4/12 FRED AM=242(.8)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Hi ! Sorry I haven't been around lately - going through end-of-life crisis for a sweet Bishon with a dear friend.

Fred & I are slowly getting back to where we were before "the event". He's eating, pooping and moving normally for his age. Can jump up on favorite chair and pester me for breakfast, as before. Most bizarre thing!

Anyway, I would like for someone to look at the last week of numbers and let me know how I can create a "sliding scale" for Fred. I still have hopes of OTJ. :smile:
 
I was wondering about you two! So glad Fred is back to his old self. What a scary time for you, but what a nice outcome.

Could you get a little bit of a curve this weekend? If you could get a +3, 5, 7 and 9 or aomething similar, we could see exactly how the dose is working. i know you have gotten some midcycles but I am wondering if there is a lower nadir somewhere in there. If not, it looks like you do have room to raise the dose a smidge.
 
Hi Kathleen -

Looks like quite a scare you had - glad Fred is doing better.

I never used a sliding scale but in looking over your recent numbers, I had some questions for you... or some things you may want to think about.

You've had some good numbers during most of the past week; safe greens and even blue preshots. Very good! I was shooting very conservatively when G was on ProZinc... my "do not shoot number" was 250; unfortunately we didn't see it very often. And after studying others' SSs and years of data on Grayson, I consider myself considerably more aggressive. Given the numbers you're getting, I think you're being very safe.

Sometimes you've shot different doses into roughly the same number. Like the skip at 128 and the .4 at 131. Or the .4 at 198 and the .8 at 199. Since I don't know your history, I just wondered if there was a reason for the differentiation?

With G, I've found I can delay or reduce, but I pretty much do not skip a shot any more, except under unique circumstances (bowel blockage/not eating/in at vet for enema). In the preshots around 130, you already had seen a good cycle when you shot. As my vet told me, there were numbers I didn't shoot that she would have encouraged me to (but she wasn't available). If you've got additional data from Fred's response to such shots, and he did okay, I would be inclined to hold the dose and not reduce or skip. Of course, this is assuming you are available to check on him. I'm fortunate G has woken me up if he gets low.

Life would be so much easier if they came with a handbook. ;-) Until they do, we try our best to make sense of their numbers and treat them accordingly. Keep up the good work!

Lu-Ann
 
Quite honestly, I really don't have a method for these shots. I used to shoot the same amount because my vet felt that Fred would response to s regular dose of the same amount. I think she was wrong. I didn't shoot at 128 because. I was. to going to be home to test all day and I didn't want to risk it. As for the other shoots, it's just a gut thing.

That's why I've asked the community to check back with me on Monday after I've posted all his weekend numbers to see if we can come up with a sliding scale. I honestly think this makes th most sense. My human friends with diabetes do this with good results. Also, I'm beginning to see the good effects of regular snacks on Fred. His numbers are definitely affected by giving or. It giving snacks throughout the day and nite. That's a lot of Popsicle treats when I'm not here!!

Thanks for your observations and suggestions! ;-)
 
Okay - good. I always hate to jump in and raise questions/offer advice when people don't really know who I am, why I'm here, or where I came from!

I go with my gut too, so not challenging - or judging - just seeking info.

Robin was always the queen of the sliding scale. I hesitate to suggest one, since I always shot pretty consistently, but I get the concept - I tried using a sliding scale with R insulin, but G's resistance was powerful and he didn't move for a normal dose of it. I had PZI friends here who shot 10/14 instead of 12/12 (due to work schedules), some that shot 12/12 with higher/lower doses for the am/pm, and then those that used the sliding scale. Guess I was the boring one! ;-)

My only concern with a sliding scale is if you're shooting a bounce. G barely moved, so I didn't see many bounces (we called it "hanging out at IHOP" as he was usually flat as a pancake!). The rule of thumb is to NOT shoot bounces, so I don't know how you tell the difference between a bounce and a normal high. That's why my feeling is for the consistent dosing. But you've got to use what works for you, especially schedule-wise. I went from shooting at 6:30 am/pm to 10:00 am/pm so I could be home/awake when he nadired.

Snacks can be your friend, as well as (like human diabetics) multiple mini-meals. I bought Grayson a PetSafe 5 auto feeder ($49 Petco on line - price matched at our local Petsmart - saved $15). Now I wouldn't be without it! I program the feeder, and have it set to rotate at both AM and PM +2, +4, +6 and +8. He gets 1/4 can FF at each of these times. This has eliminated the food spikes I was seeing - as much as 50 points/can at a time when G was eating 2 FF cans at shot time (Acromegaly made him ravenous!)

I'll look forward to seeing your numbers when you post. My only wisdom is to check your previous numbers and see how he responded when you are deciding what to shoot.

Hope he gives you some nice numbers! Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top