB all day! I hope he is back home resting comfortably and that he has a smooth and quick recovery period. Keeping paws crossed for good results on the tumor. Poor little guy losing all his toothies! I hope that he isn't in too much pain and that eating and appy remain good.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please get a test when you get FurBall home. you want to make sure his numbers aren't dropping due to the anesthesia. Don't think twice about giving a reduced dose or skipping if FB doesn't want to eat.

FB is one of the lucky ones at the falls! They just celebrated their 6 month OTJversary. :mgreen:
 
Re: 4/12 Fur Ball - Lumpectomy and Dental

Thanks for the well-wishes and healing vines everyone.

I feel like a bad mamabean. He is sooooo stressed out. Running into EVERYTHING and such a pitiful cry. Tested his BG and its 185. We will probably just wait and see how he responds by tomorrow. We have been home for about 1.5 hrs. I have finally just made him a bed in the bathroom and closed the door. Called the vet again to get better clarification on the bupe. They sent us home w/ syringes but when we went to inject him there was no needle. Poor guy, we have to give it to him by mouth. He is now sedated and hopefully will sleep for a bit.

Thanks everyone. This has just been really hard. I don't like seeing him in pain. Even though I know it was for the best. Just don't like it.

Karen
 
Oh, poor sweety, Fur Ball :sad: I hope you are feeling better real soon.
That must be hard to give him the bupe by mouth. Did the vet get back to you about giving it by injection?
If the syringes are marked, I would think you could pull up a specific dose with an insulin syringe, but I don't know that for sure as I've always given it orally.

Sending feel better vines and Healing Vines to Fur Ball.
 
By any chance, is the bupe meant to be administered orally? My vetty always gives us pre-loaded oral syringes. I'm sure once you get that bupe into FB, he'll calm down. Our Petey had a dental earlier this year - only two extractions so nothing near what you guys are experiencing - yet he was still pretty frantic until that bupe kicked in.

Sending many, many prayers your way....

ETA...I see you were given oral bupe. I'm sure once you get past the first dose, all will be fine!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top